Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
Flynni
anyone knows this mobo can do overcloaking

Paile
Hi to all sifus, just wondering, when u guys oc, do you prefer to use 1 stick of ram only? or 2 sticks of rams running in Dual channel? will there be any performance gain or loss in doing either?

The reason i'm asking is that i might be getting myself a pair of dt-d43 .

Thank you very much in advance
tone
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Apr 11 2006, 09:12 AM)
@ tone, you have qiute high o/c with your mobo.What mobo are you using?And for sure you have a pair of good RAM also.If not also your RAM cannot reach 387Mhz.Your Super PI 1M need about 28seconds+ to complete,nice result.

Mobo: Abit IL8
Ram: 2 x 512mb Micron DDR667
Psu: Enermax Liberty 500W biggrin.gif

But i still think the proc can go higher. 4.65ghz at 1.35v only..when load, voltage drop to 1.325v tongue.gif

QUOTE(incinerate @ Apr 11 2006, 11:56 AM)
Great OC there tone, are u running on a pair of DDR2 800 rams?

as above bro. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Apr 11 2006, 12:33 PM)
mobo limit too... cry.gif

mobo psu limits bro.. cry.gif
powering 2 x 3.8ghz is no easy job.. biggrin.gif
incinerate
Suprisingly your 1M super-pi result is not so good, my P4 3.78 HT does it at 35s might be your DRAM? but i doubt it, needs a little more tweaking i guess thumbup.gif
nelza_ax
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Apr 11 2006, 08:28 PM)
I think that is because of the clock speed issue.Your's is at 4.2Ghz while anthonio's max at 3.9Ghz.So the difference of 300Mhz might be causing the difference in the super PI time.

not like dat aa..i'm running at 3.8 @ 36S

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Apr 11 2006, 09:07 PM)
Hehehe...wanna compare???

ok drop down your settings....me first ok...

FSB = 195
Memory = 195 <----supposed to be784 already maaa...but no onli 195

my ram has been relaxed to get those high overclock....h,mmmmm...mebbe my board is holding me back....

not like dat aaa..juz asking..coz im running at 3.8Ghz but 36s..
raymond5105
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 11 2006, 10:35 PM)
anyone knows this mobo can do overcloaking

Your attach picture is so big at 1.4 MB.Please make it in smaller size.If using dail up sure cannot load this picture.And i think that SIS chipset is not good for major o/c.Minor o/c i think should be no problem.Anyway you can try to o/c and post your results here.Let's share with us.
antonio
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Apr 12 2006, 07:02 PM)
not like dat aa..i'm running at 3.8 @ 36S

not like dat aaa..juz asking..coz im running at 3.8Ghz but 36s..

no...i didnt mean in a obsurd manner lar..hehehhe icon_rolleyes.gif

IL8.....nicee..... shocking.gif
Flynni
actually..i still dont know how to overcloak yet ...hehe
still finding guides n clue smile.gif
nelza_ax
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 13 2006, 01:22 PM)

overclock..not overcloak tongue.gif
incinerate
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 13 2006, 01:22 PM)

its easy, just hit delete when u start your pc, then go to your processor setting page "jumperless configuration" and push your fsb little by little, say 10fsb at a time from the default fsb. Try boot into windows, and run some benchmark test say, Super PI and SP2004 if everything runs smoothly for 1 hour, then get back in the bios and repeat the steps, if things get unstable, try to add a little voltage to your cpu, say 0.250 and 0.1v for DRAM. biggrin.gif
Flynni
ya...i try look into the bios b4 but cannot push my fsb...hmmm
i'll try later again to c into my bios @@"
Too Bz lately
nelza_ax
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 14 2006, 09:49 PM)
ya...i try look into the bios b4 but cannot push my fsb...hmmm
i'll try later again to c into my bios @@"
Too Bz lately

maybe ur mobo dun hav oc feature blush.gif
Flynni
maybe...ahha...working today...dont have time to check yet
i think if i'm not mistaken got a bios check in there...@@"
wait till home to confirm
raymond5105
You have to set the fsb manual instead of letting it running on auto.Then only you can o/c the mobo.I believe that you mobo can be o/c because only the Intel mobo cannot be o/c,other brands one can be o/c.
nelza_ax
anybody know where can i repair my ram slot? cry.gif
Nostalgia
I've just bought a new pair of this RAM and I've only managed 230FSB @ 2.65V
My timings are 2.5-4-4-7

