Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: How to change Windows XP to Mac OS X
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Desktop Customization
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
alang
I'd just finish a 10 pages emulation guide, that will give a tutorials and walkthrough on how to change your Windows Xp to Mac OS X.

You can read it here http://www.osx-e.com/articles/emulation_manuals.html
fariz
Pinned, thanks for the guide..
Daniel89
Thank You for the guide. Guess what i'm using osx right now.It really nice thumbup.gif
faidz85
Hows OSX in terms of gaming? is there any game for it? I was thinking about a change to linux...but...i play games...so im still reluctant about it...
aladdin
you done this guide by ur own...? thumbup.gif
crynobone
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Aug 28 2005, 01:47 PM)
Hows OSX in terms of gaming? is there any game for it? I was thinking about a change to linux...but...i play games...so im still reluctant about it...

Changing Windows XP to Mac OS X here isn't meaning that your are using Mac OS X but just the appearance of your Windows XP are almost similar (but not the same) as Mac OS X.
Mr_47
QUOTE(crynobone @ Aug 28 2005, 03:51 PM)
Changing Windows XP to Mac OS X here isn't meaning that your are using Mac OS X but just the appearance of your Windows XP are almost similar (but not the same) as Mac OS X.

reskin ler! not total changes.
crynobone
QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Aug 28 2005, 03:54 PM)
reskin ler! not total changes.

What do you make of my statement "but just the appearance" and "are almost similar (but not the same)" doh.gif
alang
QUOTE(aladdin @ Aug 28 2005, 01:58 PM)
you done this guide by ur own...?  thumbup.gif

Yeah, after a lot of readings from lots of resources, and through my own experiences running the osx-e for almost 2 years. Thats the most frequently asked question by my forum members, and I guess with the guide, most of the newbie just can read it there.
Tunn
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Aug 28 2005, 01:47 PM)

ya...bro most of us here been do this a long2 time already.....it same thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
sam1907
gr8 guide...
sam1907
but is it 100% emulation .. as in totally look n feel liek os X ... also functionalities leh ? same same ar .. like os X but still retain the full function of windows.. ?
Tunn
QUOTE(sam1907 @ Aug 29 2005, 01:17 PM)
but is it 100% emulation .. as in totally look n feel liek os X ... also functionalities leh ? same same ar .. like os X but still retain the full function of windows.. ?

if u wan almost 100% read the great guide.... whistling.gif whistling.gif but i think is almost perfect already.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
maxim.Freaks
gre8 guide...though i just read cpt 8 - cpt 10 only... tongue.gif
crystal_kit85
Wow so many things to dl, btw i have a question here, what is the differents between this and the FlyAKite software where its a Mac theme on windows. After i install the Fly A Kite i realise everything has change to mac interface right from the startup to the icons, the only thing that is different is the drop down of the taskbar. So if there is Fly A Kite why do we need to do these, coz it does almost the same things. Sorry for this noob question. tongue.gif
alang
Some people sometime afraid to use an installer like flyakite because its might the windows system files. And although you'd installed flyakite, there are still few things that you need to make it 100% like Mac OS X. Thats why I'd created a different chapter for each section so that people will know which aspect of their emulation is still lack after installing flyakite.
ALIAS.JG
how much total resources are used for this ???
crystal_kit85
QUOTE(alang @ Aug 30 2005, 08:01 PM)
Some people sometime afraid to use an installer like flyakite because its might the windows system files. And although you'd installed flyakite, there are still few things that you need to make it 100% like Mac OS X. Thats why I'd created a different chapter for each section so that people will know which aspect of their emulation is still lack after installing flyakite.

Thanks for the info biggrin.gif
xalim
i've used stardock to make my windows looks like mac os... thanks for your information above.. but with low spec my laptop run slowly.... sad.gif
aeridest
WOW...WOW.. and WOW
TearDrop
i shall say its a perfect guide! bravo!! notworthy.gif
Nakhtaladakh
yeah now my pc look like a mac desktop, but still need to buy the real one huhu
Daniel89
If i want my window back how to do ?
maxim.Freaks
I think...
either u unistall FlykiteOSX...
or u also just change the theme...
Desktop -> right click -> properties -> appearence tab -> any other theme -> apply...

