Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77
antonio
INTEL Pentiums, Pentium II, Pentium III, Pentium IV, Pentium D, Pentium M / Celeron, Celeron D users.

Since its been too long that no Intels owners have the chance to talk about overclocking results, tips and tricks, might as well i start one. If the both Mod see that this is an irrelevant thread and should be demolished, no hard feelings for me though.

All Intels fella unite here to let the whole LYP that Pentiums still rocks. I've left the AMD world and it seems that sooner or later i'll be back to play Intel.

All your problems, achievements in overclocking can be posted here adn make sure the template are as below:

Templates Are To Be Followed

Specs And Technical Data. (All Must Be Filled)

-Original CPU/Socket :
-Stepping :
-Date :
-FSB :
-Clock Speed :
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) :
-Chipset :
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings :
-------------------------------
Results.(Min. 3 Filled)

-Highest FSB :
-Highest RAM :
-Highest Clock Speed :
-Highest Vcore :
-Highest VDIMM :
----------------------------
Benchmarks/Stability Testing/ Proof Of Testing. (Min 3 types of testing)
-CPU-Z Validation :

-Prime95 / PrimeTest :
-Super PI/ Super PI MOD :
-Memtest :
-Sandra Memory Bandwidth :
-3DMarks 2005 :
-3DMarks 2003 :
-3DMarks 2001 :

Lets rock the Pentium world and lets show them AMD boyz what can the new 830 and 620 do...Hahahaha...Lets overclock..

user posted image user posted image user posted image

user posted image user posted image

Rankings Will Be Update Later On.
ceo684
Original CPU/Socket: Celeron 500 S370 PPGA
FSB: 70
Clock Speed: 70*7.5=525
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): 2V 3.3V i815
Chipset: i815
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: SDRAM/PC133/3-2-2-5

pornstar
Original CPU/Socket: P4 Northwood mPGA-478
FSB: 216mhz
Clock Speed: 2.8 @ 3.02
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): cpu:1.5v
Chipset: i865
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: Corsair VS (2x256) @ 2.5-3-3-6

hihi..i know its not much but its my msi board..cant do much with it.. sad.gif
kelvin_hata
haha...good topic here...
i am the one use from amd barton move to intel 64bit n move back to amd laugh.gif
here is my intel 64bit oc result biggrin.gif

all in stock
Original CPU/Socket: LGA775
FSB:220*15
Clock Speed:3300
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP):all stock
Chipset:915
Ram Type/Speed/Timings:stock
amd_scooterist
My P4 2.4A thumbup.gif

Stable Setup =

Original CPU/Socket: P4 Presscot mPGA-478
FSB: 225
Clock Speed: 2.4 @ 4.1GHz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): cpu:1.52v | ram:2.8v | agp:1.5v
Chipset: i865PE
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: KHX3200AK2 (2x256) @ 2-2-2-5

Screenies :: Press Here ::

Not Stable Setup =

Original CPU/Socket: P4 Presscot mPGA-478
FSB: 239
Clock Speed: 2.4 @ 4.3GHz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): cpu:1.52v | ram:3.0v | agp:1.5v
Chipset: i865PE
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: KHX3200AK2 (2x256) @ 2-3-3-8

Screenies :: Press Here ::

The 4.3GHz manage 2 stay for 10 minutes then restart sweat.gif !!~
SuperHero
Original CPU/Socket: P4 Northwood mPGA-478
FSB: 145mhz
Clock Speed: 2.0 Celeron @ 2900
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): cpu:1.584v
Chipset: i845GV (ASROCK P4i45GV, very less OC option )
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: Spectek 256mb 333

screenie
sonic_cd
Original CPU/Socket: 3.0E / Skt 478
FSB: 240.1
Clock Speed: 3.6
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): 1.525/2.7/Geil(blue)+Corsair /1.5v
Chipset:i865PE
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: DDR / DDR400 / 2.5-3-3-7

the speed
antonio
My Office PC

-Original CPU/Socket : IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.60GHz L1 : 12/8 KB - L2 : 512 KB
-Stepping/ Core: Northwood
-Date : -
-FSB : 200
-Clock Speed : 2600Mhz
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : 1.5v
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings : KVR Hynix D43 512x2 = 3-4-4-8 2.8v
-----------------------------
Motherboard
- Brand : MICRO-STAR INC.
- Model : MS-6728
- Chipset : 865PE
- AGP/PCIE : AGP
- Bios Version : -
Results.(Min. 3 Filled)