Should I increase my Proc voltage?It's currently set to "Auto"

Any advice?
Im using P4 2.8C and Asus P4P800 mobo
incinerate
Nostalgia, you should continue pushing the fsb, once its unstable, try pushing the vdimm a little higher, say 2.75 if it doesn't help push your cpu voltage by 0.25, if both fails try setting your ram timing lower smile.gif ocing involves alot of trial and error good luck thumbup.gif
Flynni
btw ... if i going to overclock my proc....do i need cooler ?
lol..i just good 400 watts power supply ....><"
newbieockids
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 16 2006, 11:35 AM)
btw ... if i going to overclock my proc....do i need cooler ?
lol..i just good 400 watts power supply ....><"

what kind of procs that u use?..
Flynni
pentium 2.0 ahahah
nelza_ax
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 16 2006, 01:03 PM)
pentium 2.0 ahahah

pentium 4 2.0 or pentiumII? sweat.gif whistling.gif
newbieockids
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 16 2006, 01:03 PM)
pentium 2.0 ahahah

although northwood not too hot but if u wanna push the procs to its limit u need extra VCore.. therefore u might need help frm decent heatsink..
Beach_Boy
just wondering
why cant i lock my PCI-AGP bus after i hit > 200mhz FSB :/
i have one 2.4B and another 2.4C
last time when im on 2.4B i can easily hit 3.0 stable with just one notch of voltage raised

but for the 2.4C, my comp wont even boot into bios eventhough i raise the FSB by just 5MHz
previously the PCI-AGP clock speed is fixed to 33/66 when my FSB is around 166mhz (for the 2.4B) but then after i changed to 2.4C, FSB changed to 200mhz and my PCI-AGP clock is now set to auto

probably my mother board feature?
any recommendation for motherboards with PCI-AGP clock lock?
Nostalgia
QUOTE(incinerate @ Apr 16 2006, 04:03 AM)
Nostalgia, you should continue pushing the fsb, once its unstable, try pushing the vdimm a little higher, say 2.75 if it doesn't help push your cpu voltage by 0.25, if both fails try setting your ram timing lower smile.gif ocing involves alot of trial and error good luck thumbup.gif

Now Im on 235FSB @ 2.75v but I havent increase my cpu voltage. Will try again later!
newbieockids
QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 16 2006, 07:14 PM)
just wondering
why cant i lock my PCI-AGP bus after i hit > 200mhz FSB :/
i have one 2.4B and another 2.4C
last time when im on 2.4B i can easily hit 3.0 stable with just one notch of voltage raised

but for the 2.4C, my comp wont even boot into bios eventhough i raise the FSB by just 5MHz
previously the PCI-AGP clock speed is fixed to 33/66 when my FSB is around 166mhz (for the 2.4B) but then after i changed to 2.4C, FSB changed to 200mhz and my PCI-AGP clock is now set to auto

probably my mother board feature?
any recommendation for motherboards with PCI-AGP clock lock?

