Izwan898
Jan 18 2008, 07:41 PM
Don't worry bro...I'm also in the process of learning from the sifus here....
a1098113
Jan 18 2008, 07:41 PM
@smonster
definitely man, ur very welcomed to ask us all the noob questions u want
SeaMonster
Jan 18 2008, 09:26 PM
Thank You About It..
I'm Waiting For My New Mobo To Arrive Then I Will Start My OC Here
1 Question. How To OC If I'm Ready?
Setting?
clawhammer
Jan 19 2008, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Jan 18 2008, 09:26 PM)
Thank You About It..
I'm Waiting For My New Mobo To Arrive Then I Will Start My OC Here
1 Question. How To OC If I'm Ready?
Setting?
It's a long story and depends on what is your CPU/motherboard/RAM, etc.
engkokyen
Jan 19 2008, 03:28 PM
ok well I'm a newbie too. there has been discussion all around especially when it comes to which chipset offer the best OCbility. from what i've read, P35 chipset is believed to be the best??? if that so, which mobo with P35 chipset is recommended?? I would like to choose one from the options given below. pls giv ur comment. or is there any link to the topic pls show me. thx.
1) ASUS Blizt formula (now there is a new ASUS blizt extreme, what do u think? can we get it in m'sia?). or
2) DFI LANparty UT/DK or BloodIron
i prefer to go for these 2 brands, but just can't make up my mind.
clayclws
Jan 19 2008, 04:02 PM
Alright...I'm a bit confused about higher FSB compared to total CPU speed. Why is it that sopme people tout that having higher FSB is better than total computer speed around the same range? Say 520x6=3120MHz vs 480x7=3360MHz...
SeaMonster
Jan 19 2008, 06:49 PM
Few Noob Question
Q6600 Good For OC? Why? 8Mb Cache & 1066Fsb
And
E6850 No Good For OC? Why? 4Mb Cache & 1333Fsb
tomatos
Jan 19 2008, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 19 2008, 04:02 PM)
Alright...I'm a bit confused about higher FSB compared to total CPU speed. Why is it that sopme people tout that having higher FSB is better than total computer speed around the same range? Say 520x6=3120MHz vs 480x7=3360MHz...
Because you will have a higher memory frequency with a higher FSB. You will get a different benchmark.
skymyxe
Jan 19 2008, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Jan 19 2008, 06:49 PM)
Few Noob Question
And
Because of the E6850 bus speed was set higher therefore, the ability to increase the bus speed is little. Where else with lower bus speed, you can easily increase it to the max and can achieve higher OC results.
In example, my E6750 bus speed was set to 333Mhz. I've increase to 400Mhz and could only achieve 3.2Ghz.
Where else, with a Q6600, the bus speed was set at 266Mhz, and with an increase to 400Mhz you can achieve 3.6Ghz.
Correct me if I'm wrong
skymyxe
Jan 19 2008, 06:59 PM
You can achieve higher CPU speed with lower bus speed with Q6600 compared to the E6750.
tomatos
Jan 19 2008, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(skymyxe @ Jan 19 2008, 06:56 PM)
Because of the E6850 bus speed was set higher therefore, the ability to increase the bus speed is little. Where else with lower bus speed, you can easily increase it to the max and can achieve higher OC results.
In example, my E6750 bus speed was set to 333Mhz. I've increase to 400Mhz and could only achieve 3.2Ghz.
Where else, with a Q6600, the bus speed was set at 266Mhz, and with an increase to 400Mhz you can achieve 3.6Ghz.
Correct me if I'm wrong

QUOTE(skymyxe @ Jan 19 2008, 06:59 PM)
You can achieve higher CPU speed with lower bus speed with Q6600 compared to the E6750.

