Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
gsan
QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 30 2007, 04:26 PM)
Since I bought my mobo, I never upgraded the bios yet. Waiting for bios that supports penryn.....  drool.gif Now using F3...  smile.gif

i see... btw, I encounter another problem for this mobo, that is sometime the LAN will suddenly become no connectivity although the lan port still got light blinking... I have to restart the pc to get back the LAN working.
zeropulse
Hi..i tried overclocking my P35C-DS3R with E6750.

I'm now running on 3.54GHZ with front side bus on 430. When i tried to set higher, my mobo will automatically disable the overclocking. Is there any problem ?
clawhammer
QUOTE(zeropulse @ Nov 30 2007, 08:21 PM)
Hi..i tried overclocking my P35C-DS3R with E6750.

I'm now running on 3.54GHZ with front side bus on 430. When i tried to set higher, my mobo will automatically disable the overclocking. Is there any problem ?

Did you disable all those C1E, EIST, etc?
zeropulse
Nope..But now i have something funnier happening. It was all smooth but then suddenly now, i get disabeled even running on 420 and no voltage change.. Wierd..Even got bluescreen. but bios show CPU temp 29-31c. Should be no prob wut. =?

Added on November 30, 2007, 9:28 pmI just disabled the C1E, EIST. I now can only hit 410. I use to run on 430 for a while but now just can't get it to run. I don't know whats the problem...
clawhammer
What Vcore did you apply on that setting? Did you ran any stress test previously to confirm the stability of that setting?
zeropulse
was running on 1.45. Used SuperPi ran 1M got 16s..Is that stable ??
wodenus
QUOTE(zeropulse @ Nov 30 2007, 11:52 PM)
was running on 1.45. Used SuperPi ran 1M got 16s..Is that stable ??

If you're after stability you should use OCCT or Orthos. That will tell you whether it's stable or not. Sometimes you can boot at higher freqs but they're not stable, so you end up crashing a lot. Anything you test stable on OCCT & Orthos should be able to boot and run well.
PootieTang_85
hi guys, just wanna ask, how far can i go with E4400 + P35 DS3? planning to upgrade... is it worth it? thnx
clawhammer
Friday night and plenty of time for me to play around laugh.gif Ok, I purposely set a +1 FSB to go over 3.4Ghz and here it is with 1.50625 Vcore.
Next stop maybe 3.5Ghz or volt-mod my Radeon 2600 PRO biggrin.gif
zeropulse
Whats Volt Mod?? am using OCCT to test my CPU now..
clawhammer
QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 1 2007, 12:43 AM)
Whats Volt Mod?? am using OCCT to test my CPU now..

You can use Orthos (Small FFT mode) to test your CPU stability.
zeropulse
After much restarts, blue screens, hangs and crashes, i finally booted in and running on 3.4ghz. Am testing for stability.

As for the VCore, i setted it to 1.456 but speedfan shows idle1.41,load1.39 ??
Any opinions on how much should i set the vcore ??
clawhammer
QUOTE(zeropulse @ Dec 1 2007, 02:07 AM)
After much restarts, blue screens, hangs and crashes, i finally booted in and running on 3.4ghz. Am testing for stability.

As for the VCore, i setted it to 1.456 but speedfan shows idle1.41,load1.39 ??
Any opinions on how much should i set the vcore ??

You have to gradually try it out. Every chip is different and I haven't played with E6750 before so not sure. Perhaps the others can help smile.gif
wodenus
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 1 2007, 12:19 AM)
Friday night and plenty of time for me to play around laugh.gif Ok, I purposely set a +1 FSB to go over 3.4Ghz and here it is with 1.50625 Vcore.
Next stop maybe 3.5Ghz or volt-mod my Radeon 2600 PRO biggrin.gif

wow have you tested those as well ? smile.gif
zeropulse
there is two vcores rite ? my 1st one shows 1.38 but the other shows 2. is it alright ?

Added on December 1, 2007, 1:29 pmuser posted image

Can anyone help me analyze this ? I retune it to 3.28GHz..On EIST..Stable.. thumbup.gif
Izwan898
Hi guys...noob in OC here...I have a question here, my cpu was running stable at 380 FSB(1.35v) but when I raised the FSB to 400 I got BSOD...from what I heard many E6750 owners running at 3.2GHz with no change in voltage and their pc are rock stable...any sifu here can help a noob? notworthy.gif
clawhammer
QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 1 2007, 11:55 AM)
LOL... go you. PSU reached limit already here tongue.gif

It's still able to go a bit further but I did not test the stability. However, I found out that the Hynix doesn't go high enough and I had problems at 43x FSB biggrin.gif
Time to get Micron's

Added on December 1, 2007, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Dec 1 2007, 01:34 PM)
Hi guys...noob in OC here...I have a question here, my cpu was running stable at 380 FSB(1.35v) but when I raised the FSB to 400 I got BSOD...from what I heard many E6750 owners running at 3.2GHz with no change in voltage and their pc are rock stable...any sifu here can help a noob? notworthy.gif