its not ur procs its the mobo..
alot of best 478 mobo out there and most of them the pci-agp freq can be locked..
even my lousy asus p4s333-m can lock agp/pci-e freq..
guess u need to check their manual b4 buying.. some brand with i865pe chipset is good enough for 478 platform..
Beach_Boy
guessed so laugh.gif
(anyways my mobo = lousy MSI tongue.gif, not even 865 chipset tongue.gif)
thinking of changing biggrin.gif
newbieockids
QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 16 2006, 07:48 PM)
guessed so laugh.gif
(anyways my mobo = lousy MSI tongue.gif, not even 865 chipset tongue.gif)
thinking of changing biggrin.gif

lol.. but its very hard to find them right now..
i've been searching almost 2weeks edi.. happy.gif
Flynni
lol..pentium 4 2.0..by the way...i open the cpu-z n i found out my voltage now is 1.72v .. izzit danger or sum thing wrong with my power supply ?
newbieockids
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 17 2006, 10:11 AM)
lol..pentium 4 2.0..by the way...i open the cpu-z n i found out my voltage now is 1.72v .. izzit danger or sum thing wrong with my power supply ?

download the latest version cpuz(1.33?) and see how it goes...
1.7 is way too high..
Flynni
ya..i had the newest version...n it shows 1.71 - 1.728 Volts.
So..izzit my power supply prob ?
nizamextreme
QUOTE(Flynni @ Apr 17 2006, 10:11 AM)

1.72??...your processor should burn already if 1.7..maybe problem with ur sensor or something like that..u try check your voltage in bios.
mp-5
I think if anybody wanna oc the old P4 478 better get Asus P4P800 / P4C800/ P4C800-e. Then droop mod + VDimm mod. Its better than IC7 Max 3. Stable at higher clock and load.
Flynni
ya..is the same voltage in my bios
Beach_Boy
i heard P4P800X is the crippled version of P4P800E/SE series
what P4P800X is lacking anyways? O_o
siauann
QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 19 2006, 12:59 PM)
i heard P4P800X is the crippled version of P4P800E/SE series
what P4P800X is lacking anyways? O_o

i jz got ths board today...hvtn try it out..wanna replace my intel mobo..will share some great results here...FYI the only good 865pe mobo u can get nw is ths asus p4p800-x...lacking of wat im not sure..but the vdimm is low.. wink.gif
Beach_Boy
i heard you can either mod it or flash it with new bios that supports higher vdimm and(more stable) vcore
siauann
QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 19 2006, 05:45 PM)
i heard you can either mod it or flash it with new bios that supports higher vdimm and(more stable) vcore

u mean flash the p4p800-x to other bios? sure can o not? i jz get ths mobo..hvnt use it yet.. tongue.gif hand itchy... tongue.gif
Beach_Boy
oh well..
i wouldnt wanna screw the new motherboard up tongue.gif
im getting one soon as well

anyways: one thing
OT: i heard that the ICH 5 or some chip in the 865 mobos are very prone to static charges
some even damaged their with just plugging in their thumbdrive into the front USB ports due to the poor grounding wirings
mp-5
Anyone interested in making their old audigy 2 to audigy 4. Here links
I this topic old enough but if anybody wanna try. I also have not try it. Kene format lak.

http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=75905
http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=78049
http://board.gulli.com/thread/467530-audig...udigy-4-modden/
mp-5
QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 19 2006, 04:33 PM)
i jz got ths board today...hvtn try it out..wanna replace my intel mobo..will share some great results here...FYI the only good 865pe mobo u can get nw is ths asus p4p800-x...lacking of wat im not sure..but the vdimm is low.. wink.gif

If bios update tak membantu try la Vdim + vdroop. Vdimm ist easy to do. But vdroop ist hard to do because the component very ciputt. http://www.malvescorner.net/ Better go to electrician far more safe. But NO MORE guarranty for you new mobo any more.
I thinks with your 2.4C + some ddr550 g.skill can easily do 3.++Ghz.
My old P4C800-e is a piece of shit for overclocking without vdroop. It mandatory.
siauann
QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 19 2006, 07:22 PM)
oh well..
i wouldnt wanna screw the new motherboard up tongue.gif
im getting one soon as well

anyways: one thing
OT: i heard that the ICH 5 or some chip in the 865 mobos are very prone to static charges
some even damaged their with just plugging in their thumbdrive into the front USB ports due to the poor grounding wirings