Actually thats because of the multiplier and not the default FSB of the processor.
a1098113
Jan 19 2008, 07:30 PM
well the irony is with a lower fsb and higher multiplier, the Vcore pump is still the same, and also vise versa, but for performance benchie, it is better to work on a higher fsb and a lower multiplier.. from experience la.
clayclws
Jan 19 2008, 09:47 PM
Still, with lower multiplier, we won't get really far unless the RAM is really good, ain't it?
tomatos
Jan 19 2008, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 19 2008, 09:47 PM)
Still, with lower multiplier, we won't get really far unless the RAM is really good, ain't it?
I would rather worry about the processor itself more. Let's say multiplier of 7 x 500MHz that would already be enough to reach 3.5GHz. Well now rams are cheap and some even value rams are able to reach 500MHz(1000MHz) without any problem and performance ram up to 600MHz. However I believe it's harder for your CPU to reach 500MHz FSB unless you increase the vcore to a higher extend. That's why some do run their higher multiplier CPU at FSB:DRAM at 4:5.
clayclws
Jan 19 2008, 09:55 PM
Performance RAM up to 600MHz? My, with active cooling I supposed?
tomatos
Jan 19 2008, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 19 2008, 09:55 PM)
Performance RAM up to 600MHz? My, with active cooling I supposed?
Certainly better with active cooling.
rozz_1291
Jan 19 2008, 10:40 PM
Well.... dis is wat i manage 2 get so far.... C my sig, will try OC higher.....
tomatos
Jan 19 2008, 10:44 PM
Does higher CPU frequency require higher vcore or does higher FSB require higher vcore or both require higher vcore?
Example:
A C2D E6320 runs at 2.45GHz with 7x multiplier and 350 FSB. It requires a minimum vcore of 1.312V to run stable. The multiplier is then reduced by 1x to 6x. Now it has a frequency of 2.1GHz. Can the stable vcore be reduced lower than 1.312V?
Or does the vcore only needs to be increased if the FSB is increased?
DevilMan
Jan 19 2008, 11:36 PM
Thinking to try Intel. Budget for mobo and procs is 1000.
Im an overclocker. Please suggest a good combo for me. Thanks.
clayclws
Jan 19 2008, 11:41 PM
Hmmm...my P35C-D3SR has separate option to increase FSB voltage...
a1098113
Jan 20 2008, 12:40 AM
@rozz
common rozz 3.4Ghz at least.
@devilman
you should know leh, i thought u gila OC

look at all your parts

get DFI or Asus.. foxconn's alright as well
DevilMan
Jan 20 2008, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 20 2008, 12:40 AM)
@rozz
common rozz 3.4Ghz at least.
@devilman
you should know leh, i thought u gila OC

look at all your parts

get DFI or Asus.. foxconn's alright as well
Asking people opinion maa.. Thinking to get Gigabye X48 and 2140 first and
slowly buy Quaddies 45nm.
SeaMonster
Jan 20 2008, 09:40 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong

So This Is The Correct Answer?
Or?
Added on January 20, 2008, 9:41 amQUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 19 2008, 07:02 PM)
Actually thats because of the multiplier and not the default FSB of the processor.
Or This 1?
clayclws
Jan 20 2008, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Jan 19 2008, 06:49 PM)
Few Noob Question
And
What do you mean by good for OC? Higher percentage of OC-ability? Meaning that if a CPU is rated 2.33GHz, and you could get 3.67GHz (50% increase)...it's better than a 2.00GHz, and only managed a 2.90GHz (45% increase)? Is that what you meant?
Correct me if I'm wrong

