Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
xeratos_85
QUOTE(blackxwhite @ Feb 24 2006, 10:29 PM)
try updating the bios...got the same temp reading problem at first before updating my bios....using neo2-ps smile.gif

ooh..so bios problem la?update bios i think dun want la becasue no problem with this bios except temp only.i will try use other software to test cpu temp.thx btw.
blackxwhite
huhuh...welcomed...
btw...trust only thr bios tempS!~
dun wanna see u burn your cpu
zt_lee
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Feb 23 2006, 07:13 PM)
wahh..nice proc + nice stepping... drool.gif
xkan 4.0 je kot tongue.gif

i wish i can get more, but the mobo got the common problem, asus board got vdroop problem, i cant get higher bcos i cant push the vcore alot. Unless i do the vdroop mod to get high vcore.

Maybe i will find abit ic 7 max... biggrin.gif
nelza_ax
QUOTE(zt_lee @ Feb 24 2006, 11:19 PM)
i wish i can get more, but the mobo got the common problem, asus board got vdroop problem, i cant get higher bcos i cant push the vcore  alot. Unless i do the vdroop mod to get high vcore.

Maybe i will find abit ic 7 max... biggrin.gif

same wif mine oso..ony using default vcore..hehehe
wahaha..legendary board.. very hard to find now lorhh.. drool.gif
laichong
hi hi,

lets share mine tongue.gif

Spec:

P4 2.4C
Abit IS7-E
KVR DT-D43 2 x 512
Zalman AlCu-7000

still can go further... hvnt try yet... hehehe
laichong
btw, did anybody know how to Enable the Performance Mode for the Ram on IS7-E? i couldnt fine the setting in BIOS...
zt_lee
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Feb 24 2006, 11:46 PM)
same wif mine oso..ony using default vcore..hehehe
wahaha..legendary board.. very hard to find now lorhh.. drool.gif

u didnt push the vcore higher?
nelza_ax
QUOTE(zt_lee @ Feb 25 2006, 11:59 AM)
u didnt push the vcore higher?

nope..juz using the default vcore ony..dis oso pvery panas like HELL!! sweat.gif
hehehe..wait lar..untill me using watercooling whistling.gif
zt_lee
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Feb 25 2006, 05:11 PM)
nope..juz using the default vcore ony..dis oso pvery panas like HELL!!  sweat.gif
hehehe..wait lar..untill me using watercooling  whistling.gif

try to push it for testing purpose...wont burn if running a while onli biggrin.gif
nelza_ax
QUOTE(zt_lee @ Feb 25 2006, 10:17 PM)
try to push it for testing purpose...wont burn if running a while onli biggrin.gif

dun want lar.. i've try..3.6 oso can wif 1.5 sweat.gif ... but...wahahaha..dun wan to try anymore..so geram..
PCcrazy
QUOTE(laichong @ Feb 25 2006, 08:34 AM)
btw, did anybody know how to Enable the Performance Mode for the Ram on IS7-E? i couldnt fine the setting in BIOS...

There is actually, but it's more like a tweak to the numbers. I can't remember the option function but you have to set it at 667 in order to enabled PAT. Post your BIOS screenies here and I'll try to point it out.
xeratos_85
my msi mobo if oc like 2.4hhz --> 2.8ghz or above cannot enable turbo speed .later kena clear CMOS again sweat.gif
laichong
QUOTE(PCcrazy @ Feb 27 2006, 12:50 AM)
There is actually, but it's more like a tweak to the numbers. I can't remember the option function but you have to set it at 667 in order to enabled PAT. Post your BIOS screenies here and I'll try to point it out.

just found a picture in ikanayam's P4 overclocking guide....
ikanayam's page
so i borrowed and put it here.. its same as mine...

Syfq
newbie here.

just test My Intel PC ,
OC 2.26, 2.7

emm
everest Temperature

nelza_ax
i have 1 big prob here sad.gif

see my cpu usage?? cannot go 100% lar..
prime oso cannot??
it happen when i'm using 1gig ram (512+512)

newbieockids
QUOTE(PCcrazy @ Feb 27 2006, 12:50 AM)

QUOTE(laichong @ Mar 1 2006, 01:19 PM)
just found a picture in ikanayam's P4 overclocking guide....
page[/b][/url]
so i borrowed and put it here.. its same as mine...

i think this is what PCcrazy mean.. --> here
take a moment read them and see the comparism table..
nelza_ax

3.7 on default vcore...boot but not stable...

