Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
Izwan898
QUOTE(andythung @ Oct 22 2008, 06:54 AM)
i tried many time aredi with diff FSB setting  with is all almost get error~
btw ...if unstable ...wat it affect to my comp if i just normal used
or the spd will slower then my normal setting ?

Try increasing vcore bro...if unstable, it can corrupt your hdd...happened to me twice...luckily it can be restored juz by simple hdd scanning... sweat.gif
seanlimys
anyone wanna help me? running e8200 c0 3.8ghz on 1.48v..i tinks its a bad batch..wat u ppl think? can boot at 4ghz at 1.56v but still failed ibt....usinog tpower
andythung
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Oct 22 2008, 11:35 AM)
Try increasing vcore bro...if unstable, it can corrupt your hdd...happened to me twice...luckily it can be restored juz by simple hdd scanning... sweat.gif

too bad is my bios din hav setting to chg V core~~ i also hope i can do so ~~ sad.gif
really din hav any software can chg the vcore ??
Blank19
user posted imageuser posted image

anymore tune i can done to improve my OC?
TQ for guiding.... thumbup.gif

spec:

e8400 C0
P5K/EPU
2GB ballistix tracer 1066mhz (1*2GB)
cooler master 460W
andythung
guys...im finally had stable with using prime95 at 2.7GHZ.....which hav 150 FSB and with stock vcore... it had stabil bout 11 hr with using prime95

bt i cant even get stable over then 2.7GHZ... sad.gif normal load at 40C.....full load at 55-59C...i dun think temp is the problem for me...

i tried overclock to 3.0GHZ or more which cant reboot n get in window~~

my spec...

-asrock p4i65g mobo
-p4 2.4b northwood multiple by 18x 133 = 533 FSB
-2x 256 DDR 266 dual channel
-450W psu
-original vcore = 1.6v

anyone can help me ?? and my mobo cant chg the vcore~~ cry.gif

any pro OC can help me or giv sum suggestion? notworthy.gif
seanlimys
lol..bro..if ur board no vcore option, den it shud be juz the way it is..i mean the proc already reached its limit
CyberTroop
Hello fellow Intel users, I have encountered a new problem regarding my OC issues recently after i added in an extra 2GB worth of Corsair Ram. This is how my stories goes.

Before i added in my RAM, my OC settings were stable and fine. The hardware i am using is as follow:

RAM: First 2GB is 800mhz Corsair Twin2x 6400 XMS2
The latest 2GB of ram i added is 800mhz Corsair Twin2x 6400 XMS2 CL4
CPU: Core 2 Duo e6400
Mobo: Gigabyte DS3

My original settings before i added the new rams are as follow:

CPU Clock Ratio at 8x
CPU Host Frequench (FSB) at 400
PCI Express Frequency at 100MHz
System Memory Multiplier at 2.00
DRAM Timing at 5-5-5-15
DDR2 OverVoltage Control at Normal
FSB OverVoltage at Normal
(G)MCH Voltage at Normal
CPU Voltage at 1.22500V

Before adding the new 2GB Corsair rams, this settings for the Bios is stable and fine. Unfortunately after i added the new 2GB worth of ram, i get BSOD after a few minutes in Windows. I think this is probably caused by undervoltage. Oh ya, forgot to mention the 800mhz Corsair Twin2x 6400 XMS2 CL4 has this PPE function thing.

Hope some people can help me with my problem, thanks.
seanlimys
wat windows u using?
xp canot support more den 3.5gb
k!nex
not the OS problem. i'm using xp 32 bit(sp2) also wif vista 32 bit(sp1), dual harddisk.i hv 4gb ram as well.can boot and run stable.just tht cannot detect full 4gb memory only although vista 32bit sp1 shows 4gb of ram in system information.
hilmiangah
QUOTE(k!nex @ Oct 29 2008, 07:48 PM)
not the OS problem. i'm using xp 32 bit(sp2) also wif vista 32 bit(sp1), dual harddisk.i hv 4gb ram as well.can boot and run stable.just tht cannot detect full 4gb memory only although vista 32bit sp1 shows 4gb of ram in system information.

u just answer ur own question.

only 64 bit operating system can detect more than 4gb of system memory.
Silverfire
With SP1 installed for x86 you can DETECT 4gb but you can't UTILISE 4gb.
hilmiangah
corrected.

it can detect but cant utilise.
seanlimys
perhaps ur ram is faulty?my fren got a pair of ocz gold edition..which cant even pass memtest at default speed and vdimm...ocz gold ddr2 800...
Silverfire
Yep, those happens loads nowadays. High Performance RAMs unable to perform at rated specs...
seanlimys
yea...so dun expect too high from good stuff..haha
OC4/3
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 30 2008, 10:22 AM)
Yep, those happens loads nowadays. High Performance RAMs unable to perform at rated specs...

