Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Firefox Thread #2
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Internet Related
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
samurai1337

This thread is for Firefox users, post your problems, questions on extensions, etc.

Latest official stable release version: Mozilla Firefox 3.0.1

Firefox 3 Guides:Old Guides:Essential Links:Useful Utilities:
  • MozBackup - Backup utility for Mozilla Firefox/Thunderbird/Suite, Netscape
  • Nightly Tester Tools - Useful tools for you to get extensions worked if you're using non-stable version
Credit to all members who have contributed. PM any of the software mods to report any dead links.

FAQ
Why is my Firefox window bouncing?
This is a bug and it is caused by your 'Bookmark Toolbar' being empty. You can either add a bookmark to it by drop and dragging a link on the toolbar or you can hide this toolbar via 'View->Toolbars->Bookmark Toolbar'.

What happend to the pictures and page style?
Simply press two buttons 'Ctrl+F5', this clears the cache for that page.
Irishcoffee
my firefox eat up lots of memory
anyway to solve this problem?
sniper69
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Feb 21 2007, 02:42 AM)
my firefox eat up lots of memory
anyway to solve this problem?

yeah, kinda have same problem...i think it's the program itself...doh.gif
Irishcoffee
zzz...no solution
i hav 512 memory only
start up firefox can eat up 200-300 memory n VM easily hit 600mb++
Turnip
y is there alwaiz spyware in firefox??evrytime i scan using spybot...there it is!in firefox directory... sweat.gif ...den firefox wud go slow...
natakaasd
Are you sure it is spyware? It could easily be Cookies. Cookies are harmless. Cheers!
Turnip
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Feb 22 2007, 07:51 PM)
Are you sure it is spyware? It could easily be Cookies. Cookies are harmless. Cheers!

mybe so.. sweat.gif ...wud cookies slew em dwn? blink.gif
1024kbps
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Feb 22 2007, 01:56 AM)
zzz...no solution
i hav 512 memory only
start up firefox can eat up 200-300 memory n VM easily hit 600mb++

Use opera biggrin.gif

Im FF fanboy too, but my comp only have 512mb memory(ddr1 266mhz) sweat.gif
i cant always use FF becoz i always using msvc 2005 or gcc,
this 2 apps can use up alot of system/virtual memory,
they will "push" the FF system memory to virtual memory,
and thus degraded FF performance shakehead.gif
zyrl
I have a question about Firefox Bookmark Toolbar. Currently it is full. I have a lot of bookmarks over there. So the extra wan are kep behind the >>. Kinda hard to press the >> and the choose my bookmarks.

Is there any way i can expand the bookmarks toolbar to two line?

Or add another customize toolbar.

I tried Add a new toolbar. but it doesnt seems to work.

All helps appreciate
jdreamer
Why does my firefox returns to the previous pages in some of the websites?
ijan
okay..i liked firefox..see the past tense there..the newer version (i dun notice since when), the toolbar button, even clicked will just stay there and wont roll out, especially the bookmark! Then, it is very slow nowadays..eats ton of memory..i once made firefox to eat 3.5GB of memory (2.5GB of swap disk!!). Massive small flash site, on multiple tabs, see the lagginess.

Plus sum more, lots of javascript just dun werk..for example, lyn my assistant, sum other js i just cannot recall.

now using opera..i just dun like one thing..one massive thing..i like firefox opening tab in background, ctrl+click, opera is like ctrl+shift+click..
samurai1337
QUOTE(ijan @ Feb 28 2007, 08:17 PM)
okay..i liked firefox..see the past tense there..the newer version (i dun notice since when), the toolbar button, even clicked will just stay there and wont roll out, especially the bookmark! Then, it is very slow nowadays..eats ton of memory..i once made firefox to eat 3.5GB of memory (2.5GB of swap disk!!). Massive small flash site, on multiple tabs, see the lagginess.

Plus sum more, lots of javascript just dun werk..for example, lyn my assistant, sum other js i just cannot recall.

now using opera..i just dun like one thing..one massive thing..i like firefox opening tab in background, ctrl+click, opera is like ctrl+shift+click..

