Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: FYI - WHAT TO DO IF STOPPED BY M'SIAN POLICE....
Lowyat.NET > Lifestyle > The Fast & The Furious
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Vmaker
Procedures to follow in the event you are stopped by uniformed police Officers while driving.

Stop the car and wind down your window.
If the police officers ask for your documents, request to see their IDs first.
If you are satisfied about their identity, ask them if you are being summoned, and for what offence.
Produce your identity card and driver's license and wait to collect your summon ticket.

In the event that the police officers ask you to follow them to the police station:

Ask if you are under arrest and for what offence.
If you are not under arrest, you have the right to leave.

In the event you are flagged down by persons you believe could be plainclothes police:

Do not stop because plainclothes police officers do not have the authority to stop you.
Drive to the nearest police station and lodge a report. (The same procedure applies to pedestrians)

In the event the police come to your house:

Do not let them in before checking their IDs.
If you are not satisfied, phone the nearest police station and confirm if they had been sent to your house.
You are under no obligation to allow them into the house if they don't have a search warrant.
Do not go with them if you are not under arrest.

In the event persons who claimed to be plainclothes police come to your
house:

Do not let him in because they do not have the authority to do so.
Lodge a report at the nearest police station.

CALL THE COPS:

· IPK KUALA LUMPUR: 03 - 236 0522
· AMPANG: 03 - 452 2222
· BRICKFIELDS 03 - 2274 2222
· CHERAS: 03 - 984 2222
· DANG WANGI: 03 - 230 2222
· KL TRAFFIC POLICE: 03 - 232 9044
· IPK SELANGOR: 03 - 5514 5222
· HOTLINE: 03 - 5510 2999
· PETALING JAYA: 03 - 7956 2222
· SHAH ALAM: 03 - 5510 2222
· KLANG: 03 - 3371 2222
· HULU LANGAT: 03 - 8736 2222
· HULU SELANGOR: 03 - 6064 1222
· KUALA LANGAT: 03 - 318 7222
· KUALA SELANGOR: 03 - 889 1222
· GOMBAK: 03 - 6092 6222
· SABAK BERNAM: 03 - 884 2222
· SEPANG: 03 - 847 1222
· KLIA: 03 - 8787 2222

ah_keh
good info! great job mate! this shud b pinned!
Intrigue
lol.. off topic...

You: Tuan, Boleh tolong tak?
Police: macam mana nak tolong? hehe..
TheWhacker
QUOTE(Vmaker @ Oct 10 2005, 09:17 PM)
In the event persons who claimed to be plainclothes police come to your
house:

Do not let him in because they do not have the authority to do so.
Lodge a report at the nearest police station.

What happens if they (wearing plainclothes) have a warrant ?
Vmaker
QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Oct 10 2005, 10:41 PM)
What happens if they (wearing plainclothes) have a warrant ?

As for my opinion, if the police want to search your house with a warrant, I guess he should be in a proper "dressing" biggrin.gif

If not maybe you could 1st ask them "aren't you suppose to wear a uniform?", and then you could call the police station to confirm.

thumbup.gif
lwwong
Last time my friend was stopped by a police for crossing a red light..It was his first time being stopped by a police, he opened his car door and went near to the policeman to collect the summon and the policeman said "apa u buat? masuk dalam kereta, masuk..masuk.." hahaha.

So next time if any of u guys get booked, make sure u stay in ur car..
thom_chai
QUOTE(Intrigue @ Oct 10 2005, 10:36 PM)
lol.. off topic...

You:  Tuan, Boleh tolong tak?
Police: macam mana nak tolong? hehe..

Haha, that's wat i always do tongue.gif

The police then say to me: "Okey, kamu cepat2 bagi duit itu, masuk buku saman saya, sebelum kolik saya nampak" doh.gif
yuyuyu
raya soon

everyone keep telling me becareful on the road..

dunno mean keep an eye on who.. -.-
Vmaker
Last 2 week when I was headed to KL I also got stopped by a police at highway near to Sg Besi toll, that time was about 5.00am.
At that time I was overtaking the police car(Volvo type), then suddenly he open the signal light and ask me to pullover.
Then I stop, the police man came to me and ask for my IC & license, I give my MyCard, he ask me where is my license, I told its in MyCard, then he ask me to get out and follow him to his car.. Ok, I get out of the car and follow him, and I ask him what is my kesalahan? then he show to me that I shouldn't use the shiny plate number,
Oh!(hehehe) then I tell him that I'm sorry this is not my car, he told me the one who is driving is supposed to be responsible. then I say I'm sorry again..
and it seem is like he is not gona give me a ticket is like he is kind of delaying things... and it is lucky for me I used to worked at Bukit Aman IT, Traffic & SB department, I used to take care the summon server there.. and of course I know the policemen there.. biggrin.gif ,

