Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
Guriseruda
QUOTE(hoongji @ Jan 6 2006, 10:18 AM)
my 2.4c D1 is currently overcloked to 3.2Ghz. ram timing is 2.5-3-3-7 and divider 5:4. my ram is OCZ platinum EL PC3200 rated at 2-2-2-5. my processor is running on stock HSF and just recently i have cleaned the surface of the cpu, so there is no more cooling cream, only pure contact between the cpu and heatsink. on idle, the temperature is 40 while in full load it's 50. so far so good as it is stable and passed all tests.

my question is can i go higher without risking of damage to my cpu. how high can i go with stock HSF. i'm sure i haven't hit the wall yet, but i don't dare to push higher, risking my components.

any advice will be appreciated

WAH gang!1 thumbup.gif Overclock wit stock HSF .. . . my one 2.6c oc to 3.25.. divider 1:1 ram timing 2.5.3.3.7.. ur one also can reach 3.2Ghz.. may i know what mainboard u using now
nizamextreme
QUOTE(hoongji @ Jan 6 2006, 01:10 PM)
when i say 50 celcius on full load, i mean the temperature of the heatsink only. that's where my temperature probe rests. but i don't really know the real temperature of the cpu

well...try to use speedfan or MBM5 software..u will know the cpu temp then. smile.gif
SnoWFisH
i'm not sure whether this has been posted or not but i bumped into an interesting patent....

http://patft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-Parser?...RS=PN/6,535,988

does this means that future intel chips would not be overclockable anymore?
KilJim
QUOTE(hoongji @ Jan 6 2006, 10:18 AM)
my 2.4c D1 is currently overcloked to 3.2Ghz. ram timing is 2.5-3-3-7 and divider 5:4. my ram is OCZ platinum EL PC3200 rated at 2-2-2-5. my processor is running on stock HSF and just recently i have cleaned the surface of the cpu, so there is no more cooling cream, only pure contact between the cpu and heatsink. on idle, the temperature is 40 while in full load it's 50. so far so good as it is stable and passed all tests.

my question is can i go higher without risking of damage to my cpu. how high can i go with stock HSF. i'm sure i haven't hit the wall yet, but i don't dare to push higher, risking my components.

any advice will be appreciated

quick get some crappy thermal paste at least!
without anything in between, might cause your temps to go sky high and burn up
low yat 82
QUOTE(KilJim @ Jan 6 2006, 08:22 PM)
quick get some crappy thermal paste at least!
without anything in between, might cause your temps to go sky high and burn up

yeah.... later u gonna burn ur proc... doh.gif so dangerous..
low yat 82
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jan 6 2006, 08:21 PM)
i'm not sure whether this has been posted or not but i bumped into an interesting patent....

http://patft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-Parser?...RS=PN/6,535,988

does this means that future intel chips would not be overclockable anymore?

if this is implemented... then it will disaster... shakehead.gif but where say it is intel ?
hoongji
QUOTE(Guriseruda @ Jan 6 2006, 02:30 PM)
WAH gang!1 thumbup.gif  Overclock wit stock HSF .. . . my one 2.6c oc to 3.25.. divider 1:1 ram timing 2.5.3.3.7.. ur one also can reach 3.2Ghz.. may i know what mainboard u using now

i'm using ABIT IS7 (pure) with OCZ Platinum EL PC3200. at 1:1 divider and 2.5-3-3-7, i can reach 3Ghz which i think can go a liltle bit higher. at 5:4 divider, i was able to hit 3.2Ghz in just one try, no sweat. and again i think can go higher.

i'm just a little bit worried since my cpu now don't have thermal paste and it's on HSF.
nizamextreme
QUOTE(hoongji @ Jan 7 2006, 08:51 AM)
i'm using ABIT IS7 (pure) with OCZ Platinum EL PC3200. at 1:1 divider and 2.5-3-3-7, i can reach 3Ghz which i think can go a liltle bit higher. at 5:4 divider, i was able to hit 3.2Ghz in just one try, no sweat. and again i think can go higher.

i'm just a little bit worried since my cpu now don't have thermal paste and it's on HSF.

come on man..get some thermal grease....artic silver 5 is da best for overclocking...its for ur own good smile.gif
styloe
QUOTE(newbieockids @ Jan 1 2006, 07:53 PM)
someone bulking the ninja for RM 17+ only.. i dun know it still open for order or not.. why not u try to push ur procs to 3.2 n see what is the temp 1st?.. for the wc kits perhaps u can specify the accessories come with, for dat RM 300.. the brand/model for them i mean.. smile.gif

the WC brand is coolriver.WC for CPU,VGA also Northbridge chip.I googled it say rather decent WC not extreme actually.Is it worth it to buy it at rm 300 for 2nd.....thnx
SnoWFisH
look under assignee...its intel corp...