3.5GB of memory? How many RAM you got?
id86
i have question here...

why suddenly my firefox closed and the error msg appear?

sometimes it hang for quite some times.

is it because of the memory?

i have 1GB total ram memory
yokemun
i have a problem with firefox here...
when i used it sometimes a few hours (2-4 hours) sometimes more than 6 hours, an error window will pop up asking me to close it.
here's the error report i've copied from...

//Samurai1337- spoiler included to aid readability

can anyone help me to fix it please!!
utopian86
how to lose FF2 auto complete?
everytime i want to yahoo search, it'll drop down a list of words i used before
samurai1337
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Mar 3 2007, 05:19 PM)
how to lose FF2 auto complete?
everytime i want to yahoo search, it'll drop down a list of words i used before

Go to options->Privacy->History

And untick "Remember what I enter in forms and search bar"
utopian86
thx, i found it already.
It seem abit different for FF2

Tools -> Option -> Privacy tab

Untick Remember what i enter in forms and search bar smile.gif
AiRBooM
QUOTE(id86 @ Mar 2 2007, 06:46 AM)
i have question here...

same problem here , i think it's because open tabs eat up a lot of memory .... this latest released problem even worst than previous one rclxub.gif
eXPeri3nc3
Hmm, about:mozilla does nothing right? unsure.gif
It seems more like an easter egg to me... I stumbled upon an article today, and thought what settings are available there.

The layout seems scary tho' =\
shockw@ve
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Mar 4 2007, 03:30 AM)
Hmm, about:mozilla does nothing right? unsure.gif
It seems more like an easter egg to me... I stumbled upon an article today, and thought what settings are available there.

The layout seems scary tho' =\

Yes, it's an easter egg: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Book_of_Mozilla
Foxngn
Guys, need some help here.
Today after i updated my firefox, almost all of the foriegn website i also can't access, not even google. how come like that one ?
mdzaboy
help..help

i dunno what happened to my FF, it seems that everytime i go website(eg tomsharware.com) that have forum auto scroll..my FF cannot run it..anything wrong with FF..?

edit:-
oh nvm..fixed it already..i removed all the add on and the ff itself then install it back.. sweat.gif
wednesday
After I installed PPMate, my FF failed, can't start it anymore, when i dbl lcick the program, nothing happens, I try uninstallign and resintalling but it didn't work. Any idea ?
asellus
Ok, can anyone tells me how to prevent Firefox from resizing overly large pictures?
vpam5221
i have a question. i am using a vista notebook, installed firefox. the come to low yat hopepage. install flash extenstion to see the clock. THen it all happenes. flash extension cannot complete install. firefoc cannot restart... Message" waiting for other program to complete installation" then it gets worst.. i comlete uninstall irefox with intention to reinstall. Now. i cannot reinstall firefox. "windows cannow edit some files". Next i check the program files folder, contain 11mb data in the mozilla firefox folder that cannot be deleted......... help..... DAMN VISTA!!!!!!
NAQD
user posted image user posted image

Seems like both Firefox and Opera eats lots of RAM if open too much tabs biggrin.gif
shockw@ve
QUOTE(Foxngn @ Mar 4 2007, 02:10 PM)
Guys, need some help here.
Today after i updated my firefox, almost all of the foriegn website i also can't access, not even google. how come like that one ?

I have never encountered such behaviour before. You could try running Firefox in safe mode to see if you have any addons which are misbehaving.

QUOTE(asellus @ Mar 8 2007, 04:02 AM)
Ok, can anyone tells me how to prevent Firefox from resizing overly large pictures?

Type 'about:config' in the address bar, and change 'browser.enable_automatic_image_resizing' key to 'false'.
sani_othman
QUOTE(id86 @ Mar 2 2007, 06:46 AM)
i have question here...

yes,same problem here.
nowadays,since 2months ago,
everyday i use FF,everyday crash.to make matter worse,if i open some blogs,FF will hang... doh.gif
utopian86
in the extension guide, u might want to add IE tab. since some website require Active X so u dont need to use IE but use it within FF smile.gif

WingKalimdor
Hi all FireFox user's,

May I ask how to install the media plug-in for mozilla firefox.
I currently a windows vista user's and face a difficulty to install the plug-in.
For example , to run a song from friendster.

