Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Guitar/Bass Pickups Thread
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Audiophiles > Musicians
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
blacktrix
If you want a single coil with lots of gain, try out the DiMarzio Super Distortion or Duncan Hot Rails.....But it's quite trebly.

But your pickup selector switch, if you push it all the way down, it's the bridge, and all the way up is the neck pickup.
lled1975
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 7 2007, 11:04 AM)
If you want a single coil with lots of gain, try out the DiMarzio Super Distortion or Duncan Hot Rails.....But it's quite trebly.

But your pickup selector switch, if you push it all the way down, it's the bridge, and all the way up is the neck pickup.

thanks for the quick reply, yeah, i u mean super distortion 5 rite? and hot rail my fren recommend also, what is the price range for this pus?

btw, the pickup i need to replace is Bridge pickup rite? (the one near to tremelo)

and for the switch selector, my current original is if i push all the way up to position 1 (nearest to volume knob) is rhythm, is bassy-mid sound, if push all the all the way down to position 5, is lead sound. is there something wrong? or is reversed ?

currently for my start when i switch it to position 1 (nearer to the volume knob) and i use my finger touch the Neck pickup and it will trigger a electric noise feedback, other pickup has no feedback at this moment, and when i switch to position 5, i touch bridge pickup, it generate the feedback.

Is there something wrong with my switch position? my start was original and i didn't do any mod on it, and i thought all start switch selector position is the same?

thanks !
JamesWannabE
i thinking of getting dimarzio "The humbucker From hell" for my ibanez rx in the bridge position...
it cost rm320.00...
what do you guys think....???
i often play metal song....
does it suites???
liew90kw
get the Dimebuckers. made by seymour duncan,
sean392
QUOTE(JamesWannabE @ Jan 12 2008, 04:39 AM)
i thinking of getting dimarzio "The humbucker From hell" for my ibanez rx in the bridge position...
it cost rm320.00...
what do you guys think....???
i often play metal song....
does it suites???

On the contrary with the name. Humbucker from hell is actually a medium output pickup. If I'm not mistaken that is.
If output is what you want, the Dimarzio X2N has plenty of it.
Equilibrium777
humbucker from hell is my practice pup. . . its bleeding clear. . . if you have shitty or sloppy playin it shows. . . so get it. . . makes you a cleaner player. . .
Rossie
I love the D-sonic!
The legend's true!
gapnap
QUOTE(Rossie @ Jan 13 2008, 06:43 AM)
I love the D-sonic!
The legend's true!

have you try the original D sonic ? from early 90's / late 80's ...

it is the stock pickup for Ibanez RG565 ..
Rossie
Nope... Any difference?
Can elaborate more?
SihamZhai
Can a BC rich warlock change their pickups into active pickups??
crazychris
yes to bc rich conversion activ pup

and need to noe more bout the Dsonic story
go on man!!
freakfingers12
What humbucker will be good for metal and what singlecoil will be good for jazz?I'm planning to swap my HSS pups.Preferably no emgs
crazychris
wat guitar are u using?
for SSH i have a pro track smile.gif gud for sweet mellow jazz tune
its actuali a humbucker in a single coil outfit
i can do a series parallel switch for u smile.gif
hanhanhan
seymour duncan blackouts , invaders , JB
freakfingers12
QUOTE(crazychris @ Jan 15 2008, 04:15 PM)
wat guitar are u using?
for SSH i have a pro track smile.gif gud for sweet mellow jazz tune
its actuali a humbucker in a single coil outfit
i can do a series parallel switch for u smile.gif

Pro track?What's that?
RustReaver4D1
No man... X2N all the way for the win!

Plus, the white one with black rails just look sick!

And it rocks for clean tone when set to parallel too...
skindred
QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Jan 16 2008, 10:58 AM)
No man... X2N all the way for the win!