The maximum bus speed is dependent on the CPU, but the motherboard plays an important role as well. If you buy a mobo with support of 1066MHz FSB, then, getting a Q6600 with 1066MHz FSB will definitely yield higher percentage of OC-ability based on FSB. The mobo itself already need to be OC-ed to even support E6750 with 1333MHz FSB. But if you get a mobo that supports 1600MHz FSB (X48), then those 2 will have a more leveled playing field as the mobo will not be the bottleneck.
skymyxe
Jan 20 2008, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Jan 20 2008, 09:40 AM)
So This Is The Correct Answer?
Or?
Added on January 20, 2008, 9:41 amOr This 1?
I'd say tomatos stated clearly that by having bigger multipliers, it'd be easier to get higher CPU speed. So, it'd be a better OCing candidate compared to the ones with lower multipliers.
tomatos
Jan 20 2008, 11:29 AM
A CPU with 1333MHz would not totally work on a motherboard that only supports 1066MHz FSB. If it does boot, then the FSB of the CPU would only be at 266(1066/4) by default. Then there you would have to overclock it to the amount you desire.
clayclws
Jan 20 2008, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 20 2008, 11:29 AM)
A CPU with 1333MHz would not totally work on a motherboard that only supports 1066MHz FSB. If it does boot, then the FSB of the CPU would only be at 266(1066/4) by default. Then there you would have to overclock it to the amount you desire.
Yes, as I stated earlier:
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 20 2008, 10:11 AM)
What do you mean by good for OC? Higher percentage of OC-ability? Meaning that if a CPU is rated 2.33GHz, and you could get 3.67GHz (50% increase)...it's better than a 2.00GHz, and only managed a 2.90GHz (45% increase)? Is that what you meant?
The maximum bus speed is dependent on the CPU, but the motherboard plays an important role as well. If you buy a mobo with support of 1066MHz FSB, then, getting a Q6600 with 1066MHz FSB will definitely yield higher percentage of OC-ability based on FSB.
The mobo itself already need to be OC-ed to even support E6750 with 1333MHz FSB. But if you get a mobo that supports 1600MHz FSB (X48), then those 2 will have a more leveled playing field as the mobo will not be the bottleneck.
tomatos
Jan 20 2008, 01:45 PM
You can't actually OC a mobo so that it supports a higher FSB. Either you buy a newer revision of that board that support higher FSB(if there is), a new mobo or update your BIOS(if there is).
clayclws
Jan 20 2008, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 20 2008, 01:45 PM)
You can't actually OC a mobo so that it supports a higher FSB. Either you buy a newer revision of that board that support higher FSB(if there is), a new mobo or update your BIOS(if there is).
Ok, what I mean is OC the CPU. Sorry. You have to OC it to even support the CPU's default FSB.
a1098113
Jan 20 2008, 03:13 PM
from my point of view, mobo specifications are straight cut. If the mobo accepts only 1066Mhz procs, u only put in 1066Mhz,800Mhz or any lower than what specified. If you have a mobo which supports 1333Mhz procs in which i believe most P35s i have read does, then u can put E6750 and procs lower than 1333Mhz.
Not really necessary that higher mulitpliers help with OCing, i would say you have more choice and variance with a lower mulitple to OC because of the division of clock speed. Most moderate boards can have a 500Mhz FSB wall, and to be honest, anything after that only is purposeful for benchmarking and world records. Not for everyday use.
To do high OCing its not just the Vcore u have to care about, its all the other Voltages too. And elementary that u pump High V u have higher heat dissipation due to JOule Heat(I think). So cooling is also needed in other areas too.
SeaMonster
Jan 20 2008, 06:06 PM
too noob here..
blur blur =.="
but nvm..
what about i ask like that.
e6850 after oc better than Q6600 after oc?
which 1 is better performance after both OC
a1098113
Jan 20 2008, 07:12 PM
@sea
the q6600 performs better than e6850 coz of the quad core setup.
skymyxe
Jan 20 2008, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 20 2008, 07:12 PM)
@sea
the q6600 performs better than e6850 coz of the quad core setup.
Couldn't agree more. Quad cores is better than dual cores. It doesn't show much improvements for now but later when applications and games can fully utilize all the cores, then Quad Core will be on the advantage.
clayclws
Jan 20 2008, 07:26 PM
But beware of the heat produce by a quad core. Better get a good thermal solution for it.
a1098113
Jan 20 2008, 07:29 PM
@clay
that will depend on your stepping whether its B3 or G0 i think. Coz both have different TDP. But yes its good overall to have a good solution for heat
clayclws
Jan 20 2008, 07:31 PM
Yeah. G0 is a lot better, but still. It is Quad Core. I'm waiting for Penryn to upgrade to Quad...
SeaMonster
Jan 20 2008, 07:38 PM
Ok.. Finally I Get What It Mean...
Quad Better..
How About Before OC? Both Performance Which 1 Better?

