Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Modem/Router Suggestions
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Getting Broadband
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21
fillet
Recently there are many newly created topics seeking for suggestions and recommendations on either modem or router. This topic will serve as a place for the suggestions and recommendations purposes. Any newly created topic which seeks suggestions and recommendations on either modem or router will be merged here - yongkailoon

---
Chartry
Maybe Hyundai manage to transfer their expertise in Heavy Industries to Networking hardware? laugh.gif
mengsuan
You changed your NIC 4-5 times due to lightning? shocking.gif Maybe the modem transfer all the current to your NIC... laugh.gif jkjk... Congrats to you for having a good lasting modem. smile.gif
Stormwatch
Mmm....had also been using this modem for quite a long while 4 years also approx...but ended late last year, when the lan system kapuut. sad.gif The dsl system however is still working so i often use it for dsl line checking biggrin.gif
Really good modem this. If any place sells it, I wouldn't mind buying it again tongue.gif
fulat
4 years? u are one of those lucky person who subscribe to streamyx when they launched early 2002. right?
LokGP
4 years! I have blown 3 Aznet modems in the past 3 years! And heck they were expensive! vmad.gif
fillet
yeah...!!1

hyundai HASE-220..

also use for about 4 years...

i started streamyx 5 years ago...

firstime i get AZTECH... one lighting strike.. LAN AND MODEM GONE!!!!

then i bought Hyundai HASE-220 from my friend( he got extra that time) for RM100... last me 4 years until now and it's still rocking
MX510
My friends also have been using the Hyundai since streamyx old days till now no problem connection 24/7 even no fan near the modem smile.gif thumbs up for Hyundai
expl0it
Indeed, this modem is awesome. I used it for more than 3 years, until lightning took it out last year.
Joseph Hahn
lol that's amazing .. my modem and mobo both gone after being struck by lightning dry.gif
takata
wow..still on marker ka this modem? interested laa.....

i've been use streamyx for 2 years... maybe 4 to 5 times changing modem due lightning strike... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

last month kena lightning 2 mobo & 1 modem down.... sad.gif but not my linksys Wifi Router..... thumbup.gif
thefryingfox
yeah i still have this modem with me
its really lasting

but the adaptor is not doh.gif

i've changed the adaptor 3 times already...i use on another machine but this modem gets slightly hot sometimes.

currently using zte and im happy with it
amirsubhi
well..my aztech 906e(b)....its been 3 years n doing great!!
paultantk
i agree, i'm using the hase220 too. doesn't run as hot as other modems and very lasting.
gestapo
i have one also, and i do like it, but unfortunately it was fried when i lend it to a fren.. cry.gif

guess it was not a monster as u said .. lucky u
RangerRed
Hyundai still working for me for 3 yrs now serving as backup to my D-Link 500T. The modem never overheats or anything... great modem.. but haven clean off the spider shit all over it.. heheheh
kennytsh
i've been using this modem for about 3 years already too... so far still good and always on it 24/7 ... its really a good lasting modem.... thumb !
audigydekwmak
yup definitly agree.... the last time b4 it was struck by lightning the second time.... the 1st time the lightning burned off my computer... EVERthing roasted...gosh.... including HDD...wht a havoc.. and yet it survive... too bad the 2nd time it cant take another blow..lolx.. too sad... now tmnet change an cheap built aztech modem to me..T.T
Meis
lol that's amazing .. my modem and mobo both gone after being struck by lightning
fairx
Proud owner of Hase 220 almost 4 years now..

hopefully they'll last longer.. until adsl2 finally up & running I guess
Mau
Yes, it is a good dsl model. Was using it for about 2 years, served me well. Kept it now for backup. thumbup.gif
hoongern
I've also been using it for 4 years as well, no probs. Nice that I can telnet into it through the COM port... One question though - it doesn't seem to be available? Why is it that it is so hard to find, since it seems to be a good modem?
expl0it
I don't think its made anymore.
vince316
Yeah my hase220 also same case. Struct by lightning. Comp spoilt but modem still using even now. Although got burnt mark in modem but still fine and running.
Ultimate modem of all times......
kit0
QUOTE(fillet @ Feb 17 2006, 01:57 PM)
hmm

i have been using a Hyundai HASE-220 DSL modem for maybe 4 Years!!

and guess what..

after numerous Thunderstrom and lighting strike..
i've only changed FEW Network Card.. but not the modem!!

this modem is a monster....
if it's available on the market... get it.. although it lacks in function like port forwarding.. it's a VERY VERY lasting modem...

i changed 4-5 NIC due to lighting... but not this modem..

