Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
tomatos
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 23 2008, 11:29 AM)
Meaning that your computer will not run properlly once you OC the RAM too much...even though your CPU still has some OC headroom left. Say you can OC your RAM up to 500MHz, and your FSB up to 480MHz (as in most cases over at the C2D OC thread). So you run 4:5 ratio. Your RAM fails you at 501MHz, so you have to settle for 500MHz...at 4:5 ratio, your FSB is limited at 400MHz even though it can OC up to 480MHz.

He wanted an OC to 3.6GHz and that was one of my suggestion. Unless he has stated he wanted above 3.6GHz then of course 1:1 would be better.
clayclws
Anyway, best to increase FSB, RAM speed AND overall CPU speed. Good luck cschun86.
cschun86
QUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 23 2008, 09:41 AM)
At FSB 356 you have a ram that is running 534MHz(1068) i believe your FSB:DRAM ratio is 4:6

Try running this to get 3.6GHz
FSB 400
FSB:DRAM 1:1
Therefore ram would be 800MHz. Besides 1.4V vcore is abit high for 356MHz FSB. I believe your ram is pulling the OC down.

If your sure ur ram can run 1000MHz change the FSB:DRAM to 4:5

Here is it,
the setting is

Vcore: 1.45V (bios), 1.39V (2 x orthos stress)
Vdimm: 2.1V
CPU clock : 356mhz x 9 (3.2Ghz)
the screenie below~

sorry, have to use link coz i am using 24" monitor,
the print screen size is too big,
if I resize, it will be blur...

and mine cant go 3.6Ghz...
duno why sad.gif
tried at fsb:dram @ 1:1
9 x 400 and 8 x 450 @ Vcore = 1.6V (bios)
both also hang in windows...

airputra
sorry wrong statement
tomatos
Can't really say what's holding your OC but 1.6V is abit too high.
cschun86
QUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 23 2008, 12:38 PM)
Can't really say what's holding your OC but 1.6V is abit too high.

ya, i know it is high,
I also wondering which is holding mine OC at 3.6ghz...
sigh...
munspecs
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 22 2008, 11:01 PM)
@mun

nice clocks. Hows the heat of the prescott? hehe.

actually i just use stock HSF, and my temp just 49'C. im surprise with it.

[attachmentid=385332]

clawhammer
QUOTE(cschun86 @ Jan 23 2008, 12:17 PM)
Here is it,
the setting is

Vcore: 1.45V (bios), 1.39V (2 x orthos stress)
Vdimm: 2.1V
CPU clock : 356mhz x 9 (3.2Ghz)
the screenie below~

sorry, have to use link coz i am using 24" monitor,
the print screen size is too big,
if I resize, it will be blur...

and mine cant go 3.6Ghz...
duno why sad.gif
tried at fsb:dram @ 1:1
9 x 400 and 8 x 450 @ Vcore = 1.6V (bios)
both also hang in windows...

Try a more relaxed RAM timings, increase some of those MCH, ICHIO, etc voltages.
Which point did it hang? Can it pass Super PI?
cschun86
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jan 23 2008, 02:45 PM)
Try a more relaxed RAM timings, increase some of those MCH, ICHIO, etc voltages.
Which point did it hang? Can it pass Super PI?

increase MCH, ICHIO +0.1V
ram timing already loose to 5-5-5-15 d,
point hang when loading antivirus and ATI tray icon
iman_210
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 22 2008, 09:16 PM)
Tjunction for most M0 and G0 steppings are 100.....

but mine is l2 stepping...
tomatos
QUOTE(cschun86 @ Jan 23 2008, 04:25 PM)
increase MCH, ICHIO +0.1V
ram timing already loose to 5-5-5-15 d,
point hang when loading antivirus and ATI tray icon

Try disabling the programmes that causes your pc to hang. Did you pass orthos/prime95?
a1098113
@iman

highlight the "most" in my sentence. Did not tell you all have it. By the way what version of Core temp do you have?
cschun86
QUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 23 2008, 05:59 PM)
Try disabling the programmes that causes your pc to hang. Did you pass orthos/prime95?

3.6ghz totally not stable,
3.2ghz already passed 9 hours double orthos stress...
Izwan898
QUOTE(cschun86 @ Jan 23 2008, 08:21 PM)

Maybe not enough vdimm? hmm.gif Happened to me last time...set it @2.0V and always hang in windows....raised it to 2.1V, voila!!! icon_rolleyes.gif
cschun86
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Jan 23 2008, 08:44 PM)
Maybe not enough vdimm? hmm.gif  Happened to me last time...set it @2.0V and always hang in windows....raised it to 2.1V, voila!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

now already set to 2.1V wor,
wana go futher arh?
iman_210
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 23 2008, 06:02 PM)
@iman

highlight the "most" in my sentence. Did not tell you all have it. By the way what version of Core temp do you have?

core temp latest version...0.96.1

yup...noted most...but bit fairly confused why my l2 stepping got tjunc at 100...
Izwan898
QUOTE(cschun86 @ Jan 23 2008, 08:55 PM)
now already set to 2.1V wor,
wana go futher arh?