Correct me if i'm wrong..!!
i love mac OS
if not watch careflully,it really like mac OS
pearldiver
Xcellent guide!!!
wanna try it someday...but how if i wanna change it back to windows?
Tunn
choose a theme in propeties tab or uninstll it thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
SubZIRO
AH! I've been looking for something like this for a long time....
Thanks alang.

Any way to get the min/max/close buttons to the left of the windows other than using windowblinds?
Tunn
QUOTE(SubZIRO @ Sep 28 2005, 09:31 AM)
AH! I've been looking for something like this for a long time....
Thanks alang.

Any way to get the min/max/close buttons to the left of the windows other than using windowblinds?

dont think so........
alang
as stated in the tutorials, you can use ShellWM. But its quite buggy..
Tunn
QUOTE(alang @ Sep 28 2005, 09:46 PM)
as stated in the tutorials, you can use ShellWM. But its quite buggy..

better stick to the installer dude
SubZIRO
QUOTE(Tunn @ Sep 29 2005, 01:45 AM)
better stick to the installer dude

Hmm..... will that get the buttons to the left?
I'm wondering whether to let the installer loose on my system... Worried that it will mess up things it shouldn't be poking it's nose into... I'd rather know exactly what i'm installing... sweat.gif tongue.gif

I have applied KoL's visual styles (manually) before. Looked good enough except for the button issue...
Another problem i had was with YzToolbar... when i 1st apply a skin, it's ok, but when i close and reopen the window or open other new windows, the toolbar is not skinned anymore... >_<
Any idea how to fix this?
alang
flyakite installer won't give you the left button. You need 3rd party program like Window Blinds or ShellWM or get that.
Tunn
QUOTE(SubZIRO @ Sep 29 2005, 09:17 AM)
Hmm..... will that get the buttons to the left?
I'm wondering whether to let the installer loose on my system... Worried that it will mess up things it shouldn't be poking it's nose into... I'd rather know exactly what i'm installing... sweat.gif  tongue.gif

I have applied KoL's visual styles (manually) before. Looked good enough except for the button issue...
Another problem i had was with YzToolbar... when i 1st apply a skin, it's ok, but when i close and reopen the window or open other new windows, the toolbar is not skinned anymore... >_<
Any idea how to fix this?

aikkksss that the first time I heard that......nvr had prob wit it before....and I've been using them 4 more then a year oledi.....
vergas
Ok, i've downloaded Flyakite OS Xv.2.0, install it and reboot, and then get alll blank screen!!! Any idea. I don't even know whether i've booted windows!
SubZIRO
QUOTE(vergas @ Sep 29 2005, 12:59 PM)
Ok, i've downloaded Flyakite OS Xv.2.0, install it and reboot, and then get alll blank screen!!! Any idea. I don't even know whether i've booted windows!

OMG.... this is why i dun trust installers.....sweat.gif laugh.gif

BTW, my system specs are:
Intel P4 2.4GHz
768MB DDR RAM
GeForce4 MX440
Windows XP Pro

If i'm not mistaken, all this skinning can only be done on XP right? No Win98/ME...

In my experience, blank screens are either because the system cannot handle the new graphics (i.e. crappy video card or PC not thumbup.gif enough), or the new resolution/refresh rate is not supported by the monitor. I'm ony a noob at skinning, so that's all i know unfortunately... whistling.gif smile.gif tongue.gif Anyone have any other ideas?
Tunn

Cant help u wit that.........

QUOTE(SubZIRO @ Sep 29 2005, 01:50 PM)
OMG.... this is why i dun trust installers.....sweat.gif laugh.gif

BTW, my system specs are:
Intel P4 2.4GHz
768MB DDR RAM
GeForce4 MX440
Windows XP Pro

If i'm not mistaken, all this skinning can only be done on XP right? No Win98/ME...