Thank.
moonmemory
after i close the FF can i resume back all the tabs i surfed before when next time i open the FF?? or i need to install an extension?
mystical zero
QUOTE(moonmemory @ Mar 24 2007, 03:56 PM)
after i close the FF can i resume back all the tabs i surfed before when next time i open the FF?? or i need to install an extension?

Yes, you can. Assuming you are using Firefox 2, click on "Tools"-->"Options...". Then, click on "Main". At the "When Firefox starts:" drop down menu, select "Show my windows and tabs from last time". Click "OK".
fantagero
wanna ask.. i forgot edy wut's the name of the extension for FF
it works like putting all the download job at the bottom in special download bar.. by default, FF will open download window which is very annoying.. huuhh
can some name me the extension.. notworthy.gif
yukihatsu
@fantagero>> is it this that you're looking for??
fantagero
notworthy.gif terima kasih biggrin.gif
bysquashy
Keyboard shortcut for Reload would be F5, is there a keyboard shortcut for Reload All Tabs?
samurai1337
QUOTE(bysquashy @ Mar 26 2007, 01:55 PM)
Keyboard shortcut for Reload would be F5, is there a keyboard shortcut for Reload All Tabs?

Maybe not, as far as the Firefox Help page is concerned
http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/keyboard

There's only shortcut for reload not Reload All
prelude23
Hey, My firefox cant access to many website... If I use explorer, it will be no prob but when i use firefox, i cant go in the website... Anyone can help me? I think there's something to do with the privacy and security... But i dunno how to configure it...

Thanks in advance smile.gif
scorps
QUOTE(prelude23 @ Mar 26 2007, 09:16 PM)
Hey, My firefox cant access to many website... If I use explorer, it will be no prob but when i use firefox, i cant go in the website... Anyone can help me? I think there's something to do with the privacy and security... But i dunno how to configure it...

Thanks in advance  smile.gif

try to use the newest of firefox
prelude23
QUOTE(scorps @ Mar 26 2007, 09:53 PM)
try to use the newest of firefox

i'm using the newest firefox... i uninstall my old firefox and d/lded the new one... but the configuration is still there... anyway i can set it back to default?
bysquashy
QUOTE(prelude23 @ Mar 26 2007, 10:01 PM)
i'm using the newest firefox... i uninstall my old firefox and d/lded the new one... but the configuration is still there... anyway i can set it back to default?

Try using the extension IE Tab, on some sites it may cause FF to hang though
prelude23
Whats an extension IE tab?
bysquashy
Here you go
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419

Added on March 28, 2007, 5:17 pmAnother extension that I would like to recommend is Screengrab!
It saves your browser session in JPG file. Even if its a long page, it'll stitch a few snap shots together resulting in only 1 JPG file.
eXyzt
- deleted -
justin85
Anyone have this tab problem with Pimpzilla theme? sad.gif

[attachmentid=211237]
nairud
Anyone know how come Firefox 2 on my Vista keeps on crashing without being able to load? i've tried different releases and yet still the same. I even use the same setup file that worked on another Vista machine.
utopian86
my FF keep hanging for a few minutes when i want to save file(pic,files) using its own build-in download manager.

Anyone know how to fully uninstall firefox include the root file?
sniper69
how to?

as SS (screenshot) shown, i want to set the navigation toolbar to the below, while menu toolbar (File; Edit; View; History; and so on) to the top, i have tried customize, but failed doh.gif...this is occured when i updated to the latest myFireFox skin

Zicron
Now my FF oso keep hang evi time i start...wat's happening to Firefox? icon_question.gif
keith6668
Apparently it seems that I was unfortunate to experience one of Firefox rare cache bug (which has not been fixed yet), which caused the CSS file not to be updated accordingly, especially for sites that have been updated recently, and thus causing the sites to be rendered wrongly.

After clearing the cache, a few sites that didn't render correctly the past few days are now all ok for me.

This bug is discussed here and here.

So, if you're using Firefox and you run into a website that all of a sudden doesn't render properly, and you know the site isn't at fault, clear your cache and try again.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.