Dunno...but before this, I keep failing orthos when set @ 3.4Ghz...out of frustration, I set the voltages on AUTO n voila!!No more crashes n hang ups....so I juz set my voltage according the settings auto set by the bios n keep lowering it until u lost the stability...that's my running voltage now...at first, BIOS auto set to 1.425 n now I'm running juz 1.41875, stable..... icon_rolleyes.gif nod.gif

So I think u should try auto first n see from there if u need more vdimm... hmm.gif
bryanyeo87
QUOTE(cschun86 @ Jan 23 2008, 08:21 PM)

you should have runned dividers and see what the max the rams can do first on what voltage and timings

anyway, try +0.2 mch and +0.2fsb and +0.1 pcie

works for some people smile.gif

forgot to mention the NB needs to be cooled, use your hand to touch it smile.gif

Added on January 24, 2008, 4:28 amand tRD (aka performance level in memset 3.3 and above) in bios needs to be set at 12 to eliminate if it is the cause of the problems
nicholasmark
whoa lunn ley sweat.gif
cschun86
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Jan 24 2008, 04:24 AM)
you should have runned dividers and see what the max the rams can do first on what voltage and timings

anyway, try +0.2 mch and +0.2fsb and +0.1 pcie

works for some people smile.gif

forgot to mention the NB needs to be cooled, use your hand to touch it smile.gif

Added on January 24, 2008, 4:28 amand tRD (aka performance level in memset 3.3 and above) in bios needs to be set at 12 to eliminate if it is the cause of the problems

the NB is hot even when i am clocking to 3.2Ghz,
now waiting the Thermalright HR-05 SLi/ IFX to arrive,
then only see how far it can go...
GRexer
QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jan 23 2008, 09:55 PM)
core temp latest version...0.96.1

yup...noted most...but bit fairly confused why my l2 stepping got tjunc at 100...

Same problem here. CoreTemp is reading the Tjunction as 100 on both my L2 E2140 and E2160, same install of windows though, updated to 0.96.1 from my previous 0.96 also the same. Guess you are not alone in this "problem"
realone
new pc spec :

intel core 2 duo E6550
OCZ gold edition ddr2 800 1gbx2
gigabyte GA-p35-DS3 (rev2.1)

OC result:

GRexer
Nice... welcome to the 2000MHz FSB(Quad pumped) club laugh.gif
realone
QUOTE(GRexer @ Jan 24 2008, 08:19 PM)
Nice... welcome to the 2000MHz FSB(Quad pumped) club laugh.gif

all running at stock except the vdimm at 2.3v...opps a bit too high. hehe thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
kmarc
QUOTE(realone @ Jan 24 2008, 08:20 PM)
all running at stock except the vdimm at 2.3v...opps a bit too high. hehe thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Are you sure your E6550 is running at stock vcore? If it is, you have a very very very rare proc there. However, I think your mobo is auto-overvolting the proc......

Anyway, 500mhz bus speed is a good OC. Is it stable?
realone
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 24 2008, 08:39 PM)
Are you sure your E6550 is running at stock vcore? If it is, you have a very very very rare proc there. However, I think your mobo is auto-overvolting the proc......

Anyway, 500mhz bus speed is a good OC. Is it stable?

nah

it is at stock vcore. hehe.
kmarc
QUOTE(realone @ Jan 24 2008, 08:46 PM)
nah

Errr.... core temp is only showing you the VID, and not the actual vcore.

Run easytune5, and see what is the vcore AT LOAD. Alternatively, you can use CPU-z......

What's your core temp at load?
realone
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 24 2008, 08:48 PM)
Errr.... core temp is only showing you the VID, and not the actual vcore.

Run easytune5, and see what is the vcore AT LOAD. Alternatively, you can use CPU-z......

What's your core temp at load?

core temp at load is 60c with stock intel HSF.. hehe

kmarc
QUOTE(realone @ Jan 24 2008, 08:57 PM)

Stress it with a stress program e.g. Orthos, OCCT..... if it is stable, than you have a gem proc! thumbup.gif
a1098113
hmm try super pi32M, then go on to OCCT for 30 minutes after that orthos prime for a finite amount of time.. this should prove your proc to be stable..

by the way, OCCT has a bug with the 1 hour test, it hangs.. anyones faced it?
iman_210
QUOTE(GRexer @ Jan 24 2008, 06:50 PM)
Same problem here. CoreTemp is reading the Tjunction as 100 on both my L2 E2140 and E2160, same install of windows though, updated to 0.96.1 from my previous 0.96 also the same. Guess you are not alone in this "problem"

m stil confused and googling is not helping either...
gsan
QUOTE(realone @ Jan 24 2008, 08:57 PM)

nice proc thumbup.gif btw, what's the week production for this proc?
clawhammer
The author of Core Temp might have missed out correcting L2 E2xxx as Tjunction 85. You can send him an email.
DevilMan
Juts bought E8200, EP35-DS3.
Able to push to 3.6 easily and beleive push up to 4Ghz. Will get better mobo cooling and better ram.
Dreamworks
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 24 2008, 10:19 PM)
hmm try super pi32M, then go on to OCCT for 30 minutes after that orthos prime for a finite amount of time.. this should prove your proc to be stable..

by the way, OCCT has a bug with the 1 hour test, it hangs.. anyones faced it?

