Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
coolice
QUOTE(cyberfly @ Feb 1 2008, 12:49 PM)
no wonder i tried many times but still cannot access there.
then what should i do?

i mean gigabyte remove the ctrl+f1 in order to enable advanced setting in MIT biggrin.gif
ezinger
is there any clock settings that we newbies can refer to?

like vcore, dimm volt, bus speed, ram timings, etc..?
bryanyeo87
you have 2 choices,

1) Tight timings, ( i assume ur rams can handle them)
2) Looser timings ( kingston restamped can do those speeds, so can u lol)

take ur pick :3
Izwan898
QUOTE(ezinger @ Feb 2 2008, 03:19 PM)
is there any clock settings that we newbies can refer to?

like vcore, dimm volt, bus speed, ram timings, etc..?

Every rig has it's own setting...u can post your full spec here so easier sifus here to help u dude.... icon_rolleyes.gif
ezinger
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Feb 2 2008, 05:41 PM)
Every rig has it's own setting...u can post your full spec here so easier sifus here to help u dude.... icon_rolleyes.gif

Mainboard : Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Chipset : Intel P31/P35
Processor : Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2400 MHz
Physical Memory : 4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
Video Card : Nvidia Corp NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
Hard Disk : GRAID (1000 GB)
Operating System : Windows ™ Vista Ultimate Professional 6.00.6000
DirectX : Version 10.00
Windows Performance Index : 5.9

anymore info you sifu's need? thumbup.gif
ezinger

anybody running vista x64?

i have boot issue's when changing clock settings in bios and booting into windows. but after that, everything goes ok...

my vcore is 1.4 vdimm is 2.1
general_odin
hello... i have a Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 on my GA-EP35-DS3
well... i want to OC my processor without increasing the voltage.

any guidelines or screenshot?
a1098113
@ezin
stepping of your proc and also what the brand of your rams.
skymyxe
QUOTE(general_odin @ Feb 4 2008, 10:42 PM)
hello... i have a Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 on my GA-EP35-DS3
well... i want to OC my processor without increasing the voltage.

any guidelines or screenshot?

Just keep increasing the Bus speed gradually until your PC can't boot. nod.gif
a1098113
nice guide there kmarc brows.gif
a1098113
just pump fsb at a 1:1 ratio with your dram la. Till u cant boot then,then do a stress test, and reduce your fsb till its stable at the highest clock la laugh.gif
general_odin
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 4 2008, 11:58 PM)
@ezin

oic... my proc is done under CO stepping,
and my ram is a Corsair XMS2 Twin 2x 2048-6400C5 DHX

QUOTE(skymyxe @ Feb 5 2008, 12:14 AM)
Just keep increasing the Bus speed gradually until your PC can't boot.  nod.gif

oic... good idea...
but will waste some time la... sad.gif

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 5 2008, 12:16 AM)
just pump fsb at a 1:1 ratio with your dram la. Till u cant boot then,then do a stress test, and reduce your fsb till its stable at the highest clock la laugh.gif

your 1:1 means???
is it when my FSB = 400Mhz my RAM also must be 400MHz ?

how to do a stress test?
a1098113
yes for better stability. Do a stress test for CPU with Orthos Prime or OCCT and with ram u use memtest
general_odin
OIC... thanks for the advice....
i appreciate it alot...

Added on February 4, 2008, 11:53 pmerm... can u post the download link for Orthos Prime and Memtest here too ???
ezinger
my latest overclock

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 4 2008, 10:58 PM)
@ezin

GO stepping with ocz hpc reaper 4gb kit
general_odin
wow... nice result...
any E8200 + EP35-DS3 users here???
can anyone post their E8200 OC results....
icon_question.gif
kmarc
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 4 2008, 11:14 PM)
nice guide there kmarc brows.gif

Wait for my "Basic guide to DDR2 overclocking"... brows.gif If I'm not too lazy.... whistling.gif

Anyway, I've added my other long-lost guide on overclocking 939/AM2.... quite an old guide.....
a1098113
@kmarc
Yeah i can give some inputs also if you want brows.gif Now i am mastering the art of Memset brows.gif

Dont be lazy la. Be hardworking!! laugh.gif
kmarc
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 5 2008, 09:27 AM)
@kmarc
Yeah i can give some inputs also if you want brows.gif Now i am mastering the art of Memset brows.gif

Dont be lazy la. Be hardworking!! laugh.gif

CNY mood ma..... but now back in hometown, nothing much to do also..... sweat.gif

Sure, any input is welcomed..... smile.gif (if I can get my butt to start the guide! whistling.gif )
gsan
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 31 2008, 08:40 PM)
I got NBTD so I thought I just whip up a basic guide for noobs on overclocking the E6750 or Q6600..... should apply to any other C2D/C2Q  smile.gif