Really Damn Noob Here..
Added on January 20, 2008, 7:43 pmQUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 20 2008, 07:31 PM)
Yeah. G0 is a lot better, but still. It is Quad Core. I'm waiting for Penryn to upgrade to Quad...
Me Too.. Waiting For My Qx9650

& Striker Extreme II
a1098113
Jan 20 2008, 07:45 PM
heat production is mainly relevant to the stepping that sea has. But nevertheless in OCing, a good thermal solution is a must! Fully agree with you clay
SeaMonster
Jan 20 2008, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 20 2008, 07:45 PM)
heat production is mainly relevant to the stepping that sea has. But nevertheless in OCing, a good thermal solution is a must! Fully agree with you clay
Which Brand Thermal Paste Is Best For OC Purpose?
kmarc
Jan 20 2008, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Jan 20 2008, 09:13 PM)
Which Brand Thermal Paste Is Best For OC Purpose?
Colgate!!! Haha, joking joking.... For our local market, probably the MX-1 or MX-2.....
SeaMonster
Jan 20 2008, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 20 2008, 09:31 PM)
Colgate!!! Haha, joking joking.... For our local market, probably the MX-1 or MX-2.....

Colgate Also Got Few Product..
Kayu Manis, Total White , Herber ,Honey 1 And Alot..
Which 1 Best?
I'm Selling Them... I Will Buy Before My Shop Close
Come.. Tell Me Plz.. HaHa.. Darlie Good?
HaHa..
kmarc
Jan 20 2008, 10:17 PM
Errr.... get the MX-1 or MX-2.
The MX-1 is superior to the well-know Arctic Silver 5 (AS5). The MX-2 was supposed to be better than MX-1 but some forumers found that it is not.
There are many other good thermal paste in the market but for our local market, I recommend the MX-1.
IINM, the Shin Etsu is the best, but not available here....
Jan 20 2008, 10:24 PM
Greetings to all C2D+ Gigabyte mobo owner

Too bad,
kmarc can do 3.5Ghz with 1.425VCore
mine 3.24Ghz pun need 1.400 VCore to stable
kmarc
Jan 20 2008, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(168257061 @ Jan 20 2008, 10:24 PM)
Greetings to all C2D+ Gigabyte mobo owner

Too bad,
kmarc can do 3.5Ghz with 1.425VCore
mine 3.24Ghz pun need 1.400 VCore to stable

Don't be worried la. Your proc is older generation ma.... look at penryn wolfdale.... beats my proc hands down.....
Jan 20 2008, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 20 2008, 11:27 PM)
Don't be worried la. Your proc is older generation ma.... look at penryn wolfdale.... beats my proc hands down.....

yah, abit regret to use E4400,
i though this processor OCbility can up to 400mhz bus which fine for me. but found that E4x00 processor has a fsb limit.
clayclws
Jan 20 2008, 10:52 PM
Every CPU has a FSB limit don't they?
a1098113
Jan 20 2008, 10:54 PM
yes every proc has a wall attached to it, sadly...
a1098113
Jan 20 2008, 11:05 PM
@devil
wah, x48.. and e2140, its like jessica alba and a lamborghini marcelargo...

super stuff man
clayclws
Jan 20 2008, 11:06 PM
To protect it from burning itself...
Added on January 20, 2008, 11:06 pmSpontaneous Combustion of CPU...not a sight to behold
Izwan898
Jan 21 2008, 03:38 AM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 20 2008, 10:17 PM)
Errr.... get the MX-1 or MX-2.
The MX-1 is superior to the well-know Arctic Silver 5 (AS5). The MX-2 was supposed to be better than MX-1 but some forumers found that it is not.
There are many other good thermal paste in the market but for our local market, I recommend the MX-1.
IINM, the Shin Etsu is the best, but not available here....

I'm using Tuniq's TX-2 rite now...any good?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.