Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
OC4/3
QUOTE(kyLL @ Mar 21 2008, 02:57 PM)
i have a problem with the cooling.. currently at stock settings, running prime95 my pc hits 75++ per core..

it idles on 55-48 per core..

i think i'll change the cooler before i try anything more..

[edit] increasing the vcore did it.. now running at 1.25v..

but the cpu temp is idling at 56-53 d:

Try realtemp,that is the most accurate temp reading application for wolfdane.
kyLL
coretemp vs realtemp.

o_o a difference of about 10 degrees.

thats at vcore 1.25.. Mmm.

btw. how come my bios settings is 1.25v but my cpuz shows me less? around 1.8-1.2?

kmarc
QUOTE(kyLL @ Mar 22 2008, 01:04 am)
coretemp vs realtemp.

o_o a difference of about 10 degrees.

thats at vcore 1.25.. Mmm.

btw. how come my bios settings is 1.25v but my cpuz shows me less? around 1.8-1.2?

The reason the difference is 10 degrees is because the Tjunction Max is different. Core temp sets it at 105'c while real temp sets it at 95'c. Why? That's because nobody knows what the actual Tjunction are for these CPUs as Intel doesn't reveal them......

The "Distance to TJMax" would be the most accurate temperature indicator, to tell you how far you are from the max core temperature before throttling.

You can display that in core temp too. Just go to the settings and select the "Delta to TJMax".

CPUz's vcore is lower due to vdrop and vdroop....
retsnom
My System specs:
=========
Processor
Model : Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz
Speed : 3.04GHz (overclocked)

Motherboard
Manufacturer : Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Model : P35-DS3
System BIOS Date: 08/13/2007

Memory configurations
Total Memory : 3GB DDR2-SDRAM
Bank0/1 - A0 : DIMM 1GB/64 @ 667Mt/s
Bank2/3 - A1 : DIMM 1GB/64 @ 667Mt/s
Bank4/5 - A2 : DIMM 512MB/64 @ 667Mt/s
Bank6/7 - A3 : DIMM 512MB/64 @ 667Mt/s

Timings : 5.0-5-5-15 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : HP w2207 Wide LCD Monitor
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512
ForceWare: 169.06

Overclocking settings
==============
CPU Clock Ratio = 8x
CPU Hos Frequency =380
PCI Express Frequency = 100
System Memory Multiplier (Spd) =2.00
CPU Voltage Control = 1.40000v

3DMarks06 test settings
===============
Resolution = default 1280x1024
AA = None
Filtering = Optimal

3DMarks06 test results
===============
11,967 3dmarks
sm2.0 score = 5662
sm3.0 score = 5450
CPU Score = 2683

The question is why my CPU1 and CPU2 Red Valley tests ran extremely slow (both scored 0.84 FPS and 1.35 FPS respectively). Something wrong?
skymyxe
Haha, totally normal. Your CPU score is normal. It should only scores around 1-2 FPS. nod.gif

Btw, try to increase your bus speed to 400Mhz. The E6750 can do 400Mhz bus speed at stock voltage. The current voltage you pumped in is kinda high for only 380Mhz bus speed. icon_rolleyes.gif
a1098113
as sky said, you can go ahead to 3.2Ghz (400*8) on stock voltage.. It would improve your performance significantly. And your rams too, if you can tighten the timings.
retsnom
I see, thanks for the info!

Added on March 23, 2008, 10:09 amAfter overcloked to 3.2MHz, i got new 3Dmarks score:

3Dmarks06 score = 12,160
sm2 = 5,721
sm3 = 5,454
CPU = 2,806

Another question; i use AquaMark3 to test my system few days ago, and the Triscore results:

GFX = 27,936
CPU = 13,857
Score = 139,131

Now after upgraded the Vista Home Premium 32bit with SP1 and overclocking the processor i got lower results:

GFX = 18,432
CPU = 15,233
Score = 114,838

Why is that?
a1098113
maybe its due to the apps level and the amount of bandwidth the apps take? that gives you lower results
IcEMoCHa
i'm experiencing random hanging with my e6600...
Silverfire
Anyone tried F13a and F3b BIOS for P35-DS3/EP35-DS3 yet?
ajaibman
Same as above, anyone Tried the F11 bios for DS3L, I knew it was build for DS4, but just wondering if it can be used for DS3L.

Or should i just stick with F7? or F8a/b?

Please advice.. since had several report on differend forum, F7 bios on DS3L not that friendly with Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2.

Bios F11 : http://drivers.softpedia.com/get/BIOS/Giga...-BIOS-F11.shtml
hongwai
http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLAPL

1.3625 volts is the upper range for 45nm procs...although they scale well with voltage, but anything above intel's range is probably gonna accelerate processor degration.