-Highest FSB : 250.58 * 13
-Highest RAM : (250.58) 1:1
-Highest Clock Speed : 3257.59 MHz
-Highest Vcore : 1.5v
-Highest VDIMM : 2.9v

-CPU-Z Validation : http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=28960
-Prime95 / PrimeTest : -
-Super PI/ Super PI MOD : -
-Memtest : -
-Sandra Memory Bandwidth : -
-3DMarks 2005 : -
-3DMarks 2003 : -
-3DMarks 2001 : -

My Office PC

-Original CPU/Socket : IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 CPU 2.60GHz L1 : 12/8 KB - L2 : 512 KB
-Stepping/ Core: Northwood
-Date : -
-Clock Speed : 2600Mhz
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : 1.5v
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings : KVR Hynix D43 512x2 = 3-4-4-8 2.8v
-----------------------------
Motherboard
- Brand : MICRO-STAR INC.
- Model : MS-6728
- Chipset : 865PE
- AGP/PCIE : AGP
- Bios Version : -
Results.(Min. 3 Filled)

-Highest FSB : 277* 13
-Highest RAM : (277) 1:1
-Highest Clock Speed : 3257.59 MHz
-Highest Vcore : 1.6v

-CPU-Z Validation : http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=29244
-Prime95 / PrimeTest : -
-Super PI/ Super PI MOD : -
-Memtest : -
-Sandra Memory Bandwidth : -
-3DMarks 2005 : -
-3DMarks 2003 : -
-3DMarks 2001 : -

Hungry_Wolf
-Original CPU/Socket : Celeron D 2.4GHz
-Stepping : 4
-Date: N/A
-FSB : 211
-Clock Speed : 3.8GHz
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : VCore: 1.41 VDimm: 1.65
-Chipset : Mobo: Intel 848 RAM:KVR BT-D43
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings : Stock

-Highest FSB : 211
-Highest RAM : 211
-Highest Clock Speed : 3.8GHz
-Highest Vcore : 1.425V
-Highest VDIMM : 2.7V

CPU-Z Validation : HERE
-Prime95 / PrimeTest :
-Memtest :
-3DMarks 2005 :
-3DMarks 2003 :
-3DMarks 2001 : 8659(ATI Radeon 9550: STOCK)
antonio
QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Aug 4 2005, 02:44 PM)
-Original CPU/Socket : Celeron D 2.4GHz
-Stepping : 4
-Clock Speed : 3.6GHz
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : Stock
-Chipset : KVR BT-D43
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings : Stock

-Highest Clock Speed : 3.8GHz
-Highest Vcore : 1.41V
-Highest VDIMM : Stock
(NOT STABLE, still in testing)

according to you in another thread, u've mentioned a problem of making ur system stabilized at high O/C...

to answer ur question about what timings and voltage i can only advice to up ur vdimm to 2.9v and timings let it loose first...then test to see how far it can go and watch out for 'THE WALL'

as far as hynix users go 2.5 3-3-7 is the tightest in terms of stability at high FSB...and above 2.9 is only heat production....