System for detecting over-clocking uses a reference signal thereafter preventing over-clocking by reducing clock rate

Abstract

An over-clock deterrent mechanism of a chipset which comprises an over-clock detection circuit for detecting over-clocking of a system (processor) clock signal based on comparison of ratio of the system (processor) clock signal which is likely to be over-clocked and a fixed, stable reference clock signal which is highly unlikely to be over-clocked, and an over-clock prevention (thwarting) circuit for deterring such an over-clocking by either disabling operations of a computer system or significantly undermining key operations of a computer system.

Inventors: Poisner; David L. (Folsom, CA)
Assignee: Intel Corporation (Santa Clara, CA)
Appl. No.: 407853
Filed: September 29, 1999

there's a discussion over it here

http://www.geek.com/news/geeknews/2003Mar/...30326019296.htm

Intel has just stamped their own doomsday.
KilJim
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jan 7 2006, 04:08 PM)
there's a discussion over it here

http://www.geek.com/news/geeknews/2003Mar/...30326019296.htm

Intel has just stamped their own doomsday.

i hope u realised that news was from March 2003

SnoWFisH
yeah, but i never heard of this kind of news and in my first post i did apologize if thsi was posted before.
nizamextreme
ahh..whatever la...just wait and see...if cant oc anymore...then convert to amd..
newbieockids
if they really do dat.. they'll lost at least 50% potential buyers(overclockers).. no more Intel OC thread.. smile.gif
pires87
wink.gif All Sifu here,
I am using a Pentium4 531prescott 3.0ghz,
and a MSI 7028 915P Neo2 Platinum with DOT(Dynamic overclocking technology)
well, i have a CoreCenter software,
i am thinking of trying OC my Proc
and my ram is 512 corsair value ramDDR2 533
All i need is just increase the FSB in the corecenter is it?
or should i do in the CMOS?
how should i do?
and 1 more question
do increase vcore void the warranty?if i didnt burnt the proc due to OC sweat.gif
Noob in OC here
thanks for help notworthy.gif
newbieockids
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 10 2006, 06:32 PM)
wink.gif All Sifu here,
how should i do?
and 1 more question
do increase vcore void the warranty?if i didnt burnt the proc due to OC sweat.gif
Noob in OC here

it is always better to use ur bios setting.. read here to get the idea..
pires87
Overclocking no longer makes the performance difference it used to. It will also void your CPU warranty, could cause complete system failure requiring component replacement, and can cause random system instability

from a webpage u recommend me to read..
btw is it really a warranty void if OC? sweat.gif
nizamextreme
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 10 2006, 06:32 PM)
wink.gif All Sifu here,
how should i do?
and 1 more question
Noob in OC here

well..use cmos..dont use software....your ram..what chip did it use?..about the vcore..it depend..sometime to make it stable u need to increase it...but there is a limit..if i'm not mistaken until 1.55..beyond that is danger..u should read more about overclocking using your mobo..it may help. smile.gif
pires87
@nizamextreme
ok thanks for the info
so will OC void the warranty?
kev da man
old skool northwood 2.0A oc...on air

nizamextreme
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 10 2006, 07:35 PM)
@nizamextreme
ok thanks for the info
so will OC void the warranty?

of course...so be carefull...read more about overclocking using your mobo.
pires87
u mean once i increase the fsb
then the warranty void already??
nizamextreme
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 10 2006, 07:43 PM)

no la..if u damage it because u oc.. smile.gif
low yat 82
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 10 2006, 07:43 PM)

when u wanna oc.. d importnat think is always monitor d temp of ur mobo, proc ...ect.. d main point is overheated will causes d proc to hangus sweat.gif
nice software to monitor temp... http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=204 usee at ur owwn risk..