Then I told the policemen the story where I worked.. then he asks me who is my officer.. then I told him Tuan A is my officer, he ask me do I know Tuan I, then I told him not only Tuan I, I also know Tn. Ai, Tn. S(this guy is the one who sign the summon), and also I mention to him I also maintain a server in Special Branch which under Tn. Ai...... thumbup.gif then the guy said ok you can go.. and please change the plate number...

madman20
good info..definitely good idea to pin
hyper ice
I heard that sometimes they are off duty, and will just roam the streets to collect duit kopi. Is there any way for us to check if they are on or off duty? These scums just want to get undertable money! Dirty dogs! Especially around festive season!
WhitE LighteR
How do you sure that its an authenthic police ID. I for one nvr seen a real one yet.
MrHan
QUOTE(Vmaker @ Oct 10 2005, 09:17 PM)
Procedures to follow in the event you are stopped by uniformed police Officers while driving.

Stop the car and wind down your window.
If the police officers ask for your documents, request to see their IDs first.
If you are satisfied about their identity, ask them if you are being summoned, and for what offence.
Produce your identity card and driver's license and wait to collect your summon ticket.

What should I do if they scold me or get mad when I request for their ID?

"Suruh u bagi IC, lesen, u bagi lah! Banyak cakap buat pe?!"

And what if the uniformed police is actually a bogus cop? Nowadays IC also can be faked... who knows bout their ID? Just few of my thoughts.
Joshua_0718
QUOTE(MrHan @ Oct 10 2005, 11:58 PM)
What should I do if they scold me or get mad when I request for their ID?

"Suruh u bagi IC, lesen, u bagi lah! Banyak cakap buat pe?!"

And what if the uniformed police is actually a bogus cop? Nowadays IC also can be faked... who knows bout their ID? Just few of my thoughts.

U can straight drive away. BUT immediately drive to police station and make a report. OR u can ask the policeman to wait, call up the police station and ask whether he is a real policeman a not.

Most advisable is call up the police station. You have the right doing so. In my opinion, if u drive away, they have the right to open fire too as they could say u are a suspicious suspect.
MrHan
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 11 2005, 12:05 AM)
U can straight drive away. BUT immediately drive to police station and make a report. OR u can ask the policeman to wait, call up the police station and ask whether he is a real policeman a not.

Most advisable is call up the police station. You have the right doing so. In my opinion, if u drive away, they have the right to open fire too as they could say u are a suspicious suspect.

Yeah, very true and reasonable. Thanks for the info!
Joshua_0718
QUOTE(MrHan @ Oct 11 2005, 12:10 AM)
Yeah, very true and reasonable. Thanks for the info!

Welcome. Juz my 2 cents. biggrin.gif
egiewan
Wah! Great info there! thumbup.gif Should have posted last week la...just only last Saturday I kena tahan by police laugh.gif
Joshua_0718
QUOTE(egiewan @ Oct 11 2005, 12:51 AM)
Wah! Great info there! thumbup.gif Should have posted last week la...just only last Saturday I kena tahan by police laugh.gif

What offense?
egiewan
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 11 2005, 12:54 AM)
What offense?

Accused for making an illegal U-turn...which I did not vmad.gif Ajak me masuk court somemore laugh.gif
Vmaker
QUOTE(egiewan @ Oct 11 2005, 12:56 AM)
Accused for making an illegal U-turn...which I did not vmad.gif Ajak me masuk court somemore laugh.gif

what car u ar using? maybe an exensive car thats why the police tahan u.. biggrin.gif

It used to happend to my father lol, speeding case at highway senai. The police tahan my father's car and said he is speeding.. and its actually NOT!!!
Coz at that time my father want to fatch my mom at airport, the flight arrival is 1 hour more, so my father taking his sweet swee time to get there.. but suddently kena tahan.. doh.gif shakehead.gif
D3vilsim
Good info here. Esp when holiday session .. cheer
madman20
at least you didnt kena like me laugh.gif
unitron
btw.. just to clarify stuff, the police does not need a search warrant to enter your house. It was also mentioned in The Star papers, can't remember which date liao...