hiroko
eh...any body have guide on how to oc dual xeon processor on DELL Powerdge server? notworthy.gif from Bios dun have setting lah if can oc might b damm interesting rite? drool.gif
kelvin_hata
QUOTE(hiroko @ Aug 5 2005, 06:07 PM)
eh...any body have guide on how to oc dual xeon processor on DELL Powerdge server? notworthy.gif  from Bios dun have setting lah if can oc might b damm interesting rite?  drool.gif

forget abt brand pc sweat.gif
pornstar
yeah they usually lock the bios to avoid overclocking so that it doesnt void the warranty
tone
Still Testing:
Original CPU/Socket: P4 531 3Ghz EM64T. (Stepping EO)LGA775.
FSB: 267MHZ
Clock Speed: 3Ghz @4007 mhz/15x267mhz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP):1.51v/ 3.6volts/1.65v
Chipset/MOBO:Abit AS8-V (Vdroop,Vdimm Mod) I865PE
Ram Type/Speed/Timings:HyperX DDR400 256mbx2, 2-2-2-5,5:4 divider.

antonio
QUOTE(hiroko @ Aug 5 2005, 06:07 PM)
eh...any body have guide on how to oc dual xeon processor on DELL Powerdge server? notworthy.gif  from Bios dun have setting lah if can oc might b damm interesting rite?  drool.gif

OEM motherboards usually doesnt have overclocking options....this is bcoz there is no PC manufacturer which sells bundled PC wif overclocking functions..xcept alienware which i think is not so overclockable....the problem with server based mobo there are not many manufacturer that build a mobo for the sake of overclocking which their target i assume is 90% right and 10% wrong...
hiroko
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 6 2005, 10:28 AM)
OEM motherboards usually doesnt have overclocking options....this is bcoz there is no PC manufacturer which sells bundled PC wif overclocking functions..xcept alienware which i think is not so overclockable....the problem with server based mobo there are not many manufacturer that build a mobo for the sake of overclocking which their target i assume is 90% right and 10% wrong...

Ya its true. Tat y hand so itchy drool.gif want to test out the oc-ability of Xeon.So sad test all the ClockGen not found a suitable lah. Any other way of soft clock?
antonio
QUOTE(hiroko @ Aug 7 2005, 12:27 AM)
Ya its true. Tat y hand so itchy  drool.gif  want to test out the oc-ability of Xeon.So sad test all the ClockGen not found a suitable lah. Any other way of soft clock?

not off i ever heard of it b4..... shakehead.gif
kingmaker_20
Just want to in OC,so i want to buy proc 2.66 or above+mobo+ 512mb ram.
I preffer P4 than amd,can i get this 3 items for RM1k 2nd hand oso ok blush.gif ??
thx guys.
simpleguy
Hi guyz,im a noob in this section.Can my processor:Pentium 4 LGA 775 HT 2.8Ghz/800 mhz fsb/1MB L2 Cache and my motherboard:Gigabyte GA-8I915G Duo good for overclocking.Help me out here unsure.gif
rzonealley
QUOTE(simpleguy @ Aug 14 2005, 06:18 PM)
Hi guyz,im a noob in this section.Can my processor:Pentium 4 LGA 775 HT 2.8Ghz/800 mhz fsb/1MB L2 Cache and my motherboard:Gigabyte GA-8I915G Duo good for overclocking.Help me out here unsure.gif

yep u can easily clock it at 3.5G at 250fsb.
vcore around 1.5v
laytiong
-Original CPU/Socket :2.4A/S478
-Stepping :
-Date : May 05
-FSB :133
-Clock Speed : 2.4GHz
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) :1.4/2.5/NA/1.5
-Chipset :865PE
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings :DDR/333/2.5-8-4-4
Results.(Min. 3 Filled)

-Highest Clock Speed : 3797
-Highest Vcore : 1.425
-Highest VDIMM : 2.85
-CPU-Z Validation :

-Prime95 / PrimeTest :
-Memtest :
-3DMarks 2005 :
-3DMarks 2003 :
-3DMarks 2001 :
blackangel
my intel proc kena locked by Dell...=(....3.2 640 jz like that...no where else to go
shinjite
Change motherboard and you can overclock wink.gif

Currently mine I OCed from 2.4Ghz to 3.21Ghz 178Mhz FSB 1:1 stable with stock voltage between 1.49V-1.52V