IcEMoCHa
sold my e8400... going for q6700... 65nm still rocks eh?... biggrin.gif
Hoodlums
Hurms I have problem OC my E4400 over 399Mhz FSB, maybe hit FSB Wall??
Currently using Gigabyte P35-DS3 Rev 1.0 F12 BIOS, Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro, Acbel iPower 450W..
Max OC With 1.6Vcore
Hoodlums
Hurms I have problem OC my E4400 over 399Mhz FSB, maybe hit FSB Wall??
Currently using Gigabyte P35-DS3 Rev 1.0 F12 BIOS, Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro, Acbel iPower 450W..
Max OC With 1.6Vcore
clawhammer
Maybe you can set your RAM 1:1 then try again
karchis
hai..i'm using gigabyte p965 ds3..hot to set memory timing in bios?coz i only found the multiplyer (spd)...
thx..

problem solved...
ocz
Hi guys,noob questions here :

Whats the different between E6300 1.86Ghz 1066 2MB Cache With E6320 1.86Ghz 1066 4MB Cache??

TQ.
IcEMoCHa
cache difference of course... more cache = better...
ocz
QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Mar 26 2008, 09:17 AM)
cache difference of course... more cache = better...

Yeah,TQ.
But the FSB i can always change if o over clocked it right?
IcEMoCHa
yeap... u can change the fsb..
sookyee
how to oc..can anyppl teach me???
karchis
QUOTE(sookyee @ Mar 28 2008, 08:39 PM)
how to oc..can anyppl teach me???

go to this page... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/625156

sookyee
QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 28 2008, 08:07 PM)

thank you..
IcEMoCHa
girl overclocker... waaa ~~
Izwan898
Hi guys...need some advice here...OCed my proc to 475 FSB stable but when increased to 500 FSB, it gives me BSOD when loading windows...it remains unstable although I have increased both my vcore n vdimm to 1.32v and 2.2v...do I have to increase the NB voltage or vcore still not enough?
tkh_1001
i guess ur vcore is too low for 4.2ghz.... ur proc can do how much on stock vcore?
Izwan898
QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:07 PM)
i guess ur vcore is too low for 4.2ghz....  ur proc can do how much on stock vcore?

4.2Ghz?It's 500 fsb bro so it should be 4Ghz...my proc able to do 3.6Ghz with stock vcore...looking forward to run it 4Ghz 24/7...but still trying...I don't think it's the proc or mobo...maybe my ram...dunno lah... rclxub.gif need to check more...
OC4/3
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:12 PM)
4.2Ghz?It's 500 fsb bro so it should be 4Ghz...my proc able to do 3.6Ghz with stock vcore...looking forward to run it 4Ghz 24/7...but still trying...I don't think it's the proc or mobo...maybe my ram...dunno lah... rclxub.gif  need to check more...

Eeeh...500FSB on stock vcore can be consider as a super duper chip already.What is the FPO of it?My Q806A227 fail Orthos@1.425v,446x9. sweat.gif
cstkl1
QUOTE(sookyee @ Mar 29 2008, 07:27 PM)
thank you..

uik here is my chance..
i can teach u.. kekekeke

oh crap phenom.. sorries cant teach u that proc..
tkh_1001
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:12 PM)
4.2Ghz?It's 500 fsb bro so it should be 4Ghz...my proc able to do 3.6Ghz with stock vcore...looking forward to run it 4Ghz 24/7...but still trying...I don't think it's the proc or mobo...maybe my ram...dunno lah... rclxub.gif  need to check more...

eh...silap read doh.gif i tot u are 475x9=4.2ghz tongue.gif

seems like u have the same proc like mine then...

mine can do stable at 1.38v 500x8=4.0ghz without touching other settings on gaygaybyte which have bad vdroop doh.gif

so u might as well try that settings as i think ur ram is good enuf la to do 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 la...but do make sure u pump enuf vdimm though...
Izwan898
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:35 PM)
Eeeh...500FSB on stock vcore can be consider as a super duper chip already.What is the FPO of it?My Q806A227 fail Orthos@1.425v,446x9. sweat.gif

Hehe bro u misunderstood me lah...3.6Ghz only on stock vcore lah brooo... tongue.gif ....mine Q748A095...owh, I used multiplier 8 since I heard it's better but cannot go beyond 3.8Ghz...There's something wrong so any sifu here can tell me?NB voltage or McH maybe? icon_question.gif

Added on April 1, 2008, 8:00 pmAnyone can help?And 1 more, why my mobo got double boot problem?Is it normal?
sookyee
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:36 PM)
uik here is my chance..
i can teach u.. kekekeke

oh crap phenom.. sorries cant teach u that proc..

so can teach me about p4 3.0ghz??
OC4/3
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:40 PM)
Hehe bro u misunderstood me lah...3.6Ghz only on stock vcore lah brooo... tongue.gif ....mine Q748A095...owh, I used multiplier 8 since I heard it's better but cannot go beyond 3.8Ghz...There's something wrong so any sifu here can tell me?NB voltage or McH maybe?  icon_question.gif

Added on April 1, 2008, 8:00 pmAnyone can help?And 1 more, why my mobo got double boot problem?Is it normal?

Get vmch up.Stock vmch voltage is good for up to 440 or so.
Izwan898
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 3 2008, 11:33 AM)
Get vmch up.Stock vmch voltage is good for up to 440 or so.