im not so sure also...but wat i knw is tat i ever damage my ram slot on the intel mobo im using..i was installing the hyper48..after tat i fix evrythg i cant boot up...tats y my ram nw run single channel... doh.gif
but nw i jz got the p4p800-x...wil try it out soon.. thumbup.gif
htpkevin
hi everyone. I am kinda noob here, need ur guys's help. I wonder, in bios, i set my vcore to 1.575V, but when i enter window and detect it with CPU-Z, it is only 1.520V something. When i run SP 2004, it drops to 1.488V. Izzit PSU problem?? I am using Icute 450W...
Shah81
QUOTE(htpkevin @ Apr 20 2006, 06:29 PM)
hi everyone. I am kinda noob here, need ur guys's help. I wonder, in bios, i set my vcore to 1.575V, but when i enter window and detect it with CPU-Z, it is only 1.520V something. When i run SP 2004, it drops to 1.488V. Izzit PSU problem?? I am using Icute 450W...

maybe you can tell us your system spec....that will help a lot.

the answer to your problem is, yes it can be your psu. the psu is not good enough to feed all the components in your system thus the voltage drops. you can try checking all your voltage line and tell us the readings.

but there is a chance that your mobo would be at fault too....(it's called vdroop) it is a known problem that certain mobo have a very bad vdroop problems (eg: Asus p4p800). there's also some solution over this vdroop problems that will require you to hard mod your board, thus voiding warranty.

what you can do?? try to change to a better psu (Enermax, Antec, Fortron). if the problem still there you know who to blame smile.gif
htpkevin
Original CPU/Socket: P4 2.66 Northwood mPGA-478
FSB: 160mhz
Clock Speed: 2.66@3.2
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): cpu:1.5v
Chipset: 865PE
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: 2.5-4-4-8

well i am using MSI 865PE Neo2-S. My fren ask me to add some volt to vcore coz i reach 'the wall' already. But when i add volt, i face the problem as i had mention above. my vdimm now is 2.9V, and can anyone teach me something about the ram timing? The current timings is my fren set for me one...
siauann
i jz use ths p4p800-x n try oc abit...my system is as my sig...the pro is whn i run 1:1 ratio the max fsb i can get is 230mhz.......thn down to 5:4 i can run 250mhz nw...doin 3.0ghz.....i jz pass pi test n hvnt prime stable test yet...izit my ram is limiting my oc? im using dt-d43 @ 2.685 vdimm.....tats the max p4p800-x provide.. sad.gif
Beach_Boy
wouldnt 2.685 be abit low?
probably u need to do the vdimm mod and jack the voltage upto 2.8/9? tongue.gif
siauann
QUOTE(Beach_Boy® @ Apr 20 2006, 09:34 PM)
wouldnt 2.685 be abit low?
probably u need to do the vdimm mod and jack the voltage upto 2.8/9? tongue.gif

of cz its low..tats y i cant do anythg much....but i stil hvt jack up max oc...nw running oc 3.0 stable pi test..not yet prime....
mp-5
QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 20 2006, 11:10 PM)
of cz its low..tats y i cant do anythg much....but i stil hvt jack up max oc...nw running oc 3.0 stable pi test..not yet prime....

Try borrow some ddr 550 g.skill from any of your friends to see how far your proc can go. If there any. About 2.6v is enough for tccd. I doubt the mobo will stable at higher clock with prime if you play with the vcore due to fluctuation.
mp-5

I think its your mobo fault. The vcore fluctuate. This problem kinda shit for oc. My old asus P4c800-e also have the same problem there long time ago. Nearly same value there 1.488v if i still remember. But unfortunately i think there no vdroop mod for your msi mobo. Try google it. sad.gif Buy the new amd64 or P5 if you are rich lol biggrin.gif
kulus

for ur information..cpu-z always show low voltage compare with what u set in bios thumbup.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.