3.6 on default vcore..still priming.. tongue.gif
xeratos_85
here my new pentium D 920.

can enter winxp and stable at gaming..but not priming yet. laugh.gif
salvator
Wow..interesting.. overclocking there.. cant wait to see your prime stability.
xeratos_85
QUOTE(salvator @ Mar 2 2006, 02:44 PM)
Wow..interesting.. overclocking there.. cant wait to see your prime stability.

later buy water cooling set then prime la.scared later proc burn.
blackxwhite
aaiyo..soo much money u have maa:P
Syfq
hey.. emmm. i'm noob ..
here my RAM oc..
how about.!??
xeratos_85
QUOTE(blackxwhite @ Mar 2 2006, 04:20 PM)
aaiyo..soo much money u have maa:P

not much la.but 5 times change once ok la.i will try oc more tomorrow , see how much can go with stock vcore.
xeratos_85
UPDATE :
my latest pentium D 920 OC :

i try up more clock but cannot enter winxp . still stable with gaming .
siauann
QUOTE(laichong @ Feb 25 2006, 08:34 AM)

can i enable performance mode for the ram on my intel mobo?? blush.gif
aaron_lwm
Original CPU/Socket: P4 Northwood mPGA-478
FSB: 190
Clock Speed: 2.8 - 3.9Ghz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): cpu:1.5v
Chipset: i865pe
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: Kingston VR (3-3-3-8)

nelza_ax
QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Mar 4 2006, 02:18 PM)
Original CPU/Socket: P4 Northwood mPGA-478
FSB: 190
Clock Speed: 2.8 - 3.9Ghz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): cpu:1.5v
Chipset: i865pe
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: Kingston VR (3-3-3-8)

warhh.. thumbup.gif
screenie?
tone
QUOTE(xeratos_85 @ Mar 3 2006, 02:18 AM)
UPDATE :
my latest pentium D 920 OC :

i try up more clock but cannot enter winxp . still stable with gaming .

bro..wat mobo u using?
jones007
intel mobo can over clock? i heard some say canot.. hehe
raymond5105
QUOTE(siauann @ Mar 4 2006, 01:55 PM)
can i enable performance mode for the ram on my intel mobo??  blush.gif

Your Intel 865 PERL does not have the performance mode on its' chipset.So no performance mode can be enable on your mobo.
xeratos_85
QUOTE(jones007 @ Mar 5 2006, 06:39 PM)
intel mobo can over clock? i heard some say canot.. hehe

the old model intel mobo sure cannot overclock . but for the latest model intel said can overclock .

@siauann ,

intel 865 PERL cannot setting performance mode . that mobo also cannot overclock .
Syfq
my Bios .. wierd..
i using PT800 cipset with Field Value ASRock P4VT8+
BIOS .. version 1.50 .. can anyone.. tell me.. some .. future at BIOS 1.60..
my 1.50 can't set bus speed to 800MHz and.. can't set for 1:1 too.
for .. volt.. just can .. choice .. High and normal.
siauann
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 5 2006, 07:24 PM)
Your Intel 865 PERL does not have the performance mode on its' chipset.So no performance mode can be enable on your mobo.

QUOTE(xeratos_85 @ Mar 6 2006, 01:59 AM)
the old model intel mobo sure cannot overclock . but for the latest model intel said can overclock .

@siauann ,

intel 865 PERL cannot setting performance mode . that mobo  also cannot overclock .

oh..icic//thx for the info...anyway wat does performance of ram do? faster?
wic mobo can enable it?
raymond5105
QUOTE(siauann @ Mar 6 2006, 06:12 PM)
oh..icic//thx for the info...anyway wat does performance of ram do? faster?
wic mobo can enable it?

Performance RAM will boost in overclocking because they have better chipset and better timing compare to the value RAM. biggrin.gif If talk about faster,more RAM on your system definately faster.I think that you are talking about the speed of the RAM.Well RAMs can be overclocked to acheive more bandwidth and in faster speed.
About the PAT,Intel 865PERL cannot enable but the Intel 875PBZ or the other mobo with the 875P chipst will have the PAT function.Some other mobos like the AI7 which is using the 865chipset can also enable the PAT function via some setting on the board.But nowadays those 875P and 865P chipset mobos are very hard to get.I saw someone selling these boards in garage sales.Maybe you can try your luck there to get them.
raymond5105
QUOTE(Navigator® @ Mar 6 2006, 03:38 PM)
my Bios .. wierd..
i using PT800 cipset with Field Value ASRock P4VT8+
BIOS .. version 1.50 .. can anyone.. tell me.. some .. future at BIOS 1.60..
my 1.50 can't set bus speed to 800MHz and.. can't set for 1:1 too.
for .. volt.. just can .. choice .. High and normal.