Mine is the old school 2.4B processor C1 stepping
blackangel
change mobo?..exp ler..currently wanna spend on GC only.if wanna OC intel must need extreme cooling lor..saving money for water cooling also.
xcrue
which mobo is cheap n good for overclocking if i buy 3.0ghz E..?Intel?Asus?
laytiong
intel boards cannot oc

asus and DFI are good bets
allenultra
-Original CPU/Socket : P4 2.4c Northwood
-Stepping : 9, Revision : D1
-Date :
-FSB : 255
-Clock Speed : 3064mhz
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : default/2.9/default/default
-Chipset : i865pe
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings : BT-D43/DDR510/8-4-4-3
Results.(Min. 3 Filled)

-Highest FSB : 255fsb
-Highest RAM : DDR510/8-4-4-3
-Highest Clock Speed : 3064mhz
-Highest Vcore : default

2.4c + AI7

About the benchmark......very lazy to do it.
May update my stat when I oc more.
RiCHBoyZ
hi all, this one not world record rite?
pengster
omg !!! 7ghz?!! wow wow !! here's mine

-Original CPU/Socket : P4 2.4c Northwood
-Stepping : 7
-Date :
-FSB : 150
-Clock Speed : 2700mhz
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/AGP) : 1.525/2.6/1.55
-Chipset : i865pe
-Speed/Timings : DDR375/2.5-4-4-8
Results.(Min. 3 Filled)

-Highest FSB : 160fsb
-Highest RAM : DDR380/2-4-4-8
-Highest Clock Speed : 2900mhz
-Highest Vcore : default
-Highest VDIMM :

--------------------------------
3dmark01se : 11182
3dmark03 : 3533
davidjun
hi, also a newbie on overclocking. planned to overclock my P4 2.4C to run at 3GHz. questions are:
1) using only stock HSF and Icute PSU(450W i think), can go how high? any risk of overheating or under power?
2) using the Abit Is-7e mobo. tried to overclock it with 250Mhz FSB but it cannot boot and giving me the beep sound. FYI, i think i did lock the bus speed for AGP and PCI.

sorry, i know i should have search around first but i think most of the articles i see is using 3rd party HSF and some good PSU. planning to stick with my current HSF and PSU.

allenultra
davidjun, for ur case. Heat will be a big issue.

I'm using xp90 + delta focusflow and I get 47c temp.
With stock hsf.......around 60c? tongue.gif

and then what ram u using?
if u using a ram that cannot stand high fsb, use the divider.

But then if u want to overclock ur 2.4c, change the PSU and the hsf.

and pengster, 2.4c should run at 200fsb in default.
u sure u using a 2.4c?
allenultra
QUOTE(blackangel @ Aug 16 2005, 12:35 PM)
change mobo?..exp ler..currently wanna spend on GC only.if wanna OC intel must need extreme cooling lor..saving money for water cooling also.

I would say sell it off and get AMD64/sempron-x64.

Watercooling not necessary anymore unless for freaking high OC.
F33L3Lik3Hom3
QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 23 2005, 06:28 PM)

Well watercooling is necessary if you have a presscott and want to get a high stable overclock.
LittleLinnet
yo, want to ask all sifus here
overclocking intel just imcrease the FSB only, rite ??
i am a lil bit confused with intel....coz...although some say support DDR400, but the ram only running at 266 or 333 MHz only ??
Hungry_Wolf
QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Aug 23 2005, 11:02 PM)
yo, want to ask all sifus here
overclocking intel just imcrease the FSB only, rite ??
i am a lil bit confused with intel....coz...although some say support DDR400, but the ram only running at 266 or 333 MHz only ??