That is on certain product only lah laugh.gif
Most of it should be able to run at rated speed.
For example,my Xtreem 1066mhz CL5 D9GKX is rated at 1066mhz CL5 but so far able to get up to 1080 CL4-4-4-4@2.3v real wink.gif
Silverfire
Team Xtreem exempted >.<
dro
@OC4/3

1080 cl4 @ 2.3v.....is dat jes for bench runs or stable bro?
seanlimys
damn man..1080 cl4...high speed tight timing
OC4/3
QUOTE(dro @ Oct 30 2008, 11:22 PM)
@OC4/3

1080 cl4 @ 2.3v.....is dat jes for bench runs or stable bro?

Quite stable,can be used for daily if want laugh.gif
But,are you willing to pump 2.3vdimm on daily basis sweat.gif

seanlimys
haha..if stable sure willing..hahha
dro
GKX oso 2.3V maa?
same as my GMH tongue.gif
but urs at lower frequency WAY lower vdimm wink.gif
seanlimys
gkx is vdimm lover unlike gmh
OC4/3
QUOTE(dro @ Nov 2 2008, 08:18 PM)
GKX oso 2.3V maa?
same as my GMH tongue.gif
but urs at lower frequency WAY lower vdimm wink.gif

CL4-4-4-4 and full stability,test it yourself laugh.gif
That is not the max,just never tested as i run 1:1 only icon_rolleyes.gif
The point is:Memtest passable wink.gif
cipsmor
i just want to start learn about OC..
someone cane help me?

my old rig

intel P4 3.0HT (N0) 800FSB (s775) eith CM Mars cooler
MSI 915P neo-2 platinum
1 x 2GB kvr 667
hd 2600xt

tkh_1001
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Nov 6 2008, 11:29 AM)
CL4-4-4-4 and full stability,test it yourself laugh.gif 
That is not the max,just never tested as i run 1:1 only icon_rolleyes.gif
The point is:Memtest passable wink.gif

100% ram usage

n passes over 500% tongue.gif
OC4/3
QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Nov 6 2008, 07:08 PM)
100% ram usage

n passes over 500% tongue.gif

No lah laugh.gif
3dmark01 lobby and memtest 100% 500MB passable,lazy to test as i test during benching one mah wink.gif
LYR
is there anything i can do to push my clock speed higher? i only dare to adjust the bus speed and vCore a bit. no idea with others.
kmarc
QUOTE(LYR @ Nov 8 2008, 05:34 PM)
is there anything i can do to push my clock speed higher? i only dare to adjust the bus speed and vCore a bit. no idea with others.

Isn't your stock CPU vcore 1.3375v? Why is it set manually to 1.250v? hmm.gif

And you usually don't have to set the vFSB to +0.1v... just put it at default...
LYR
QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 8 2008, 06:17 PM)
Isn't your stock CPU vcore 1.3375v? Why is it set manually to 1.250v?  hmm.gif

And you usually don't have to set the vFSB to +0.1v... just put it at default...

when i set the voltage control to manual, the vcore is at 1.232 first. so, i thought it's the default CPU vcore. however, even if i set the the vcore to 1.35, i will get bluescreen at windows startup with error message of ' memory blah blah blah '(the screen flashed very fast), couldnt see properly.
kmarc
QUOTE(LYR @ Nov 8 2008, 09:09 PM)
when i set the voltage control to manual, the vcore is at 1.232 first. so, i thought it's the default CPU vcore. however, even if i set the the vcore to 1.35, i will get bluescreen at windows startup with error message of ' memory blah blah blah '(the screen flashed very fast), couldnt see properly.

Try setting the ram multiplier to it's lowest value (should be 2.0). That way, you are sure it is not the rams (looks like your rams is running at 2.4x ram multiplier?) when you overclock.
LYR
QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 8 2008, 09:17 PM)
Try setting the ram multiplier to it's lowest value (should be 2.0). That way, you are sure it is not the rams (looks like your rams is running at 2.4x ram multiplier?) when you overclock.

this is my ram screenshot after i overclocked it to 2.3GHz.
kmarc
QUOTE(LYR @ Nov 8 2008, 09:28 PM)
this is my ram screenshot after i overclocked it to 2.3GHz.

That could be the reason, that your rams are overclocked too much (unless you increase the vdimm).

Try reducing the ram multiplier to it's lowest value... should be 2.0. That way, you either underclock, or mildly overclock the rams..... (it's the "System Memory Multiplier" setting.....)

Note : From your previous screen shot, you were running your rams with a 3.0 ram multiplier (275mhz x 3 = 825mhz)
LYR
QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 8 2008, 10:37 PM)
That could be the reason, that your rams are overclocked too much (unless you increase the vdimm).