Your processor P4 2.26Ghz is using the 133fsb by default.So the system bus speed is 4* 133fsb and you will get 533 bus speed.You have to increase the fsb to 200Mhz then you can get the 800Mhz bus speed by using the 1:1 division.You can't set 1:1 then you may try other division like 5:4.What is your setting for the division in bios?Because saw your CPU-Z report on the CPU:DRAM=FSB+66 and the RAM frequency is 208Mhz.A bit strange.
Syfq
that .. y ler.
I can't see fungsion for.. set 1:1
i dun see too Division setting
nelza_ax
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 6 2006, 07:05 PM)
Your processor P4 2.26Ghz is using the 133fsb by default.So the system bus speed is 4* 133fsb and you will get 533 bus speed.You have to increase the fsb to 200Mhz then you can get the 800Mhz bus speed by using the 1:1 division.You can't set 1:1 then you may try other division like 5:4.What is your setting for the division in bios?Because saw your CPU-Z report on the CPU:DRAM=FSB+66 and the RAM frequency is 208Mhz.A bit strange.

i think he did'nt mean for dat..
it is sum kind like the psb400,psb533,psb800 ..change dat will give many type of ratio
psb800 is the best.. 1:1 sync ram with proc..

**erm..correct me if i'm wrong. biggrin.gif
raymond5105
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Mar 6 2006, 07:33 PM)
i think he did'nt mean for dat..
it is sum kind like the psb400,psb533,psb800 ..change dat will give many type of ratio
psb800 is the best.. 1:1 sync ram with proc..

**erm..correct me if i'm wrong. biggrin.gif

In his case,i don't think that he is asking about this PSB settings.If do,he can either put auto or psb 533.Changing that will give type many type of ratio?I think that have to depends on mobo bios.PSB 800 is suitable to use on processor which is running on 800 FSB.Not necessary all the time the ratio must be run on 1:1 but sometimes DRAM can run slower.
nelza_ax
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 6 2006, 10:58 PM)
In his case,i don't think that he is asking about this PSB settings.If do,he can either put auto or psb 533.Changing that will give type many type of ratio?I think that have to depends on mobo bios.PSB 800 is suitable to use on processor which is running on 800 FSB.Not necessary all the time the ratio must be run on 1:1 but sometimes DRAM can run slower.

hehe..tq2 for dat.. thumbup.gif
but in my case.. my proc is 533..if i'm using the psb533..my proc wiff stuck at 3.4 ony...(becoz of my ram)
but when i'm using psb800..can reach 4.0Ghz.. thumbup.gif
raymond5105
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Mar 6 2006, 11:16 PM)
hehe..tq2 for dat.. thumbup.gif
but in my case.. my proc is 533..if i'm using the psb533..my proc wiff stuck at 3.4 ony...(becoz of my ram)
but when i'm using psb800..can reach 4.0Ghz.. thumbup.gif

Wao,by setting the PSB 800 you can reach 4Ghz ah. wub.gif Great o/c man.What is your division using?1:1?If 1:1 then the RAM is running on 235Mhz and DDR470 rite?Nice result you have. thumbup.gif
nelza_ax
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 7 2006, 12:12 AM)
Wao,by setting the PSB 800 you can reach 4Ghz ah. wub.gif Great o/c man.What is your division using?1:1?If 1:1 then the RAM is running on 235Mhz and DDR470 rite?Nice result you have. thumbup.gif

yeah.. 4Ghz on 1.425V sweat.gif
erm..nope.. my calculation 4000/18=222.2
using the 1:1 so my ram running on 222.2..neva try higher..coz my presscot very2 hot..try to break my frenz record 4.3 thumbup.gif
raymond5105
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Mar 7 2006, 01:45 PM)
yeah.. 4Ghz on 1.425V sweat.gif
erm..nope.. my calculation 4000/18=222.2
using the 1:1 so my ram running on 222.2..neva try higher..coz my presscot very2 hot..try to break my frenz record 4.3 thumbup.gif

