Esqandare
Jun 17 2008, 12:29 AM
asking to all sifu..guru and sensei.....wat the max E4600 can go....
lightonokira
Jun 17 2008, 11:28 PM
may i ask
what is pencil mod?
i wanna mod
i wanna try
IM A DAREDEVIL!! ^

^
-pWs-
Jun 18 2008, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(sakurakinomoto @ Jun 12 2008, 09:58 PM)
Yaya >.<
I dunno how.
Someone showed me the appropriate value to set in Overclocking.
then I tested with 1000MHz FSB on RAM, and it works!
but after I set to 1600MHz FSB for my 9300, the mobo died and everything was reseted.
So now I'm running on 1500MHz for Proc, Stock (800MHz) for RAM
I do tried until 1800MHz FSB for my 9300.
Not problem at all for the 1st few hours for those who know my story.
-pWs-
hawkl
Jun 18 2008, 11:10 AM
Yesterday manage to overclock to 3.6.Run prime for 4 min no problem. After that the machine starting to hang. After restart, hung at Windows Start-up Screen. Restart again hung again. Damn tension now. Pls assist sifu. Below is my settings.
FSB Memory clock mode - unlinked (Try also link)
FSB (QDR) MHz - 1600
FSB Memory ratio - Auto
FSB Memory - 800
Vcore volt - 1.25
Memory volt -1.85
1.2HT volt - 1.35
NB volt - 1.35
SB volt - 1.55
CPU VTT volt - 1.35
lightonokira
Jun 18 2008, 05:05 PM
no one replied me T_T
tkh_1001
Jun 18 2008, 06:29 PM
decarusz
Jun 23 2008, 07:32 PM
E8200 + Gigabyte EP35-DS3 at 3.2GHz (400*8).
My Vcore at normal. ddr2, pci-e, fsb,mch, +0.1v
idle at 43 °C
full load (dual prime95) = 60 - 63 °C
FSB:DRAM is at 1:1.
1gbx 1 aeneon ddr2 800
Cpuz show, core voltage = 1.152 - 1.168 v
is this normal? is the temperature high?...
i change the hsf with pentium d 805(copper medium) and use STARS 700 thermal paste.
Scare gonna fry the PROC.. lol
furthermore, dual prime 95 and orthos , which 1 can detect error faster?..
Advance timing control put auto so it automaticly adjusted to 6-5-5-18.
sticker wrote 5-5-5-12, and spd wrote 5-5-5-18...
tkh_1001
Jun 23 2008, 08:47 PM
actually u can just leave all ur pcie,fsb and mch on stock...u don need to add those now on such mild clock...
since u are using stock hsf fan...those temps are kinda normal...i have seen others getting around the same as u too....if u are scared then go get a good cpu cooler ba
i normally prefer to use orthos small fft n set the priority to 8....got timer for u to see how long u stress liao and no lags at all n u are free to do all other stuff that u want like gaming
decarusz
Jun 23 2008, 10:08 PM
i read from tweaktown..best to add those for alittle extra stability.. hehe..
But i use stressCPU - Stress CPU with Gromacs core.. which 1 better? o.0?
priority 1.. while installing game, and playing mtv and serving web and webthunder'ing...lol
tkh_1001
Jun 23 2008, 10:14 PM
as i can remember i dont need to add those when i use the mobo last time...u only add those when u are overclocking ur ram or when ur cpu cant get stable by just adding vcore...
personally i have never tried gromac core before... but small fft nvr failed me so far
decarusz
Jun 24 2008, 02:11 AM
I put them back to normal.. Still stable so far.. playing NFS pro street.. (damn smoooth) lol.... Hoping it wont bsod suddently...