Look here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry15451675

Link in my sig too....  smile.gif

Note : Still in progress but the basic OC is already in place....

nice overclock guide, now I only know the diff. between vdroop & vdrop tongue.gif
kmarc
QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 5 2008, 09:35 AM)
nice overclock guide, now I only know the diff. between vdroop & vdrop  tongue.gif

Wah, overclocking sifu give me compliments! Takut takut.... notworthy.gif
gsan
QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 5 2008, 09:43 AM)
Wah, overclocking sifu give me compliments! Takut takut....  notworthy.gif

lol... you're more expert than me on intel platform notworthy.gif
kmarc
QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 5 2008, 09:48 AM)
lol... you're more expert than me on intel platform  notworthy.gif

No la...... me average overclocker only.....

Anyway, gonna get started on DDR2 overclocking guide.....

You guys use memset to set timings when OCing the rams in windows?

The few times I use memset, the rig will hang, making it easier to set from BIOS and gradual OC in windows....

What do you guys usually do when searching for the best OC with the best timings?
a1098113
yeah i use memset in windows. And just click apply la, if hang then just reboot and it goes back to previous settings. Until u r very sure of anything, never click save.. brows.gif i thought i lost my pc after that.
cschun86
Here is my latest OC result, later only do orthos for 8 hours, no time to do so long... >.<

sogoatticus
sori to disturb..wat is the most accurate temp monitor software for Intel C2D E6550?tried RMClock ,Coretemp, all different readings..mobo as in my sig..
ezinger
i'm letting go my P35-DS3R.

since some of you have seen what this mobo can with my overclocking pics, thought some might be interested biggrin.gif
a1098113
@sogo
adik, the most accurate so far is the coretemp 0.95.4. Use that.

Added on February 7, 2008, 1:34 pm
QUOTE(ezinger @ Feb 7 2008, 01:33 PM)
i'm letting go my P35-DS3R.

since some of you have seen what this mobo can with my overclocking pics, thought some might be interested biggrin.gif

post at lyn garage sales. laugh.gif
ezinger
@a1098113

where are you getting your mars?
sogoatticus
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 7 2008, 01:33 PM)
@sogo
adik, the most accurate so far is the coretemp 0.95.4. Use that.

Added on February 7, 2008, 1:34 pm

post at lyn garage sales. laugh.gif

wah..called me adik..how u know my age? vmad.gif im 23 ya know..lolx
a1098113
@sogo
i know your age by how u post. I am 2 years older than you. So figure. laugh.gif calm down. I call you adik only la.

Added on February 7, 2008, 10:31 pm@ezinger
when my finances permit me bro, alot of commitments at the moment. It seems to be a very promising board. But like Moores Law, technology changes too quick.
sogoatticus
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 7 2008, 10:30 PM)
@sogo
i know your age by how u post. I am 2 years older than you. So figure. laugh.gif calm down. I call you adik only la.

Added on February 7, 2008, 10:31 pm@ezinger
when my finances permit me bro, alot of commitments at the moment. It seems to be a very promising board. But like Moores Law, technology changes too quick.

lolx..wat do u mean by 'how u post'..u mean my accent?or my total post?anyway thx for the info bout coretemp 0.95.4
a1098113
i meant by how you post la, not your post count.....
cstkl1
QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Feb 7 2008, 11:40 PM)
lolx..wat do u mean by 'how u post'..u mean my accent?or my total post?anyway thx for the info bout coretemp 0.95.4

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 7 2008, 11:57 PM)
i meant by how you post la, not your post count.....

ish some ppl write their birthday on their profile..
tomatos
What does priority for Orthos do? Like priority 1 compare to priority 8?
a1098113
QUOTE(ezinger @ Feb 7 2008, 06:58 PM)
@a1098113

where are you getting your mars?

to answer the question, i might be getting it from darkscythe.
skymyxe
a1098113 really can guess your age la. brows.gif

Btw, why ain't getting E8400 instead of E8200? I thought you wanted the Q9450 hmm.gif
ezinger
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 8 2008, 08:50 PM)
to answer the question, i might be getting it from darkscythe.