In my experience, blank screens are either because the system cannot handle the new graphics (i.e. crappy video card or PC not thumbup.gif enough), or the new resolution/refresh rate is not supported by the monitor. I'm ony a noob at skinning, so that's all i know unfortunately... whistling.gif smile.gif tongue.gif Anyone have any other ideas?

yup XP only...... whistling.gif whistling.gif
SubZIRO

Hmm... thought of something.... to fix ur problem, try booting into safemode and then uninstalling Flyakite OS Xv.2.0. This should work... try and see lah but dun blame me if anything else goes wrong sweat.gif whistling.gif laugh.gif thumbup.gif
ianho
Aiyoooooooooooo. I just spent the past 2 days researching the net n finding the appropriate progs needed for this project then now oni c this ABC 123 guide. Hahaha. Good stuff anyway. Shud help a lot of clueless people like me.
netboy
I think the creator of this thread should consider changing the title "How to change Windows XP to Mac OS X". It's the theme, look and feel that you're changing, not the OS. To really change from Windows XP to Mac OS X, is to get a Mac, then load Mac OS X on it.

No offence, but the thread title is a bit misleading.
alang
I don't think it will be misleading unless this thread is in General OS forum, visitors might think that the tutorials is to completely change the OS. But since this thread is in Desktop Customization forum, the changes make is just on the surface or your windows desktop.
SubZIRO
QUOTE(netboy @ Oct 6 2005, 01:02 PM)
I think the creator of this thread should consider changing the title "How to change Windows XP to Mac OS X". It's the theme, look and feel that you're changing, not the OS. To really change from Windows XP to Mac OS X, is to get a Mac, then load Mac OS X on it.

No offence, but the thread title is a bit misleading.

Hmm... i agree... but i didnt notice it until you brought it up tongue.gif laugh.gif But like alang said, this is in the Desktop Customization section... so most ppl would understand what it means.
Maybe it can be changed to "How to make Windows XP look Mac OS X" or something like that... thumbup.gif
Daniel89
I having some problems.The MSN can open and sign in but when i click on Open Messenger in did't show up how to do ? wacko.gif
Daniel89
alang i have a question here if i changed to another user and that user dont have OSX can i install it at the user and will it effect the PC crash ?
Tunn
QUOTE(Daniel89 @ Oct 10 2005, 12:54 PM)
alang i have a question here if i changed to another user and that user dont have OSX can i install it at the user and will it effect the PC crash ?

I think the user must have the 'admin' privilages in order for user to installed anything
SubZIRO
QUOTE(Daniel89 @ Oct 7 2005, 10:46 AM)
I having some problems.The MSN can open and sign in but when i click on Open Messenger in did't show up how to do ? wacko.gif

Maybe it's because you're not using the correct version of MSN Messenger? If I'm not mistaken, the MSN skins only work properly with the MSN version they were created for.

Latest version of MSN Messenger is 7.5. thumbup.gif
oracle
Hi all, i'm quite new when it comes to desktop modding. Anyway, i've been using FlyAKite v2.0 for quite sometime already and yes there are a lot of stuff missing to make it more MAC like.

I've just formatted my laptop coz it's been buggy lately and i have a couple of questions which i like to ask all the gurus here.

1) if i'm installing FlyAKite v2.0, i'll have to install ShellWM, ObjectDock and etc to make it mac like. Is this true?

2) If i try WindowBlinds, i'll have to do the same as to install the above mentioned applications right?

So which of the above methods are the best way to mod my PC? I do not want it to be resource hungry.

Are WindowBlinds and FlyAKite easy to remove in case i don't want them anymore?

Thanks in advance smile.gif
Joey-kun
1) flyakite has objectdock included.

2) yes.

both methods are not resource hungry (provided if you're using the latest version of windowblinds)

yes both can be undone with just a click at the uninstall button
oracle
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Oct 17 2005, 08:26 AM)
1) flyakite has objectdock included.

2) yes.

both methods are not resource hungry (provided if you're using the latest version of windowblinds)

yes both can be undone with just a click at the uninstall button

Thanks Joey-kun.

Does both of these theme mod require that i run the UXTheme Patcher?
What will happen if i didn't use the patch?
-Dude Ranch-
after i using flakite for 2 weeks, my icon back to normal (default win xp icon)
how can i change back to mac icon?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.