is 20% Oc consider mild OC?.. how is moderate?.. 50%
how much will mild oc reduce the life span, 1/5 of its life?.
tkh_1001
Jun 24 2008, 06:35 PM
if u run ur proc at 500x8 then that one can consider high OC lo
but no one really knows how fast it will kill ur proc...just keep ur cpu core temp under 65c if u wana extend its life....n always test for stability after some time to see if it still can be stable on the same setting... if it cant, then probably its a sign... but make sure ur original settings is really really stable ones first....stress at least for 12 hours....
decarusz
Jun 24 2008, 10:01 PM
Last night the comp hangged while torrenting, blend stressing(torrent already ate 50% usage).. =.= have to pump up the voltage.. tonight stress again see what happens...hope this gigabyte wont fail me.. lol..
tkh_1001
Jun 24 2008, 10:16 PM
hmm....u might as well check if its ur ram that causes the instability
decarusz
Jun 24 2008, 10:41 PM
but i havent tweak the ram.. lol..
sukatra_aicaca
Jun 25 2008, 08:37 AM
what is the latest bios? F??
decarusz
Jun 25 2008, 11:05 AM
f2.. f3 is beta...
sonicscourge
Jun 26 2008, 04:21 PM
TS, WHERE'S MY RECEIPT?
Added on June 26, 2008, 4:23 pmTS, WHERE'S MY RECEIPT?
decarusz
Jun 26 2008, 09:24 PM
God... my v dimm 1.9v... eventhough i turn it back to normal... how?..
tkh_1001
Jun 27 2008, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(decarusz @ Jun 26 2008, 09:24 PM)
God... my v dimm 1.9v... eventhough i turn it back to normal... how?..
use the easytune5 pro ba.... shud be able to put it at 1.8v...then u just have to click the "save" button
pal33x
Jun 28 2008, 06:18 AM
hye there
after oc my e2140 i from 200 --->266
no display dring post
but i can hear windows login sound
any number above 200 will make this
thing happen
all setup confirm can do 3.2 ghz b4
i send the mobo for warranty
after get it back any OC = No display but can enter windows
i even can play song but no display
mobp is p965s3
kmarc
Jun 28 2008, 07:39 AM
QUOTE(pal33x @ Jun 28 2008, 06:18 AM)
hye there
after oc my e2140 i from 200 --->266
no display dring post
but i can hear windows login sound
any number above 200 will make this
thing happen
all setup confirm can do 3.2 ghz b4
i send the mobo for warranty
after get it back any OC = No display but can enter windows
i even can play song but no display
mobp is p965s3
Do you still get the problem if you put everything back at stock?
Maybe windows/graphic driver is corrupted?
Some people gets stability by increasing the PCI-E frequency slightly... i.e. 101mhz or 105mhz.... etc. Not recommended to go above 120mhz.....
Some get stability by increasing the PCI-E voltage....
Tweak around and see what happens.... I never touch those settings though (hence, no experience actually), afraid of mobo kaput....
kcy3ssm
Jun 28 2008, 11:57 AM
Hi Boys
Just started doing OC
Default Configuration as follows:
Pentium D 2.66 Smithfield
Gigabyte 8i945P-G
Default intel HSF
Overclocking method: Used the guide on this forum + only increased the FSB to 150. Results from internet show I can go as far as 195 without increasy any voltage.
So yeah voltage is still default
Below is the output