Thumbs UP

same here using this modem 4 years loh
also change to few nic card due to lighting
wahahah
lucky my modem is still alive

fillet
wah looks like everyone who has this modem is still using it...

lol.. my friend using ZTE.... one lighting.. spoil.. change .... another lighting .. spoil again...

but if they ever REPROduce the modem again...

i hope they include port forwarding this time..
socratesman
Is this HASE-220 a plain modem or modem/router combo?
kunglao
yeah, agreed. that modem is a monster.

any members wanna buy the hase 220 modem? i am selling at RM50. cool.gif

the sale thread its in garage sales.... wireless stuff.

hello fillet, i am not hijacking, just looking for potential buyers since i read here
got so many hyundai hase220 modem fans.

lol.. wink.gif
evilnickwong
My HASE-220 has been great since I got it in the early Streamyx days too. Has a very easy web based config too for tweaking certain "options". laugh.gif

Nowadays, TMnet gives crappy modems. My dad recently got Streamyx for his office and he got some Kasda modem that looks and feels like it was scrapped together in a wooden shed.
sohlican
Hase-220 has web based config??
sohlican
Anyone knows if HASE-220 work very well with which router?? wireless or non wireless
fillet
here

GUYS... i modded my Hyundai HASE-220, added a fan to it..

now it doesn't get hot anymore
sohlican
I think i need to mod my zte too like what the guy did smile.gif
teckc
HASE-220 rocks, almost 4 years of usage here... terabytes have gone thru this modem wink.gif
sohlican
I did the mod too, yet still superb hot... think i will add a fan, but how to get power? anyone knows?
fillet
pictures

that's how i get power... i plug the FAN's wire into the connector supplying power to my harddisk
sohlican
that'll look a bit ugly, any neater way lke usb power?
fillet
hahah .. well

if there's a fan out there with usb power supply, problem solved then... i lazy to look for it.. so i just use this way
tyssxp
QUOTE(sohlican @ Feb 27 2006, 03:02 AM)
Anyone knows if HASE-220 work very well with which router?? wireless or non wireless

Hmm using this HASE-220 with D-Link DI-524 wireless router. Performance wise comparable to when I'm using it as plain modem. But I really think that this modem is really a good lightning conductor. A lightning strike manages to pass thru this modem and killed my NIC. The modem still functioning properly. sweat.gif
sohlican
QUOTE(tyssxp @ Mar 3 2006, 10:49 PM)
Hmm using this HASE-220 with D-Link DI-524 wireless router. Performance wise comparable to when I'm using it as plain modem. But I really think that this modem is really a good lightning conductor. A lightning strike manages to pass thru this modem and killed my NIC. The modem still functioning properly.  sweat.gif

Ever get to top speed b4?
Tidus86
Thats was my 1st modem until the lightning fried it 2 years ago sad.gif
the modem is really good. i would like to buy it if its available here
Suk
used streamyx for 4 years.. changed 6 modems.... doh.gif
weikeat
i would like to setup a wireless connection for my lappie..
but my desktop still will using cable.
so any expert here can recommand me buy which brand/model of the wireless router which no need to plug in another ADSL modem.
thanks. biggrin.gif
lucifah
look no further. Linksys WRT54GL is the way to go
weikeat
QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 20 2006, 08:25 PM)
look no further. Linksys WRT54GL is the way to go

how much does it cost?
easy to setup?
yewc
yeah...you should try TP-Link...never have problem at all. Please visit www.itsquad.com.my for more info
wilson88
QUOTE(weikeat @ Oct 20 2006, 08:26 PM)
how much does it cost?
easy to setup?

Rm220 at LYN bulk price. If u know a bit of networking knowledge , I don't think is a problem. Same goes to other router as well.

if you know what is PPPoE , Username , Password then should be quite easy tongue.gif

Dont get those alcheapo router , it will hang very offen if u are a heavy usage user. I learnt my lesson well , I never ever trust any cheap router again rclxub.gif
weikeat
QUOTE(wilson88 @ Oct 22 2006, 12:34 AM)
Rm220 at LYN bulk price. If u know a bit of networking knowledge , I don't think is a problem. Same goes to other router as well.

if you know what is PPPoE , Username , Password then should be quite easy tongue.gif

Dont get those alcheapo router , it will hang very offen if u are a heavy usage user. I learnt my lesson well , I never ever trust any cheap router again rclxub.gif

tis is my 1st time doing networking..my networking knowledge can consider NOOB...haha..
anyway..thx for ur recomanndation..i'll consider it..erm..may i ask u, those that sell in Low yat some quite cheap Dlink one sell Rm160, DSL 542 i think..
that one is same with this or different?and i saw a belkin one sell at ALL IT for just RM225(not sure what model but the wireless speed is 108mbps)...
sanook
so, I am interested to know. what is considered cheapo brand and what is considered quality brand when it comes to wireless router? can you give a rough estimate of the current market price of cheapo brand and quality brand? thanks for any help...
wilson88
maybe Rm150-Rm180 wireless router @_@

I don't dare to list the brand out , because each brand sure got it own supporter. Sometimes also based on yr luck , if streamyx at yr area is bad , you will still dc like mad tongue.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.