Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
a1098113
do u mean stock cooling to a 3rd party cooling> oh well, it all depends on what you wanna do and how much of overclocking you intend to do. That really is up to you. Then we can give u inputs.
tesla_rage
QUOTE(flatfinger @ Mar 6 2008, 02:59 PM)
all ds3 mobo dont have it..

Owhhhhh so thats whyyyyyyyy.... biggrin.gif

The chipset heatsink on DS3, it is passively cooled. Anyone changed that to something better?
flatfinger
QUOTE(tesla_rage @ Mar 6 2008, 08:17 PM)
Owhhhhh so thats whyyyyyyyy.... biggrin.gif

The chipset heatsink on DS3, it is passively cooled. Anyone changed that to something better?

change mine to Zalman ZM-NBF47...still passive but good performance...been used it since 965 chip...
Izwan898
QUOTE(flatfinger @ Mar 6 2008, 09:55 PM)
change mine to Zalman ZM-NBF47...still passive but good performance...been used it since 965 chip...

Its ok for u laaa....for those who use Thermalright coolers doesn't have much choice...hard to find suitable chipset cooler... sweat.gif
justlikeu
all sifu,

which temp reading should i read? cuz there's 3 temp reading there... rclxub.gif notworthy.gif ty
mfcm
its core1 n core 2 temp for ur proc temp
Izwan898
and the processor temp is what temp?
flatfinger
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Mar 7 2008, 02:51 AM)
and the processor temp is what temp?

for ur socket most likely...
justlikeu
QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 7 2008, 01:56 AM)
its core1 n core 2 temp for ur proc temp

means i hav to read the core1 and core2 temp reading? jus ignore the proc temp?
Tanakwagu_noh
what happen if i update my current realtek azalia audio driver on p35 ds3?does it update all function or need to reseting all audio setting... blush.gif
bonesboy
Sifus.. Need Help..

Im not sure how to oc it? any1 knw? pls pls pls? Just bought this on friday..

E8200 2.66MHZ
Asus P5N-D
OCZ DDR2 SLI Ready EPP (Using 4GB)
W.D. 320GB SATA2
Asus EN8800GTS 512MB
Gigabyte 800W PSU
Asus Slient Knight AL
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
mfcm
QUOTE(Tanakwagu_noh @ Mar 5 2008, 11:29 PM)
Which one is much powerful E8400 or Q6600? blush.gif

cant compare on it lor..u compared with differ type of proc..dual n quad core sweat.gif of coz both got pro n con
a1098113
QUOTE(bonesboy @ Mar 10 2008, 01:57 AM)
Sifus.. Need Help..

E8200 2.66MHZ
Asus P5N-D
W.D. 320GB SATA2
Asus EN8800GTS 512MB
Gigabyte 800W PSU
Asus Slient Knight AL
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570

well there is a penryn thread if u check.. all the advice u need is given there, bro. Have fun. By the way, nice rig thumbup.gif
OC4/3
QUOTE(bonesboy @ Mar 10 2008, 01:57 AM)
Sifus.. Need Help..

E8200 2.66MHZ
Asus P5N-D
W.D. 320GB SATA2
Asus EN8800GTS 512MB
Gigabyte 800W PSU
Asus Slient Knight AL
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570

Try these,400fsb,1.265v,should be easy doable.Later give you more advice. thumbup.gif Good luck brows.gif
PeowYong
i m using 965P-DS4
wut is this socket for?
as shown in pic...
cant find any useful info from the manual...

[attachmentid=414708]
Izwan898
I think it's for your mobo's power supply...but it's the male one right...hmmm...
clawhammer
QUOTE(PeowYong @ Mar 10 2008, 09:57 PM)
i m using 965P-DS4
wut is this socket for?
as shown in pic...
cant find any useful info from the manual...

[attachmentid=414708]

Some motherboards have this extra power connector and it is from our normal 4-pin molex connector. It's main usage is to provide additional power for extra hungry graphics card (if you have one) smile.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 11 2008, 12:23 AM)
Some motherboards have this extra power connector and it is from our normal 4-pin molex connector. It's main usage is to provide additional power for extra hungry graphics card (if you have one) smile.gif

bro thus the connector support for hungry voltage gfx oni?interm of oc it also will help much to stabilize the mobo voltage rite?
clawhammer
QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 11 2008, 12:27 AM)
bro thus the connector support for hungry voltage gfx oni?interm of oc it also will help much to stabilize the mobo voltage rite?