So previously i can only play COD in 640 * 480 using 7300 GT. After Oc'ing can go upto 1024
Going to get the Vendetta II today and will share with u lot if can go higher!!!
One thing...the info on the threads in here were so useful seriously
fishy21
Jun 28 2008, 01:56 PM
processor: Pentium D 2.0Ghz
MB: Asus P5GC-MX
possible to overclock it to 2.4GHz ? do i need water cooling for that increase?
Please help.. thx
P/s: Can anyone give tutorial about basic Pentium D OC? or show me where to find it ?
pal33x
Jun 28 2008, 03:39 PM
thnx for the feed back
this is what make me pening.....
Only stock then walah....
display will come out
if OC the fsb..........
sure no display
change GC?
same.........

not gc driver prob cuz from boot
no display
decarusz
Jun 28 2008, 09:22 PM
Bro.. use easytune5 pro only can change the voltage when inside window.. at bios or whenevery not running it will change back to 1.9.. =.=
aihz... so have to flash the bios?... beta version ok anot a?...

scare later burn my value ram..
KahLooN
Jun 28 2008, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(fishy21 @ Jun 28 2008, 01:56 PM)
Please help.. thx
P/s: Can anyone give tutorial about basic Pentium D OC? or show me where to find it ?
I suggest you read the guide in this forum on how to OC, it helps a lot. For example, kcy3ssm. His previous post mention it.
Don't be lazy to lure around to find it.
And for your question, OC is subjective. You can reach the speed to 2.4GHz with some tweak, and water cooling is not necessary unless you are into extreme.
fylon
Jun 28 2008, 11:04 PM
@fishy21
Just 20% OC from stock.. Probably ur stock HSF will be enough. But if u need extra secure, change to a 3rd party cooler.
Guide are always the best way to start ur OC journey.
ciohbu
Jun 28 2008, 11:09 PM
Please help.. thx
2.4 i think should be no problem..no need water cooling lar..

and to learn OC, u really hav to do some research and reading online...there are so many article out there ..
happy learning ~~
tkh_1001
Jun 29 2008, 05:32 AM
QUOTE(decarusz @ Jun 28 2008, 09:22 PM)
Bro.. use easytune5 pro only can change the voltage when inside window.. at bios or whenevery not running it will change back to 1.9.. =.=
aihz... so have to flash the bios?... beta version ok anot a?...

scare later burn my value ram..

hmm...i guess if u are running everything fine then bios flashing is not really a need la...it is not guaranteed they let u adjust ur volatage to 1.8v on new bios also.... 1.9v is still considered safe though,dont think it can burn ur ram.... just dont go over 2.1v for 24/7 setup lo....
btw, u shud go read what improvement is on the new bios if u are ever gonna flash it to make sure if its worth the flashing.... cos flashing is kinda a risky thing... can silap hari bulan
-vip3rleon9-
Jun 29 2008, 03:31 PM
Please help.. thx
Be sure to look out for your temps if you're using the stock Intel HSF. Pentium D's have been known to run quite hot.
But I think a 400mhz increase should not yield any problems.
kcy3ssm
Jun 30 2008, 12:02 AM
Ok boys OCZ Vendetta II is in d house!!!
OC'd the processor further to 3.2 Ghz
Following are the current temperature ratings:
Idle : 31 C
Load: Max 46 C
So far im only playing with the FSB.
Yesterday I tried OCing to 3.4 Ghz following were the consequences:
1). System successfully loaded to Windows
2). Ran Prime load test
3). Came back and there was some memory error
As I havent touched the memory so far, Im currently using Kingston Value 2 GB DDR2 ram
If there are any suggestions from your side do let me know to go further as I know I can go upto 190 Mhz FSB as per the review.
Regards
tkh_1001
Jun 30 2008, 07:34 PM
erm...what ram n proc are u using wor?
if ur memory got error then u try up ur vdimm a notch n see if its stable....
kmarc
Jun 30 2008, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(kcy3ssm @ Jun 30 2008, 12:02 AM)
Yesterday I tried OCing to 3.4 Ghz following were the consequences:
1). System successfully loaded to Windows
2). Ran Prime load test
3).
Came back and there was some memory error
Errr.... prime95 can't tell you that your memory has error. It can only show errors in calculation, which could be due to many factors.....
How do you know it is memory error?
kcy3ssm
Jul 1 2008, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 30 2008, 09:24 PM)
Errr.... prime95 can't tell you that your memory has error. It can only show errors in calculation, which could be due to many factors.....
How do you know it is memory error?

Cuz when i came back and restarted...it said something like memory failure the time when the ram is tested
Im supposing this error was due to the set DRAM by SPD
So increasing CPU speed also leads in speedin up the memory speed which the memory sticks cannot take.
I should be disabling SPD and set a value myself but im not sure which value to set.
Is dat correct?
However im giving a hold to any of my OC efforts and leaving the CPU at 3.2 Ghz due to the power supply.
Gonna put a bigger power supply and then do it
tkh_1001
Jul 1 2008, 05:33 PM
hmm...u mean SPD as in multiplier/divider of the ram? if u are talking SPD as in speed, u cannot disable the speed of ur ram it will increase together with the proc fsb no matter what....
i guess it only can be helped if u tell us ur full pc specs.... cos sometimes u dont really have to change a psu to OC well.. i have a fren who are OCing his e6550 happily to 3.5ghz with his team xtreem ram only by using a coolermaster 460watt extreme power psu... but his GC is only 8600gt though....
Jibek
Jul 2 2008, 03:56 PM
hi all.,i oc my e8400 to 3.80ghz with 1.26v.,but i saw someone in here oc his e8400 to 3.60ghz with 1.15v only.,thats mean the vcore is lower than the default.,can i oc my proc to 3.80ghz with default vcore or try to lower it a bit..tq..
decarusz
Jul 2 2008, 04:31 PM
my aeneon 800mhz... can reach 960mhz at 2.2v stable..