Try reducing the ram multiplier to it's lowest value... should be 2.0. That way, you either underclock, or mildly overclock the rams..... (it's the "System Memory Multiplier" setting.....)

Note : From your previous screen shot, you were running your rams with a 3.0 ram multiplier (275mhz x 3 = 825mhz)

you're right. i managed to get the processor stabled at higher clock speed after i reduced the System Memory Multiplier. thanks for your help.
teamloks

why this happen? any help?
hilmiangah
QUOTE(teamloks @ Nov 18 2008, 09:01 PM)

why this happen? any help?

its bcoz there is error while u stress test it.
seanlimys
not enough vcore lo i tink
chickenducksoup
still wonder
200FSB x 15 is better or 300 x 10 ?
livinzo
Hi guys, need help.. im using a E8400 overclock at 3.825 by to 425.. i left the core voltage at auto... cause im still not sure what is the best.. is 1.25 good for this clock speed?
and im using 2x2GB kingston DDR2 800 value ram.. so the DRAM frequency is now 425 as 1:1 ratio.. does this mean my ram is now OCed?
im using a xigmatek HDT963 and the load temp is 55c, im pretty amaze with the temp as the overclock is pretty high.. is the anything wrong with the overclocking??
tkh_1001
QUOTE(livinzo @ Dec 2 2008, 09:35 PM)
Hi guys, need help.. im using a E8400 overclock at 3.825 by to 425.. i left the core voltage at auto... cause im still not sure what is the best.. is 1.25 good for this clock speed?
and im using 2x2GB kingston DDR2 800 value ram.. so the DRAM frequency is now 425 as 1:1 ratio.. does this mean my ram is now OCed? 
im using a xigmatek HDT963 and the load temp is 55c, im pretty amaze with the temp as the overclock is pretty high.. is the anything wrong with the overclocking??

suggest u look at mr.kmarc's siggy and read the basic OC guide...

btw, i see no problem with ur OC...
Riddhy
can i overclock a pentium dual core e5200 2.53 ghz stock clock on
a p4m-900 via mobo or on a g31/945gc intel mobo?

i want from 2.53 to 3.0-3.2 ghz OC
i dont want to use any cpu cooler or any thing else can i achieve it like this??
i will be using 2gb 667 bus ram or 800 bus ddr2.

even if i use 1 gb ram is it possible??

and also suggest a good brand these chipsets plz.
I am not in MSIA right now.
Is Foxconn, Biostar and ECS good for these chipsets to overclock?
anybody used these brands for these chipsets?
hows it? bcoz they are available in the place where i am right now.
Silverfire
Already answered you in Hardware Q & A section... Don't post the same question in 3 places sweat.gif
-=ProtozuaqS=-
i'm looking a database for P4 524 3.06 Ghz(prescott).anyway,there are 194 pages,so hard to find...if anyone knew where can i find it,let me know..
sniderkeith
i just tried OC my Pentium D 805 from 2.66ghz to 2.96ghz.. but when i try to OC to 3ghz.. the system fail in booting..had try to increase the VCORE for processor, but still failed.. any recommendation?

Hardware info:
Enermax FMA II 460w
Sapphire ati 3870 512mb ddr4
2 harddisk, 1 dvd write
1gb ddr2 ram + 512 ddr2 + 512ddr2
2 cooler master fan

eikhwan4
Hi guyz,im a noob in this section.Can my processor:Pentium e2180 2.0ghz & my motherboard:msi-7507 good for overclocking.Help me out here
& u all say my CPU how high i can go le?
Bronto11
Muz depend on ur mobo overclocking features...n ur hardware too... So, u muz try to increase ur frequency & voltage of ur (CPU, RAM, divider) step by step to reach the stable clock n performance..
sinki87
QUOTE(Bronto11 @ Jan 7 2009, 05:17 AM)
Muz depend on ur mobo overclocking features...n ur hardware too... So, u muz try to increase ur frequency & voltage of ur (CPU, RAM, divider) step by step to reach the stable clock n performance..

when we know we reach stable clock and performance?
Bronto11
QUOTE(sinki87 @ Jan 7 2009, 12:38 PM)
when we know we reach stable clock and performance?

can boot window lo n run several benchmarking tools... If passed...gud news to u... rclxms.gif
eikhwan4
i just know how to adjust fsb
i have tried it..sometimes ok, sometimes really hates me

another value do i must adjust to selain fsb??

help me plz
hilmiangah
QUOTE(eikhwan4 @ Jan 8 2009, 06:22 PM)
i just know how to adjust fsb
i have tried it..sometimes ok, sometimes really hates me

another value do i must adjust to selain fsb??

help me plz

thats why we increase the vcore when overclocking brows.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.