I guess your RAM can go higher up to 250Mhz because saw you using the DT-D43 chipset RAM.I wander i have that RAM inside my CPU.Your cpu really powerful la.If you dare to o/c more until 4.5Ghz using better cooling that shall be great man.4500/18=250Mhz drool.gif
nelza_ax
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 7 2006, 03:07 PM)
I guess your RAM can go higher up to 250Mhz because saw you using the DT-D43 chipset RAM.I wander i have that RAM inside my CPU.Your cpu really powerful la.If you dare to o/c more until 4.5Ghz using better cooling that shall be great man.4500/18=250Mhz drool.gif

haha..4.5Ghz?wahaha..dun think so...my ram limit at 236 ony.. i've try oledi..using psb 533 and divider 4:5..stuck at 3.4Ghz ony..my ram only can running at 236Mhz on 2.8v
poor me.. sad.gif

p/s:::**4.0Ghz on stock hsf tongue.gif
raymond5105
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Mar 7 2006, 10:17 PM)
haha..4.5Ghz?wahaha..dun think so...my ram limit at 236 ony.. i've try oledi..using psb 533 and divider 4:5..stuck at 3.4Ghz ony..my ram only can running at 236Mhz on 2.8v
poor me.. sad.gif

p/s:::**4.0Ghz on stock hsf tongue.gif

Just asking by setting lower value of the psb like 533 or 400 can boost higher o/c?Because i am not sure about using lower psb values.Any hints for this?
nizamextreme
smile.gif have u all read the review and benchmark of the new intel conroe core duo 2.66ghz...finally beat amd fx-60 2.8ghz in all things such as gaming..speed and low temperature...waa..so glad finally intel get back on track biggrin.gif
nelza_ax
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 8 2006, 08:49 AM)
Just asking by setting lower value of the psb like 533 or 400 can boost higher o/c?Because i am not sure about using lower psb values.Any hints for this?

maybe other "OTAI" can help you for dis.. laugh.gif
Paile
Hi everyone, I'm new to overclocking, I hope you guys could give me a hand in overclocking my p4. My specs are :

P4 Northwood 2.8ghz + Scythe Ninja HSF with 120mm fan currently running stable at 3.5ghz, vcore at 1.75

Antec TPII 430

Asus p4p800 - deluxe mobo agp/pci locked at 33.33/66.66

2x512mb Kingston PC3200 adjusted timing to 2.5-3-3-6 to run at 166mhz (the value i got it while referring to cpu-z, and i got this fsb to dram ratio of 3:2)

I was wondering, if i'm able to push it to 3.6ghz and beyond as the max as stated in cpu-z is 3600, if so, what else should i do to push it further?

Ive pushed to run at 3666 but it was unstable once i start running some games.

Many thankx in advance for those who could give me a hand
nelza_ax
vcore 1.75? shakehead.gif
PeterCrouch
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Mar 11 2006, 10:53 PM)
vcore 1.75? shakehead.gif

Is it 2 high? sweat.gif
raymond5105
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Mar 10 2006, 05:30 PM)
maybe other "OTAI" can help you for dis.. laugh.gif

"OTAI"?Not understand,don't know what is that.

QUOTE(Paile @ Mar 11 2006, 10:47 AM)
Hi everyone, I'm new to overclocking, I hope you guys could give me a hand in overclocking my p4. My specs are :

P4 Northwood 2.8ghz + Scythe Ninja HSF with 120mm fan currently running stable at 3.5ghz, vcore at 1.75

Antec TPII 430

Asus p4p800 - deluxe mobo agp/pci locked at 33.33/66.66

2x512mb Kingston PC3200 adjusted timing to 2.5-3-3-6 to run at 166mhz (the value i got it while referring to cpu-z, and i got this fsb to dram ratio of 3:2)

I was wondering, if i'm able to push it to 3.6ghz and beyond as the max as stated in cpu-z is 3600, if so, what else should i do to push it further?

Ive pushed to run at 3666 but it was unstable once i start running some games.

Many thankx in advance for those who could give me a hand

Your V-core is very high.Using the 3:2 division can make your cpu go higher?By right your RAM should be running on 200Mhz(DDR 400).Now only on DDR333 speed and it's consider underclock.Your RAM is running on 174Mhz and the FSB is about 261FSB on your cpu.Why not trying the setting on 5:4 division to get the optimum performance between your cpu and the mobo?The RAM timing should be adjust to loose a bit if u want to go for higher CPU speed using your current division.What chipset is using on your Kingston KVR?If it's Hynix DT-D43 then you will have a very good result on 1:1 division one since those D43 series can go on 250Mhz on default setting very easily.

I hope that you understand what i am expressing here. thumbup.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.