from wat ive noe, warranty will b avoided if u hav burn marks at ur proc(usually due to oc'in) or if some of d proc legs bent...
superpc
hehe jus com in intel thread see see, few ppl compare to amd thread tongue.gif
btw low yat 82 ur pic gonna kill ppl...
swhung
wanna ask something... if i oc and want to increase vcore..
i shud increase from 1.33 to 1.4 or 1.33 to 1.34???

how many steps??

and the fsb is the ram clock speed rite???
low yat 82
QUOTE(swhung @ Jan 10 2006, 09:59 PM)
wanna ask something... if i oc and want to increase vcore..
i shud increase from 1.33 to 1.4 or 1.33 to 1.34???

how many steps??

and the fsb is the ram clock speed rite???

bro.. use one by one steps.. 1.33->1.34 u onli increse d volt if ur pc hang or fails some test... errmm... better u read throughly d pinned thread.. it seem u doesnt understand fully ab oc...

fsb will b d ram clock IF u r running fsb/ram ratio = 1 :1.. normally if u oc, u need to run in devider so that ur ram will not bottleneck u...

superpc, haha not kill.. jus mak u TFK.. kekkeek
pires87
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 10 2006, 08:45 PM)
when u wanna oc.. d importnat  think is always monitor d temp of ur mobo, proc ...ect.. d main point is overheated will causes d proc to hangus sweat.gif 
nice software to monitor temp... http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=204 usee at ur owwn risk..
from wat ive noe, warranty will b avoided if u hav burn marks at ur proc(usually due to oc'in) or if some of d proc legs bent...

oo thanks thumbup.gif
but if just oncrease vcore and dun have burn mark
is it warranty void also?
coz the GC overclocking when play with voltmodding warranty void sweat.gif
i wonder is the CPU same with GPU? notworthy.gif
KilJim
warranty void technically
but whos gonna know that you've raised the voltage?

if u dont raise the voltage and run everything at stock and it burns up for some reason, you've voided the warranty even though u did nothing wrong
low yat 82
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 10 2006, 11:08 PM)
oo thanks thumbup.gif

voltmoddin will avoid warranty coz u need to mod it manually.. not like proc.. if ur proc kong and dun hav burn mark, jus say dunno y suddenly d proc kong and u dun do anything whistling.gif

cpu=gpu? well, both of them is use to process somethin..jsu that d gpu process onli graphic related material..
antonio
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 10 2006, 11:08 PM)
oo thanks thumbup.gif

People who built the CPU has a minimal of a Masters Degree or better yet PHd.
People who manufacturer is has a minimal of Bacheclor' Degree or better yet Masters Holders
People who tested it also have the scrol of Masters
People who wrote the EULA, Warranty Disclaimer, Designers has also a minimal requirements of Masters or Bachelor's.
People who is going to check ur CPU,Mobo will hold what u think????

They know..but sometimes they miss....sometimes they ignore...and sometimes they just return the CPU to u and say "Damage due to overclocking....Warranty void! Any disagreements can proceed with High State/Federal/Capital Supreme Court via repectative countries".
pires87
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 10 2006, 11:13 PM)
voltmoddin will avoid warranty coz u need to mod it manually.. not like proc.. if ur proc kong and dun hav burn mark, jus say dunno y suddenly d proc kong and u dun do anything whistling.gif

cpu=gpu? well, both of them is use to process somethin..jsu that d gpu process onli graphic related material..

ooo wink.gif
thanks for ur infomation
low yat 82
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Jan 10 2006, 11:18 PM)
People who manufacturer is has a minimal of Bacheclor' Degree or better yet Masters Holders
People who wrote the EULA, Warranty Disclaimer, Designers has also a minimal requirements of Masters or Bachelor's.

They know..but sometimes they miss....sometimes they ignore...and sometimes they just return the CPU to u and say "Damage due to overclocking....Warranty void! Any disagreements can proceed with High State/Federal/Capital Supreme Court via repectative countries".

mr.. zorro.. u r scaring him off laugh.gif laugh.gif

btw..d chances ur burns ur proc is very low although not zero.. jus make sure u monitor ur temp...
pires87
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Jan 10 2006, 11:18 PM)

wink.gif such a ayat adjective
well thanks antonio_zth
newbieockids
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 10 2006, 11:26 PM)
wink.gif such a ayat adjective
well thanks antonio_zth

dats why frm the beginning u need to read a lot of info about it.. then only u can start doing it in the safest way or properly w/o any bad result.. smile.gif
pires87
blush.gif thanks for the help for ppl here
really appreciate it wub.gif
well,what the temp is safe for a pentium4 prescott?
antonio
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 11 2006, 12:00 AM)
blush.gif thanks for the help for ppl here
really appreciate it wub.gif
well,what the temp is safe for a pentium4 prescott?