Also plainclothes policeman came to my rented house once to arrest one of my housemate for suspected arson. They had IDs but no search warrant.

they dun really need it, coz they can always make excuse like, they suspect criminal activities is going on inside or the suspect will escape by the time they get the warrant.
NextByte
Anyone got caught for making out in the car ah? tongue.gif
unitron
QUOTE(NextByte @ Oct 12 2005, 12:58 AM)
Anyone got caught for making out in the car ah?  tongue.gif

my friend stopped the car by the road shoulder to rest with his gf in the passenger seat, police came and asked him to leave and do "it" at home.... kekeke.

He was feeling tired becoz of a long night partying, wanted to rest a bit before drive home, but too bad kena halau by police.
(N)3
must save the police numbers in HP liaw tongue.gif
lwwong
QUOTE(Vmaker @ Oct 10 2005, 11:30 PM)
and I ask him what is my kesalahan? then he show to me that I shouldn't use the shiny plate number,

got example of the type of shiny number plate u using ? is it the plate shining or the numbers are shining?
yeahh
QUOTE(lwwong @ Oct 13 2005, 09:55 PM)
got example of the type of shiny number plate u using ? is it the plate shining or the numbers are shining?

number shining
Vmaker
QUOTE(unitron @ Oct 11 2005, 10:59 AM)
btw.. just to clarify stuff, the police does not need a search warrant to enter your house. It was also mentioned in The Star papers, can't remember which date liao...

Also plainclothes policeman came to my rented house once to arrest one of my housemate for suspected arson. They had IDs but no search warrant.

they dun really need it, coz they can always make excuse like, they suspect criminal activities is going on inside or the suspect will escape by the time they get the warrant.

Watch CSI? I think it should be something like it, when the police want to meet someone at the house and right after that they always ask "can we come in.......?" if not they should get a warrant for that. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lwwong @ Oct 13 2005, 09:55 PM)

Its a shining number... sweat.gif
Carmen
QUOTE(NextByte @ Oct 12 2005, 12:58 AM)
Anyone got caught for making out in the car ah?  tongue.gif

My case is very malu one. Me & my bf is tengah pak toh at ... dono the place name, it's like on top of a hill la "san ting". Usually there will be a few couples there but on that nite, we're the only couple. We've been there a few times before but never see any policeman. The time is around 11pm & we did nothing, just chat. He sat on driver's seat & me on the passenger seat with a cushion on top of my lap. A police officer knock our window asked for our ICs. Then he asked my to take away the cushion to see whether Im having my pants ON! That's was most embarrassed moment of my life! I felt so humiliated! vmad.gif I swear to my bf that I wont return to that place for the rest of my life.
nerd nation
QUOTE(Carmen @ Oct 14 2005, 04:55 PM)
My case is very malu one. Me & my bf is tengah pak toh at ... dono the place name, it's like on top of a hill la "san ting". Usually there will be a few couples there but on that nite, we're the only couple. We've been there a few times before but never see any policeman. The time is around 11pm & we did nothing, just chat. He sat on driver's seat & me on the passenger seat with a cushion on top of my lap. A police officer knock our window asked for our ICs. Then he asked my to take away the cushion to see whether Im having my pants ON! That's was most embarrassed moment of my life! I felt so humiliated!  vmad.gif  I swear to my bf that I wont return to that place for the rest of my life.

The police hamsap wanna see ur legs only la... lol. what did the police say after that?
Carmen
QUOTE(nerd nation @ Oct 14 2005, 08:24 PM)
The police hamsap wanna see ur legs only la... lol. what did the police say after that?

He asked us to leave loh.
Lalaman
QUOTE(nerd nation @ Oct 14 2005, 08:24 PM)

damn i agree wif you man ...
Joshua_0718
QUOTE(unitron @ Oct 11 2005, 10:59 AM)

Police need a warrant to search a house. Enter a house without a warrant I don't think so. Can any1 clarify tis?
Haza_izzz
ala ... nowdays policemen hav to pride already... rm10 oso take... my dads case , just came back to nilai doing something , me and my dad was only person in the car, .... after making a turn , i saw a policeman behind a mountains of sand and at the same time me and my dad wre not wearing seat belts so,since we make the mistake so kena la... then the policeman asked for the IC and licence. suddenly my dad came out from the car and started to talk with the policeman who is held us. then my dad shows he's striker at the top of the front glass . it was a Jabatan Perdana Menteri sticker . i completely forgot that my dad is a diplomat tongue.gif ... after a while of talking, my dad came in back and drove off... he said " huh... nowdays, policemen has no pride . RM 10 bucks oso take . i saw laughing al the way from the police road block....
bomberkenny
· CHERAS: 03 - 984 2222
· DANG WANGI: 03 - 230 2222
· KL TRAFFIC POLICE: 03 - 232 9044