Vmch?how much need to increase?(noob questions sorry) icon_question.gif
shenshenshen
bro....when i startup my computer i haf a few beep sound....wats tat suppose to mean? error ar?? wat kinda of error and how to fix it? its kinda irritating though....the sound.....
clawhammer
QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Apr 5 2008, 12:16 PM)
bro....when i startup my computer i haf a few beep sound....wats tat suppose to mean? error ar?? wat kinda of error and how to fix it? its kinda irritating though....the sound.....

They are error codes. Maybe you can check on the manual what it means.
fesick
what mobo can go higher than 500fsb?
my p35 ds3 cant go any higher than 500fsb..
tkh_1001
QUOTE(fesick @ Apr 7 2008, 12:01 PM)

DFI DK laugh.gif laugh.gif

i heard foxconn mars is not bad either....

anyways.. my previous ds3 also stuck at 500 fsb sweat.gif
justlikeu
foxconn mars is good... i got read the review at PC gamer magazine april !!!
fesick
QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Apr 7 2008, 06:50 PM)
DFI DK  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

i heard foxconn mars is not bad either....

anyways.. my previous ds3 also stuck at 500 fsb  sweat.gif

hehehe..i know la u got dfi edi..
i`ll reconsider that one..
and bro..anyproblem when u install ur xigmatek on that board?
did it touch any heatspeader near to it?
if not..sure i target this one leh..~ tongue.gif

QUOTE(justlikeu @ Apr 7 2008, 06:53 PM)
foxconn mars is good... i got read the review at PC gamer magazine april !!!

this board ok..but haha..dunno why,i dislike the design..hahaha
OC4/3
QUOTE(fesick @ Apr 7 2008, 12:01 PM)

Cheapest one will be IP35E
tkh_1001
QUOTE(fesick @ Apr 7 2008, 08:34 PM)
hehehe..i know la u got dfi edi..
i`ll reconsider that one..
and bro..anyproblem when u install ur xigmatek on that board?
did it touch any heatspeader near to it?

erm to install xigmatek on that mobo is kinda hard if u want it to exhaust rearwards... u will have to bend a few fins as the HSF will hit the NB heatsink...

but i sayang want to bend the fins... so i just install it exhaust upwards since my cm690 got exhaust fan at the top tongue.gif
fesick
im thinking to get same case as u too..
so like that need wait again la..
amalmuahahax
hello OCers..
im just getting started to overclocking..
im using Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 mobo + Intel C2D e6750..

i dont really know how to OC my proc.. all i know is EasyTunePro 5 has the feature to OC my proc.. shd i just do it frm there?
what are the other things i need to take into consideration?

thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
kmarc
QUOTE(amalmuahahax @ Apr 8 2008, 02:09 AM)
hello OCers..
im just getting started to overclocking..
im using Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 mobo + Intel C2D e6750..

i dont really know how to OC my proc.. all i know is EasyTunePro 5 has the feature to OC my proc.. shd i just do it frm there?
what are the other things i need to take into consideration?

thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

You can check out my guide on overclocking. I was using the same CPU/mobo when I wrote the guide..... smile.gif
amalmuahahax
QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 8 2008, 07:51 AM)
You can check out my guide on overclocking. I was using the same CPU/mobo when I wrote the guide.....  smile.gif

thanks to kmarc's beginners guide to OCing and also guides from vincentlaw,
i finally tested my first OC skills this evening..

the results..
3.4ghz, 425mhz x 8, 1.375v
core temp average at 58c for 3 hours on Orthos

critics & comments are welcomed nod.gif

fluotone
hrm.. I want to oc too, but worry got some instability problems.. and I know it will definitely wear my pc components faster.. but normally if oc instable increase voltage abit but be carefull and take small steps and not leap.. eg. 1.4v to 1.41v.. safe way smile.gif happy oc-ing tongue.gif
dmc0105
Hurm..
Let say im using q6600+ep35 ds3/p35 ds3...
Can overclock without cooling system??

kmarc
QUOTE(amalmuahahax @ Apr 8 2008, 05:53 PM)
thanks to kmarc's beginners guide to OCing and also guides from vincentlaw,
i finally tested my first OC skills this evening..

the results..
3.4ghz, 425mhz x 8, 1.375v
core temp average at 58c for 3 hours on Orthos

critics & comments are welcomed nod.gif

If you're stressing the proc, make sure you use the "Small FFT - stress CPU" option rather than the "Blend test" in orthos.

That's a nice OC.... last time, my E6750 was running 24/7 @ 3.5Ghz @ 1.425v (set in Bios).... smile.gif (Not a gem proc....)

QUOTE(dmc0105 @ Apr 9 2008, 12:05 PM)
Hurm..
Let say im using q6600+ep35 ds3/p35 ds3...
Can overclock without cooling system??

You mean using stock HSF? You can overclock but it will be limited by the temperature. Keep you core temperature around 60-65'c.....
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.