To be honest, if your system is adequately powered by a 550W PSU for example, moving to a 1000W (of the same standard/quality) doesn't yield a lot of difference in terms of overclockability. Some people thinks 1000W would get the system another extra 100Mhz OC but the fact is, it is most likely not.

For this connector, the manual says it is for the PCI-E additional power and I've tried plugging it in with no extra luck. Another example is the Galaxy 8800GT where it has 2 x PCI-E connector and when I plug one or two, the overclock results are the same. If motherboard manufacturers would want to allow options for extra power to the motherboard, they would've designed it something like those 4-pin/8-pin 12V EPS molex connector because they carry at least 2 x 12V rails rather than such connectors which only carries 1 x 12V.

The best way is to try things out smile.gif I tried all these before and came to a conclusion which is what I'm sharing now.
LittleCordines
Olaa, can anyone help me, a lot ?? WTA Y my rig cannot up the fsb over 334 even the multiplier set to 6?? the max i can go is 333 X 10 @ 1.59 Vcore shocking.gif .. is it my PSU cause i can't hit the higher fsb ?? thanks in advance

see below for my useless rig vmad.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(LittleCordines @ Mar 13 2008, 11:20 AM)
Olaa, can anyone help me, a lot ?? WTA Y my rig cannot up the fsb over 334 even the multiplier set to 6?? the max i can go is 333 X 10 @ 1.59 Vcore  shocking.gif .. is it my PSU cause i can't hit the higher fsb ?? thanks in advance

see below for my useless rig  vmad.gif

how much u expect ur proc can go?3.3ghz not bad for e44 rclxms.gif its mite b u hit ur wall oredi..since with higher clock 333fsb x 10 +3.3ghz u can do, but on 334x6 lower clock u cant do..erm or myb u can list out ur setting for oc such vid,vNB,vdimm n so on
LittleCordines
QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 13 2008, 05:54 PM)
how much u expect ur proc can go?3.3ghz not bad for e44  rclxms.gif its mite b u hit ur wall oredi..since with higher clock 333fsb x 10 +3.3ghz u can do, but on 334x6 lower clock u cant do..erm or myb u can list out ur setting for oc such vid,vNB,vdimm n so on

3.30Ghz is my daily use. i don't expect to oc 3.5Ghz or over. my friend can hit fsb 398 @ low multiplier. but i can't hit over 333 ?? juz wanna know my hardware limit or bcoz of my setting has fault..

now my setting is :

FSB : 333 X 10
RAM speed 640MHz @ 3-3-3-8 (RAM multiplier is 2.00)
Vcore : 1.59 in BIOS
Vdimm : 2.2
Vfsb : + 0.1
Vpci-e : + 0.1
Vcmh : + 0.1

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trials :

: one

FSB : 334 X 10
RAM speed 668MHz @ 4-4-4-12 (RAM multiplier is 2.00)

PC cannot boot, keep on restart

: two

FSB : 334 X 8
RAM speed 668MHz @ auto timings

: three

FSB : 334 X 8
Vdimm : 2.3
Vfsb : + 0.2
Vpci-e : + 0.2
Vcmh : + 0.2

: four

FSB : 334 X 6

mfcm
QUOTE(LittleCordines @ Mar 13 2008, 08:23 PM)
3.30Ghz is my daily use. i don't expect to oc 3.5Ghz or over. my friend can hit fsb 398 @ low multiplier. but i can't hit over 333 ?? juz wanna know my hardware limit or bcoz of my setting has fault..

now my setting is :

FSB : 333 X 10
RAM speed 640MHz @ 3-3-3-8 (RAM multiplier is 2.00)

ouch u used this setting 24/7? shocking.gif rclxub.gif 1.59v for vcore will short ur proc lifespan..btw try loose ur ram..perhaps it coz by ur ram too tight timing if ur proc not hit wall yet..try loose it to 5-5-5-15 an yeah mutiplier 2.00 for 1:1..btw ur vcore too high for daily usage sweat.gif
LittleCordines
ouch u used this setting 24/7? shocking.gif  rclxub.gif 1.59v for vcore will short ur proc lifespan..