Your PC not stable, that's why OCCT hanged! tongue.gif Anyway, I had ran the 1 hour test many times, and no hangs so far...
uzairi
QUOTE(realone @ Jan 24 2008, 08:14 PM)
new pc spec :

intel core 2 duo E6550
OCZ gold edition ddr2 800 1gbx2
gigabyte GA-p35-DS3 (rev2.1)
OC result:

QUOTE(realone @ Jan 24 2008, 08:46 PM)
nah

Wah, sure a nice proc. Tried orthos ? hmm.gif
clayclws
realone, I think you should stress your CPU with Orthos or whatever that others suggested. I was supremely happy with my E6550 when I could set its FSB at 535MHz last time. But, when I stress it...dead in less than a minute. After spending a very long time to fine tune my OC, it finally comes at 500MHz in an aircon room with both CNPS9700NT and Ultima90i. It could go 503MHz but I just like to round things up tongue.gif In normal room temperature, I set it back to 480MHz just as precaution even though it ran fine at 500MHz as well. My vCore was 0.1v more than default for 500MHz and 0.08v for 480MHz. vDroop was high at 0.04v if I'm not mistaken.
clawhammer
Precisely and a Super PI screenshot is more like for fun smile.gif It doesn't mean that thing runs stable and we can't enjoy that kind of speed daily.
kaiser_falco
hmmmm all p965 owner of ds3 rejoice....it seem like ds3 p965 is supporting 45nm...without guarantee though,here is some bios update from gigabyte..check for other version also,and remember which revision is your board.

http://www.giga-byte.com/Support/Motherboa...?ProductID=2314
a1098113
QUOTE(Dreamworks @ Jan 24 2008, 11:55 PM)
Your PC not stable, that's why OCCT hanged! tongue.gif Anyway, I had ran the 1 hour test many times, and no hangs so far...

no la, i used 30 minutes and its fine, explain to me how can it hang on stock volts running at 1.6Ghz laugh.gif and ram below 667Mhz laugh.gif
SlayerXT
Better get Xigmatek lor.
BuLaNaR
join koc team at uia gombak lor,huhu
munspecs
QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jan 25 2008, 08:59 PM)
Better get Xigmatek lor.

why need xigmatek if just use stock HSF also not ever touch 55'? sweat.gif
Dreamworks
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 25 2008, 07:16 PM)
no la, i used 30 minutes and its fine, explain to me how can it hang on stock volts running at 1.6Ghz laugh.gif and ram below 667Mhz laugh.gif

Hmm... Then maybe your proc is too slow for OCCT, it can't keep up with OCCT's instructions and fell down... Hanged lo laugh.gif rclxub.gif

Anyway, my current RAMs are holding me back from OC, can Hynix FP-Y5 take 2.2volts? brows.gif sweat.gif I think someone asked a question like this not long ago, but I forgotten who liao.
a1098113
@dream
laugh.gif ur funny boy. Anyways, yes it can, u can go up to 2.35-2.4V, still can brows.gif Its only up to you smile.gif

@bulanar
yes u can do promotions elsewhere. Not a KOC fan here. Too much publicity. I prefer underground setups.
DevilMan
any ds4 user here? especially for P35. Im using DS3 with dual fan and the temp max load at 40c (500FSB) without aircond.
I dont like the temp, wanna decide if I should go for DS4. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
clayclws
QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jan 27 2008, 02:10 AM)
any ds4 user here? especially for P35. Im using DS3 with dual fan and the temp max load at 40c (500FSB) without aircond.
I dont like the temp, wanna decide if I should go for DS4.  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

Wa...might as well go for DQ6 drool.gif BTW, did you replace the thermal paste of your North and Southbridge with a high performance one?
DevilMan
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 27 2008, 02:19 AM)
Wa...might as well go for DQ6  drool.gif  BTW, did you replace the thermal paste of your North and Southbridge with a high performance one?

hmmm, i have plans to go fot x48 dq6 but not now.
pocket got big hole edi. didnt dare to open the southbridge yet.
maybe will try to change to tx2 soon. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
clayclws
QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jan 27 2008, 02:25 AM)
hmmm, i have plans to go fot x48 dq6 but not now.
pocket got big hole edi. didnt dare to open the southbridge yet.
maybe will try to change to tx2 soon.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Asus is coming out with a DDR2 version of X48. Nice move I must say. But if only they support both DDR2 & 3. That'll be a worthwhile upgrade.
DevilMan
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 27 2008, 02:35 AM)
Asus is coming out with a DDR2 version of X48. Nice move I must say. But if only they support both DDR2 & 3. That'll be a worthwhile upgrade.

I dont think we need ddr3 at the moment. Intel solution are always damn expensive. Haih... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.