I have doubts about the numbers. Why is it one digit less? shouldn't it be 8 digits like normal household numbers? And i wouldn't want to try to test the number. lol
stevenek3
" it was a Jabatan Perdana Menteri sticker . i completely forgot that my dad is a diplomat ... after a while of talking, my dad came in back and drove off... he said " huh... nowdays, policemen has no pride . RM 10 bucks oso take . i saw laughing al the way from the police road block.... "

seriously dun care who u are, if u broke the law u ought to pay for the tickets. More and more people are like ur dad with watever mentari stickers who can get priviledges if kena saman.. all BS...
hikari
cheras no. in 8 digit shoud be 03-92842222
lauyah
Not sure of all this applicable to the average joe like us. IF we talked back (like asking them to show their ID), they might feel a bit uneasy and might play games with you. And driving back to the police station would help anything? I doubt it, as they are in the same gang.

Seriously, I think i'd developed 'malaysian-police-phobia'. felt uncomfortable seeing a police, even if i did nothing wrong, coz of the story i've heard and some personal encounter.

Probly, its good if some of us really had some nice story to share about our police force. Probly then I will develope some confident over our police force.
nerd nation
The first thing i'd do if i'm stopped by a police is to remove all cash from my wallet leaving only a 10 bucks note. hide the rest of cash elsewhere. then when police asks, i'd just tell him i only have 10 bucks. it works for me many times!
albertykf
I got a case here even funnier.

my fr was driving and talking on phone, without handsfree tongue.gif , but with loud speaker whistling.gif . Then a police car ask him to stop ny the roadside. A policeman came to him ask ask:"encik, tahu tak apa kesalahan encik buat?" Fr said:" tak tau". then he said:" encik cakap hanpon tak guna hanpree, say akan keluar saman bagi cik"

My fr know he was wrong, coz he read from the paper said, taking with loud speaker is also breaking the laws. Then my fr asked" Tuan, boleh tolong?" tongue.gif .He said:" Tolong? Saya memang suka tolong orang punya." doh.gif. Then my fr asked straight ways:" Berapa baru tuan boleh tolong?" sweat.gif. He said:"kami ada 2 orang, RM50 la." doh.gif biggrin.gif . Then my fr said:"kurang sikit boleh tak...RM30 boleh?" whistling.gif

After a few minutes of "bargain", he agreed to settle with RM30. So my fr looked in his wallet and....Shit.....he only have RM50 notes in his wallet.....Then he said:"Tuan, tak ada wang kecil la." He said:" tak apa, u tunggu." then he went to his car and come back to my fr with RM20..... doh.gif

hahahahaha.....
Mike3300
they should look like policeman..or else
eric84cool
Aiyaaa..common la.....nowaday traffic policeman very aggreessive leh....bcoz raya is coming....
Jason
i guess in a way they are respectable. say 1 means 1, say 2 means 2.
pilotHans
comman guys...at least i think they are doing u a favor....
30 instead of 300 whistling.gif

me? I've yet to own a car....but yes, i've got summon RM300 for my bike.. also because of shining plate number mad.gif
bkwong
What if you ask if they can tolong, but they don't want to? Will they fine u more for attempt to bribe?
fillet
hmm.....

my Golden Rule

'Sini Ada Rm15, u mau u ambik, u tak mau, u kasih saman, itu saja, u pikir sendiri'
IceCube
my golden rule,

"i do wrong, u saman, u mau bagi saman, cepat sikit, kalo tak mau saman ,i mau jalan, masa tak tunggu orang"
Fields
Wah, i wonder what would be the reaction of the government if someone put a spy cam and purposely get caught by police and caught the police on video showing he accepts bribe and posts it on the local newspaper.
PrinceHamsap
QUOTE(Fields @ Oct 24 2005, 09:41 PM)
Wah, i wonder what would be the reaction of the government if someone put a spy cam and purposely get caught by police and caught the police on video showing he accepts bribe and posts it on the local newspaper.

forget bout it
i wonder what the reaction if they see the posts here
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.