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

btw try loose ur ram..perhaps it coz by ur ram too tight timing if ur proc not hit wall yet..try loose it to 5-5-5-15

already done even use the auto mode for the timing

i really donnu what happen wit my rig rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(LittleCordines @ Mar 13 2008, 08:35 PM)
tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
already done even use the auto mode for the timing

i really donnu what happen wit my rig  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

probably u got normal batch..not too good for oc..n now u hit ur proc wall dy..hehe myb can ask ur fren tweak for u.using ur proc n his system..if same mean its oredi hit wall..if can go higher probably others such ur hardware sweat.gif jus my assumtion
LittleCordines
QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 13 2008, 10:46 PM)
probably u got normal batch..not too good for oc..n now u hit ur proc wall dy..hehe myb can ask ur fren tweak for u.using ur proc n his system..if same mean its oredi hit wall..if can go higher probably others such ur hardware sweat.gif jus my assumtion

you don't think my PSU probs ?? coz when us got all same setting @ 3.2GHz, he juz use 1.43125 to run stable but i need to run @ 1.59 Vcore.. shocking.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(LittleCordines @ Mar 13 2008, 08:50 PM)
you don't think my PSU probs ?? coz when us got all same setting @ 3.2GHz, he juz use 1.43125 to run stable but i need to run @ 1.59 Vcore..  shocking.gif

how ur 12v read?easier if u wanna cmfirm coz by ur psu..unplug all hardware cable..jus plug ur psu to ur mobo,hdd n gfx..n yeah for sure ur cooling fan for hsf if using..then run it..c how smile.gif
LittleCordines
QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 13 2008, 11:52 PM)
how ur 12v read?easier if u wanna cmfirm coz by ur psu..unplug all hardware cable..jus plug ur psu to ur mobo,hdd n gfx..n yeah for sure ur cooling fan for hsf if using..then run it..c how smile.gif

Everest read it @ 12.1219V. it only powered an ide hdd, a 93mm and 3 80mm case fan.. have optical drive but not connect it ... my xfx doesn't use 3 phase power system ...

still need to power off the case fan ??
aLWAYStHEsAME
Hi there... I just bought the Pentium D 925 ... need some advice from sifu - sifu sekalian...

my rig spec:
Proc - Presler Pentium D 925 3.0 Ghz (200*15)
Mobo - Asus P5ND2 SLI chipset Nvidia nforce4 SLI Intel Edition
Ram - Corsair cap ayam tongue.gif DDR2 667 1GB value series run in pair 512*2
GC - Nvidia 8600gts

I have tried overclock to 3.6(240*15 = 960 FSB) but not stable(blue screen hang), so I set the voltage to 1.36 at 1st and then to 1.4v but still the same... the temp idle = 31-33, load 38 - 40. I used zalman cnps9700nt HSF

Right now has been downclock a bit to 3562.5(237.5*15 = 950 FSB) and stable. Current temp is 29-30 idle and 35-36 load at default voltage 1.264v

So my question, is this really the limitation of my rig, or can go more? How high u guyz(who use pentium d) can go.. can share with me rclxms.gif

One more thing the ram is not overclock, don't dare coz of cap ayam ram biggrin.gif
Hoodlums
LittleCordines, i can hit MAX 399Mhz FSB.
Can do benchmark like 3DMark 2006 @ 350Mhz*10 like below.

My daily use 350Mhz*9 @ 1.437Vcore, DDR1050 5-5-5-15 @ 2.0Vdimm. icon_rolleyes.gif
wink.gif
Tanakwagu_noh
anyone have update p35 ds3 ..new bios F13A...?

just wan to know ..whether got crash or not.. icon_rolleyes.gif
karchis
hai all sifus..

i got prob with my q6600....i overclock my cpu from 2.Ghz to 3.0Ghz..
when i open everest...it will downclock to 333x 6 =2.0Ghz...if i open the everest again..it will go to 333x9=3.0Ghz..

i disable the EIST in the bios..and try running at normal clock,it shows only the fsb..my comp lagging n 100% comp usage eventhough i open a folder..

so how to solve it?