haha me too! might be getting it by 20hours brows.gif
nelienuxe_sara
@TS
i just got my self a new dkp35
the bios setting kinda hard...
all seems to be in manual
last time i use m2n-e
to set the ram timing quite easy
mind to help me

btw i use e2160 rite now
just bought it yasterday
Izwan898
Guys, juz now I tried to raise my OC to 3.6Ghz but failed after a few minutes...my question is, do I have to change the stock chipset cooler on the P35 DS3?Coz I tried to touch it and it was freakin hot!!Any suggestions? icon_question.gif
ah_khoo
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Feb 15 2008, 05:20 AM)
Guys, juz now I tried to raise my OC to 3.6Ghz but failed after a few minutes...my question is, do I have to change the stock chipset cooler on the P35 DS3?Coz I tried to touch it and it was freakin hot!!Any suggestions? icon_question.gif

iirc, p35 chipset is hot, make sure it's actively cooled if oc is done bro. can try to get d evercool chipset cooler which does good job in coolin any chipset. i got it installed on my 965p ds3 lastime, no problem at all (i assume ds3 boards have almost d same layout (smaller in width). however if larger board like d cf version of ds3, it mite not be fit as i can't get it intalled on 965p-ds3p. smile.gif
general_odin
after looking and talking so much,
this is my first post for my rig
Overclocked my E8200 on a GA-EP35-DS3

i just pump the FSB, no Vcore and Vdimm mod
OCed to 400Mhz FSB and 800MHz RAM
3.2Ghz Core Speed, dunno why the CPU-Z detect it only as 2.4Ghz... lol

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=398337
OC4/3
QUOTE(general_odin @ Feb 15 2008, 12:23 PM)
after looking and talking so much,
this is my first post for my rig
Overclocked my E8200 on a GA-EP35-DS3

i just pump the FSB, no Vcore and Vdimm mod
OCed to 400Mhz FSB and 800MHz RAM
3.2Ghz Core Speed, dunno why the CPU-Z detect it only as 2.4Ghz... lol

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=398337

Disable EIST and Speed step.Should be ok after that.
ezinger
anyway with DS3R or a GIGABYTE SATA2 chipset storage controller please pm me.

I need help. Location around KL is better. I will give a reward smile.gif ka-ching!
Izwan898
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Feb 15 2008, 09:49 AM)
iirc, p35 chipset is hot, make sure it's actively cooled if oc is done bro. can try to get d evercool chipset cooler which does good job in coolin any chipset. i got it installed on my 965p ds3 lastime, no problem at all (i assume ds3 boards have almost d same layout (smaller in width). however if larger board like d cf version of ds3, it mite not be fit as i can't get it intalled on 965p-ds3p.  smile.gif

Thanx bro ah khoo for the reply...
Anyway evercool chipset cooler that good?Hurmm, rite now using ultra extreme 120...feared it won't fit coz the clearance is sooo close la bro... hmm.gif Hmmm juz lowered my OC to 3.2Ghz since it was too hot.... sweat.gif
ah_khoo
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Feb 15 2008, 02:58 PM)
Thanx bro ah khoo for the reply...
Anyway evercool chipset cooler that good?Hurmm, rite now using ultra extreme 120...feared it won't fit coz the clearance is sooo close la bro... hmm.gif Hmmm juz lowered my OC to 3.2Ghz since it was too hot.... sweat.gif

gud enuf to tmae d temp i wud say. trustworthy chipset cooler since d gud old days of nf4. laugh.gif
voditoleons
hey guys i am using e8200 with a stock fan
and i oc it till 2.88ghz with 47 degree (prime95 running)
is the temp ok? can i oc more? my aim is 3ghz
salamz
i do this on my office pc. hehehe... tongue.gif

P4 631 3.0GHz @ 4.2GHz

user posted image user posted image

CPU-Z Validation <-- click
LittleCordines
Anyone can help me, with my rig .. please see below, 4 my rig. i'm running it on 1.56125 Vcore & 2.20 Vdimm.. i'm not understand Y my rig need to set high Vcore n Vdimm to running stable .. idle temp 35C, load about 65C when stressed it...
sparrowed
QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 5 2008, 09:53 AM)
No la...... me average overclocker only.....

Anyway, gonna get started on DDR2 overclocking guide.....

You guys use memset to set timings when OCing the rams in windows?

The few times I use memset, the rig will hang, making it easier to set from BIOS and gradual OC in windows....

What do you guys usually do when searching for the best OC with the best timings?

im a new intel user since 2 days ago. ya memset is the same approach as A64 tweaker (used to be amd user). what i do is pretty simple, overclock the ram speed and leave the timings in auto. And i will boot up to windows record all the timings on a piece of paper. then gradually reduce the timing one by one (record the timing as well) untill it hangs.

Then i boot up to windows again but with a bit higher ram voltage, and try to set all those timings which i recorded before it hangs. From there i lower it again untill i find the lowest timing possible.

this is how i tweak the RAM timing, and for the RAM bandwidth, the same approach can be used.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.