Just wondering, do you speak that way in real life too?
valkyrie1232
Actually yes he does!
tongue.gif
crazychris
ProTrack from Dimarzio
smile.gif its a sweet blade style humbucker
house in as a single coil

PHAT tone and 4 way conductor
u can make magic out of it
had_hc
anybody tried emg 89? the split coil type of pickup thingy... is it any good? the split coil one?
crazychris
yes its gud
and its ALNICO !!!!

im addicted to it
had_hc
how much ek da emg 89? i kinda hav an idea to fit my les paul with 89 in the neck and 81 in the bridge.. hehe. i want a heavy sound on the distortion but great clean sound.. a versatile tone/sound r basically.. ok ka?
sean392
EMGs never come with good clean sounds other than the SA whistling.gif
Passives ftw XD
Everdying
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jan 22 2008, 12:58 PM)
EMGs never come with good clean sounds other than the SA whistling.gif
Passives ftw XD

another misinformed poor soul tongue.gif
EMGs have a diffrent clean sound.
they can get very crystal clean if need be.
sean392
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 22 2008, 01:57 PM)
another misinformed biased poor soul tongue.gif

EMGs have a diffrent clean sound.
they can get very crystal clean if need be.

Fixed for greater truth.
=p
quarantined
Just got myself a dimarzio super distortion for my lp. Sounds sweet!
skindred
QUOTE(quarantined @ Jan 23 2008, 02:59 PM)
Just got myself a dimarzio super distortion for my lp. Sounds sweet!

Hey cool man! I just installed a Super Distortion into a mahogany body guitar of mine too! smile.gif

How does it sound? Bright?

My super distortion didn't turn out as I expected.. Expected it to be more bass/mid .. Like the Tonezone on another Basswood Ibanez of mine.

But it turned out "brighter" that my Ibanez with basswood body with the Tonezone hmm.gif

The SuperDistortion EQ is quite the same with the Tonezone , just that the output is higher.. Weird.

I expecteded it to sound warmer, since it's on a Mahogany bodied guitar..

Anybody can correct me?
quarantined
I haven't tried a Tone Zone so I can't compared them, but inside the LP the Super Dist can make some smooth, creamy kinda leads and crunchy power chords, instant 80s rock vibe. It is indeed brighter(more mids I supposed) but not trebly, i think it complements well with a darker sounding mahogany bodied guitar. That's what gapnap recommends me anyway, thanks to him. smile.gif
Rossie
Yup... The EMG81/85 can have some great cleans... It all depends on your settings and playing...
skindred
QUOTE(quarantined @ Jan 23 2008, 06:34 PM)
I haven't tried a Tone Zone so I can't compared them, but inside the LP the Super Dist can make some smooth, creamy kinda leads and crunchy power chords, instant 80s rock vibe. It is indeed brighter(more mids I supposed) but not trebly, i think it complements well with a darker sounding mahogany bodied guitar. That's what gapnap recommends me anyway, thanks to him. smile.gif

I see I see.. So the Dimarzio Super Distortion indeed has the brighter "80s rock vibe" sound.. Damn, wasn't what I was looking for actually. LOL!

I was confused myself you see, because I actually expected the Super Distortion in the mahogany body to be slightly more warmer, maybe in a way "muddier" .. Like the Tonezone in my basswood Ibanez.

Hmm, yeah I guess it's still good though.. Apa nak buat, already install hahha.. Next time if too bored maybe i'll swap the pickups between the Tonezone <-> Super Distortion.. laugh.gif

I got the Dimarzio SD from gapnap too! Gapnap mannnnnnnn thumbup.gif
quarantined
Haha It's my first time using replacement pickups so I don't have much knowledge on this sound compared to that sound etc. But I know it sounds better than the stock no doubt. I especially like it's cream pickup cover, matches well with the pickups ring, very Ace Frehley-like. biggrin.gif

Anyway wanna ask what's the optimum pickup heights in your opinion? Anyone feels that it's better to have them low?
JamesWannabE
im thinking on putting EMG81 on my ibanez...
what do guys think???
opinions???
skindred
quarantined : Actually I also wondering whats the optimum pickup height .. Especially aftermarket ones. Its a trial and error thing I guess? But i'm sure there are those pros who agak-agak already know the best height .. Like this friend of mine he just adjusted like senang only few days ago, but he's experienced in it lah..