lol..dunno can 24/7 anot.. never taught gigabyte can do this
.. but copy speed still very slow..compare to dual channel. =.=
tkh_1001
Jul 2 2008, 05:42 PM
the ability to do high clock on low vcore depends on ur luck....some good chip can go as high as 3.8ghz with default vcore.....but u can try though....
Tanakwagu_noh
Jul 2 2008, 09:55 PM
e6400 CPU pm me best price bro.
irving
Jul 3 2008, 05:49 PM
would like to ask something here..my e8400 doesnt seem to go upwards of 3.6ghz. around 3.7ghz also hard to boot already. is my silverstone st400 400watts limiting me? and should i just leave the cpu voltage at auto or manually set it?
sorry noob here, hope can get some advice
tkh_1001
Jul 3 2008, 05:57 PM
u shud not leave the voltage at auto...dont think its ur psu that is limiting ur OC... for ur case most likely u will need to increase ur vcore a lil bit more from ur stock vcore to get 3.7ghz stable...
refer here if u need a guide
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/623648
overclockalbert
Jul 4 2008, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(Jibek @ Jul 2 2008, 04:56 PM)
hi all.,i oc my e8400 to 3.80ghz with 1.26v.,but i saw someone in here oc his e8400 to 3.60ghz with 1.15v only.,thats mean the vcore is lower than the default.,can i oc my proc to 3.80ghz with default vcore or try to lower it a bit..tq..
i clock mine E8400 to 3.6Ghz using 1.152V, maybe because this chip have a vid of 1.1375v, so it's a 14.5uV overvolt.
this was truely depend on luck actually.
decarusz
Jul 4 2008, 02:56 AM
wan ask something... safe anot if i do
my aeneon 800 @ 960 (5-5-5-18) 24/7 with 2.2v
this 1 value ram only..
BuLaNaR
Jul 4 2008, 05:45 AM
QUOTE(seiji_kun @ Jun 15 2008, 02:07 AM)
hav guide to oc e8400..better c there..i usng e8400 too dun hav prblm to oc..
hey bro,go everywher see u..good spammer la u since all prob u can solve
BuLaNaR
Jul 4 2008, 05:50 AM
TS ur proc wut stepping huh???
hawkl
Jul 4 2008, 11:19 AM
So how? Still suffering....
tkh_1001
Jul 4 2008, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(decarusz @ Jul 4 2008, 02:56 AM)
wan ask something... safe anot if i do
my aeneon 800 @ 960 (5-5-5-18) 24/7 with 2.2v
this 1 value ram only..

hmm...its better to have active cooling on ur ram if u wana push more than 2.0v....
zyudensan
Jul 6 2008, 02:16 PM
hai all..
i am new here..
i just buy motherboard MSI 7512 V1.0 Platinum with E8400 3.0Ghz core2duo...and Kingston hyperX KHX8500D2K/2GN twin 1066Mhz..
i can overclock easy until 3.4Ghz.. but i dont think it stable..
any body out there can give configuration for max overclock for this motherboard with E8400? coz as i know this processor can overclock until 4.2~4.5 on air..
the other case is my mobo operate only at 800Mhz DRAM.. even my RAM is 1066Mhz.. how can i get 1066Mhz?
some one help me to get setting for OC ntil 4.0Ghz?4.2Ghz? or more? TQ..
tkh_1001
Jul 7 2008, 08:27 PM
kinda hard to reach 4.2 ghz or higher without increasing ur vcore to more than 1.4v unless u got a good chip.... it is recommended not to get over 1.4v for its vtt n vcore for 45nm....
if u need a guide on how to OC higher u might wana refer here
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/623648
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.