try get a full load at 40c....then u are at the safe side.... thumbup.gif
antonio
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 10 2006, 11:25 PM)
mr.. zorro.. u r scaring him off laugh.gif  laugh.gif 

btw..d chances ur burns ur proc is very low although not zero.. jus make sure u monitor ur temp...

i'm not scaring him....

its what i think evertyime i overclock... yawn.gif
pires87
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Jan 11 2006, 12:08 AM)

40'c i think is not that easy for this moment coz i am using stock HSF sweat.gif
anyways,
thanks for the infomation for my further OC with some more decent HSF wink.gif
SnoWFisH
well the only thing that will cause P4 chips to void warranty is over-voltage. temperature is nto really a problem (though yes, it will affect stability), but when it gets over the threshold voltage, the back-throttle will kick in and you will know you have somehow reach the temperature limit of your processor.

some have mix views about msi CC. i had pretty good experience with it getting my 2.8B up to 3.6 without changing its Vcore, but its still better for u to use cmos cuz DOT isnt really that reliable...its not intelligent enough to back down when it needs to and doesnt know when to stop increasing its FSB automatically.

if u want to OC "on the fly" from windows, get clockgen.

and be sure to increase ur ram voltage to about 2.7-2.8 first...
antonio
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 11 2006, 12:15 AM)
40'c i think is not that easy for this moment coz i am using stock HSF sweat.gif
anyways,

thats why i quote 40c...coz u cant right now...if i say 60c then u start to ish a bit than start to twiggle the BIOS... whistling.gif
nizamextreme
anyways,

whaaaaattt ohmy.gif ....40c is like impossible for full load for prescott..even now i use xp-120 idle 37 full load 55.. blink.gif
antonio
QUOTE(nizamextreme @ Jan 11 2006, 12:25 AM)
whaaaaattt ohmy.gif ....40c is like impossible for full load for prescott..even now i use xp-120 idle 37 full load 55.. blink.gif

try peltier for a change???? notworthy.gif laugh.gif
nizamextreme
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Jan 11 2006, 12:26 AM)
try peltier for a change???? notworthy.gif  laugh.gif

what is that "peltier" boss?? shakehead.gif
SnoWFisH
some thin layer of film which cools the chip down with electromagnetic technology i think....i cant remember.....something to do with electric lar...highly effectve but also very fatal if u dont install properly.
low yat 82
anyways,

yupp... b4 oc'in better get good hsf and also psu...
low yat 82
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Jan 11 2006, 12:08 AM)

blink.gif blink.gif i guarenttee u will on d safe side wit that temp..

whaaaaattt  ....40c is like impossible for full load for prescott..even now i use xp-120 idle 37 full load 55..

or for a change use water coolin.. thumbup.gif or nitrogen... shocking.gif shocking.gif
pires87
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 11 2006, 01:22 AM)
yupp... b4 oc'in better get good hsf and also psu...

ROGER!
btw,how bout the powerlogic atric500T
is it good? wink.gif
low yat 82
QUOTE(pires87 @ Jan 11 2006, 01:42 AM)
ROGER!
btw,how bout the powerlogic atric500T
is it good? wink.gif

ermm.. i see that psu b4... quite heavy.. but not recommend u coz it not liked by oc'er.. try get d better quality.. see d discussion.. best psu for lowyat oc'er

btw..still not sleep yet a? waiting for arsenal vs wigan match thumbup.gif
pires87
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 11 2006, 01:49 AM)
ermm.. i see that psu b4... quite heavy.. but not recommend u coz it not liked by oc'er.. try get d better quality.. see d discussion.. best psu for lowyat oc'er

btw..still not sleep yet a? waiting for arsenal vs wigan match thumbup.gif

ha u are arsenal fans also?? thumbup.gif
not,i am finding the review of z800
btw ,u got this review? drool.gif
well,i just want to know is that z800 got OS or not searh thruoght the net and find but didnt got result until now sweat.gif
btw,u avatar really makes ppl feel like make our eyes shocking.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.