JamesWannabE : What Ibanez is it?
quarantined
Yeah, it's up to personal preferences I guess. Although leveling it up too close to the strings are bad because of the pickups magnetic string pull will cause a decrease in sustain and some other things I don't remember. But that's what I read from the online articles lahh..
SweetTooth
usually people say closer to the strings = MORE POWAAAHHHHH
xnobys
closer to the strings = muddy overdriven sound.
further away from the strings = clear but weak sound

the above theory does not apply to high output (e.g. X2N) or active pu.

whatever you do, make sure you balance out the sound produced by neck and bridge pu. you don't want the neck pu overwhelms the bridge pu vice versa when you do some serious pu switching during performance.

please correct me if i'm wrong.
sean392
QUOTE(xnobys @ Jan 25 2008, 11:33 AM)
closer to the strings = muddy overdriven sound.
further away from the strings = clear but weak sound

the above theory does not apply to high output (e.g. X2N) or active pu.

whatever you do, make sure you balance out the sound produced by neck and bridge pu. you don't want the neck pu overwhelms the bridge pu vice versa when you do some serious pu switching during performance.

please correct me if i'm wrong.

Just adding that this two are output related.
I think thats pretty accurate there.
ayzriezal
Hi tytons.. u need to clear some of your messages as your box is full..we cant msg you pvtly
JamesWannabE
just put EMG81 set on my jaskson...
sounds like hell just broke lose... brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
but my kustom 16 amp didn't fit the pickups roar... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
what do u suggest???
new amp???
blacktrix
The Pickups are only as good as your guitar and your amplifier.
Since Jacksons are pretty decent, your tiny Kustom would have to be upgraded.
I would suggest a Vox AD15VT-XL...... Great Metal sounds for a very decent price.
SweetTooth
if this is not your first amp, i'd suggest saving up for a bigger amp. something along the lines of a cube30 or ad30vtxl
crazychris
BIG AMP?!

as in stack? dun worry bro
try a JVM and ul scream!!!!
had_hc
hoho! sent my epi les paul to change my stock pickup to dimarzio tone zone(B) and air norton(N) combo at Tone Zone Studio today! also asked them to do split coil like Ibanes JS signature guitar style!

cant wait for saturday to pick it up!! hope it gonna sound awesome!
skindred
had_hc : Do tell us how does the Tonezone (B) sounds on ur les paul! smile.gif
sean392
Where can I find a Tom Anderson H3 other than ebay?
Rossie
QUOTE(JamesWannabE @ Jan 24 2008, 07:03 PM)
im thinking on putting EMG81 on my ibanez...
what do guys think???
opinions???

Don't know whether it's too late...
But you might want to try an 85 in the bridge...
Many prefer it that way,mee too in fact...
It's not as harsh sounding as an 81, and it's much more versatile...
isildur88
how much does a cheap Humbuckers cost? less than rm100 can get ar?
blacktrix
Cheap humbuckers are useless....
Just save up around RM300 to get yourself a single Seymour Duncan.

Added on April 1, 2008, 9:25 amPlease check the important message above. This thread will be closed soon.
quarantined
I was wondering if a Humbucker From hell would be a good choice to put in the neck of a Les Paul type of guitar. Is it going to pair well with the Super Distortion? Basically I am looking for a versatile tone in the neck. I was looking at a PAF Pro at first but worried that it might be too bassy with a mahogany guitar.
Rossie
I love the Humbucker from Hell pickup... Especially in the neck position...
It has a unique single-coil-ish character to it...
Beautiful sounding pickup!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.