it mean that the computer can boot and run using ddr400 but the speed of the ram is just running at ddr266 or ddr333. depend on the processor fsb. so if u want to fully utilize ddr400 ram, at least 200fsb is needed. correct me if i'm wrong.
LittleLinnet
wat model of intel proc that run at DDR400 at stock ?
then if the ram speed is less than a DDR400, then y use DDR400 ?
just for bandwidth purpose ?
Hungry_Wolf
QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Aug 24 2005, 12:17 AM)
wat model of intel proc that run at DDR400 at stock ?
then if the ram speed is less than a DDR400, then y use DDR400 ?
just for bandwidth purpose ?

any proc that with 800mhz of fsb. using ddr 400 cos if u oc to 200 fsb, u still run at stock timing. if u oc ddr 266 or ddr 333 to ddr 400, u need to find a new timing.correct me if, i'm wrong....

btw, ddr 400 is cheaper.
allenultra
QUOTE(F33L3Lik3Hom3 @ Aug 23 2005, 10:32 PM)
Well watercooling is necessary if you have a presscott and want to get a high stable overclock.

I'm talking about AMD64/sempron-x64....

not the super hot baby presscott.
kingmaker_20
QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 23 2005, 06:28 PM)

Why you say that? sweat.gif AMD 64 better?
F33L3Lik3Hom3
QUOTE(kingmaker_20 @ Aug 24 2005, 12:49 PM)
Why you say that? sweat.gif  AMD 64 better?

First their power consumption is lower and then their memory bandwidth is better and you have a SLI platform.

kingmaker_20
QUOTE(F33L3Lik3Hom3 @ Aug 24 2005, 01:20 PM)
First their power consumption is lower and then their memory bandwidth is better and you have a SLI platform.

So if i want to get a new system better go fo AMD 64? sweat.gif
Ur sig show 2.4c@3.9,but i saw AMD 64 only can go 2Ghz++ oni sweat.gif

p/s:Im new in overclocking,hope you guys can answer me well. smile.gif
LittleLinnet
well, clock speed isn't everything
the architexture of AMD and P4 are diffrent
AMD can perform as well as intel but just at lower clock, not to mention multitasking for single core AMD.....
But if take AMD X2 to compare multitasking with intel......hehe......
kingmaker_20
QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Aug 25 2005, 04:19 AM)
well, clock speed isn't everything
the architexture of AMD and P4 are diffrent
AMD can perform as well as intel but just at lower clock, not to mention multitasking for single core AMD.....
But if take AMD X2 to compare multitasking with intel......hehe......

So its better for me to get AMD system? sweat.gif
LittleLinnet
totally depends on you
if u are into gaming, AMD recommended
kingmaker_20
QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Aug 25 2005, 05:56 PM)
totally depends on you
if u are into gaming, AMD recommended

I know AMD better than P4 for gaming.

Now i want to get a system for overclocking so,which 1 to choose?I preffer P4 but....64 bit..hum blush.gif
LittleLinnet
Overcloking a P4 is a lot easier then overcloking A64
There are a lot of factors that you must concern when overclocking A64
ram timings, memory divider, ram speed, LDT multiplier, volts(sure), something like this
while overcloking p4 just raise the FSB and the volts
matkoi
I'm not sure if this is the right section or not.But I just to ask if a Pentium 4 2GHz cooling fan can be use with a Pentium 4 3GHz HT?

The original P4 3GHz cooling fan is too noisy and I want to change it to my old P4 2GHz cooling fan which is virtually silence.
antonio
QUOTE(matkoi @ Aug 26 2005, 10:01 AM)
I'm not sure if this is the right section or not.But I just to ask if a Pentium 4 2GHz cooling fan can be use with a Pentium 4 3GHz HT?

The original P4 3GHz cooling fan is too noisy and I want to change it to my old P4 2GHz cooling fan which is virtually silence.

if the fan's output is the same with the 3Ghz why not?...the only this is ur 2.0 fan issit still working optimally?? whistling.gif
matkoi
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 26 2005, 11:30 AM)
if the fan's output is the same with the 3Ghz why not?...the only this is ur 2.0 fan issit still working optimally?? whistling.gif

how to know if the output of the fan?and what do you mean by working optimally?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.