[attachmentid=418032][attachmentid=418033]
PeowYong
QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 13 2008, 08:46 PM)

how to know if it hit the proc wall??
isnt it the fsb wall he's hitting?
since he cant up his fsb more than 333
how to determine the proc wall?

if he can run 333x10 => 3.33Ghz,
y cant he run 333x6 =>2.0Ghz ?
its not the proc wall he's hitting rite??

anyone can explain??

thanks smile.gif

Added on March 16, 2008, 3:11 am
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 11 2008, 12:23 AM)

hm....
is my gc a power hungry 1?
spec as in sig..
i m able to run it nicely and oc-ed it with my CM extreme power 430W before i changed to Silverstone Strider 500
tyss
QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 15 2008, 05:50 PM)
hai all sifus..

i got prob with my q6600....i overclock my cpu from 2.Ghz to 3.0Ghz..
when i open everest...it will downclock to 333x 6 =2.0Ghz...if i open the everest again..it will go to 333x9=3.0Ghz..

i disable the EIST in the bios..and try running at normal clock,it shows only the fsb..my comp lagging n 100% comp usage eventhough i open a folder..

so how to solve it?
[attachmentid=418032][attachmentid=418033]

i think u have to disable C1E too
general_odin
woot... got my rig OCed...

E8200 2.66Ghz - 3.2Ghz, 1600Mhz
GA-EP35-DS3
Twin2X 2048-6400 - 800Mhz
WD3200AAKS

just set the FSB:RAM ratio to 1:1
so got an stable OC at 3.2Ghz without OCing the RAM

hehe
OC4/3
QUOTE(general_odin @ Mar 16 2008, 10:16 AM)
woot... got my rig OCed...

E8200 2.66Ghz - 3.2Ghz, 1600Mhz
GA-EP35-DS3
Twin2X 2048-6400 - 800Mhz
WD3200AAKS

just set the FSB:RAM ratio to 1:1
so got an stable OC at 3.2Ghz without OCing the RAM

hehe

Give it some orthos stress testing to burn in first thumbup.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(PeowYong @ Mar 16 2008, 03:09 AM)
how to know if it hit the proc wall??
isnt it the fsb wall he's hitting?
since he cant up his fsb more than 333
how to determine the proc wall?

if he can run 333x10 => 3.33Ghz,
y cant he run 333x6 =>2.0Ghz ?
its not the proc wall he's hitting rite??

anyone can explain??

thanks smile.gif

huhu mayb u need to c wat he mention b4..here i quote for u below.ok for the blue font yeah he manage to get 333x10..but he said he cant reach over 334 with the multipiler x6..so can u explain this for me? rclxms.gif wink.gif dats y i suspected he readh his wall dy..coz he cant even push 334 for lower multi..if with 334x6 he can pass for sure i didnt said hit wall since it lower clock he shud b np to running it blush.gif

Olaa, can anyone help me, a lot ?? WTA Y my rig cannot up the fsb over 334 even the multiplier set to 6?? the max i can go is 333 X 10 @ 1.59 Vcore  shocking.gif .. is it my PSU cause i can't hit the higher fsb ?? thanks in advance

PeowYong
QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 11 2008, 12:27 AM)

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 11 2008, 12:40 AM)
To be honest, if your system is adequately powered by a 550W PSU for example, moving to a 1000W (of the same standard/quality) doesn't yield a lot of difference in terms of overclockability. Some people thinks 1000W would get the system another extra 100Mhz OC but the fact is, it is most likely not.

For this connector, the manual says it is for the PCI-E additional power and I've tried plugging it in with no extra luck. Another example is the Galaxy 8800GT where it has 2 x PCI-E connector and when I plug one or two, the overclock results are the same. If motherboard manufacturers would want to allow options for extra power to the motherboard, they would've designed it something like those 4-pin/8-pin 12V EPS molex connector because they carry at least 2 x 12V rails rather than such connectors which only carries 1 x 12V.

The best way is to try things out smile.gif I tried all these before and came to a conclusion which is what I'm sharing now.

i plugged in the molex already...
and it gives me slighlty more stable overclock as i am able to oc (not gc, havent tested out oc gc yet) higher...

QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 13 2008, 08:46 PM)

QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 16 2008, 06:04 PM)
huhu mayb u need to c wat he mention b4..here i quote for u below.ok for the blue font yeah he manage to get 333x10..but he said he cant reach over 334 with the multipiler x6..so can u explain this for me? rclxms.gif  wink.gif dats y i suspected he readh his wall dy..coz he cant even push 334 for lower multi..if with 334x6 he can pass for sure i didnt said hit wall since it lower clock he shud b np to running it blush.gif

i did see wut he mention...
yup... i think he means that he is able to up the fsb for 333 and working, and for 334, he cant even get it to work even though he lower the multiplier to 6
means that 333x6 its still working, 333x10 also working
but 334x10 or even 334x6 he cant get it to work...

so i think its the fsb wall he is hitting, means that the wall is at fsb=333 coz when its 334, it cant get it to work
its not the proc wall he is hitting, coz 333x10=>3.33 GHz
and when 333x6=>2.0 GHz (couldnt be proc wall as he can run it at 3.33GHz, it surely can run at 2.0GHz)

am i correct?

just wanna get things rite tongue.gif

thanks smile.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(PeowYong @ Mar 16 2008, 09:30 PM)
i plugged in the molex already...
and it gives me slighlty more stable overclock as i am able to oc (not gc, havent tested out oc gc yet) higher...
i did see wut he mention...
yup... i think he means that he is able to up the fsb for 333 and working, and for 334, he cant even get it to work even though he lower the multiplier to 6
means that 333x6 its still working, 333x10 also working
but 334x10 or even 334x6 he cant get it to work...

so i think its the fsb wall he is hitting, means that the wall is at fsb=333 coz when its 334, it cant get it to work
its not the proc wall he is hitting, coz 333x10=>3.33 GHz
and when 333x6=>2.0 GHz (couldnt be proc wall as he can run it at 3.33GHz, it surely can run at 2.0GHz)

am i correct?

just wanna get things rite tongue.gif

thanks smile.gif

haha np..then bout of us mite misunderstood bout it..yeah i mean his wall 333fsb..didnt mean his proc clock wall icon_rolleyes.gif
aLWAYStHEsAME
Bro OC4/3
what u mean by "Give it some orthos stress testing to burn in first"... it is good for computer health??
sempronic
QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ Mar 17 2008, 01:46 AM)
Bro OC4/3
what u mean by "Give it some orthos stress testing to burn in first"... it is good for computer health??

oit aLWAYStHEsAME....

look like u already OC the proc ar??huhuhu.. brows.gif
what cooler that u use?
uzairi
LOL

Please google what is orthos bro.
aLWAYStHEsAME
QUOTE(sempronic @ Mar 17 2008, 01:54 AM)
oit aLWAYStHEsAME....

look like u already OC the proc ar??huhuhu.. brows.gif
what cooler that u use?

Yo bro...
just try... but not stable la haha... maybe mobo not compatible... Use Zalman HSF
sempronic
QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ Mar 17 2008, 02:28 AM)
Yo bro...
just try... but not stable la haha... maybe mobo not compatible... Use Zalman HSF

owwhhhh....from 3.0ghz to 3.5ghz is good already..
using it 24/7 ar??
aLWAYStHEsAME
QUOTE(sempronic @ Mar 17 2008, 02:40 AM)
owwhhhh....from 3.0ghz to 3.5ghz is good already..
using it 24/7 ar??

Really... but I thought can go more... biggrin.gif, err..what is 24/7?? rclxub.gif
kmarc
QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ Mar 17 2008, 03:59 AM)
Really... but I thought can go more... biggrin.gif, err..what is 24/7??  rclxub.gif

24/7 = 24 hours / 7 days.....
aLWAYStHEsAME
Owh... Ingatkan related with overclock.. haha tongue.gif

Just use 8-12 hours per day... sometime running 2 three days coz menorrent..
Ur pc run 24/7?
OC4/3
My pc run 24/7.Burn in is good for processor before doing full overclock.Moderate overclock and give it some stress testing to burn in.
aLWAYStHEsAME
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 17 2008, 11:52 AM)
My pc run 24/7.Burn in is good for processor before doing full overclock.Moderate overclock and give it some stress testing to burn in.

I see... 24/7 for burn in purpose... thanks for the explanation bro... I'm kinda new in this overclocking thing... I have read the guide before.. but mostly not understand.. just know increase the FSB and monitor the temperature only tongue.gif
a1098113
fiirstly work on the fsb.. then do the rest later..
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.