What RAM are you using? Did you up the NB or Vdimm voltage?
All these needs to be tweaked.
kevin613
just noticed something weird..

how come i set it to 7X400 in bios, windows showed correctly(system properties), but CPUID shows only 6X400, and occasionally jump to 7X400, then back to 6X400..

mobo is P35-DS3, on E6550.
Izwan898
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 1 2007, 04:14 PM)
It's still able to go a bit further but I did not test the stability. However, I found out that the Hynix doesn't go high enough and I had problems at 43x FSB biggrin.gif
Time to get Micron's

Added on December 1, 2007, 4:15 pm

I'm using the ram shown in my sig there....anyway, I didn't tweak any voltage yet... biggrin.gif
clawhammer
QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 1 2007, 04:57 PM)

how come i set it to 7X400 in bios, windows showed correctly(system properties), but CPUID shows only 6X400, and occasionally jump to 7X400, then  back to 6X400..

A technology from Intel whereby it'll lower you Vcore, CPU speed, etc during low load. Please read about EIST, C1E, etc and disable them accordingly if you don't want it.

Added on December 1, 2007, 7:13 pm
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Dec 1 2007, 05:04 PM)
I'm using the ram shown in my sig there....anyway, I didn't tweak any voltage yet... biggrin.gif

You might need to tweak some voltages in this case. Try upping +0.1V and eventually fine tune when it's stable.
seanlimys
wats the difference between biostar tforce p965 and 965pt?which is best overclocker?
Izwan898
Or is it possibly caused by my PSU?Coz I saw a thread here listing the PSU as unreliable.... sweat.gif
clawhammer
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Dec 1 2007, 08:53 PM)
Or is it possibly caused by my PSU?Coz I saw a thread here listing the PSU as unreliable.... sweat.gif

There are too many people here that has a total misconception about PSU's. If you're having a 550W, I don't think it's an issue.
I have a friend using 8800GT, E2160, 2xHDD, 1xCDROM with an old Enermax 430W and has no problems oc-ing. I suggest that you tweak the voltage on the BIOS since upping it is normally required. Btw, I'm using a cheap Acbel 390W too smile.gif
Izwan898
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 1 2007, 09:11 PM)
There are too many people here that has a total misconception about PSU's. If you're having a 550W, I don't think it's an issue.
I have a friend using 8800GT, E2160, 2xHDD, 1xCDROM with an old Enermax 430W and has no problems oc-ing. I suggest that you tweak the voltage on the BIOS since upping it is normally required. Btw, I'm using a cheap Acbel 390W too smile.gif

But raising the voltage will raise the temp too right...aiyo,I'm using stock HSF.... sweat.gif
zeropulse
Some ppl use stock heat sink fan can reach quite high. Is it me but speedfan and core temp shows diff temp for cpu ??
Izwan898
Yup!!Totally different!!But I rely on CoreTemp more... biggrin.gif

It seems CoreTemp shows higher temp readings.... rclxub.gif
gsan
QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 1 2007, 04:57 PM)

how come i set it to 7X400 in bios, windows showed correctly(system properties), but CPUID shows only 6X400, and occasionally jump to 7X400, then  back to 6X400..

bro, your p35-ds3 is rev1.0 or 2.0 ?

Added on December 2, 2007, 11:27 ambro kmarc,

when you overclock to 950 @ 4-4-4, 2.1v you set the performance to standard or turbo or extreme?
Jibek
Hi.,i'm a newbie here this is my 2nd attemp of OC.,on my 1st attempt the temperature reach around 65-70C with same speed.,after i change the hsf to thermalright ultra 90.,the temp around idle 35-40C and load 40-55C.,but i can't reach to 3.0ghz=420x7..do i need to change other setting..?
gsan
QUOTE(Jibek @ Dec 2 2007, 12:40 PM)
Hi.,i'm a newbie here this is my 2nd attemp of OC.,on my 1st attempt the temperature reach around 65-70C with same speed.,after i change the hsf to thermalright ultra 90.,the temp around idle 35-40C and load 40-55C.,but i can't reach to 3.0ghz=420x7..do i need to change other setting..?

try to pump up vcore a bit
clawhammer
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Dec 2 2007, 03:20 AM)
Yup!!Totally different!!But I rely on CoreTemp more... biggrin.gif

It seems CoreTemp shows higher temp readings.... rclxub.gif

Same for my case - core temp and Intel TAT reports a different temp smile.gif
Izwan898
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 2 2007, 04:13 PM)

So which one the most accurate in your opinion? hmm.gif
gsan
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 2 2007, 04:13 PM)

which proc you using now?
kmarc
QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 2 2007, 09:35 AM)
bro, your p35-ds3 is rev1.0 or 2.0 ?

Added on December 2, 2007, 11:27 ambro kmarc,

when you overclock to 950 @ 4-4-4, 2.1v you set the performance to standard or turbo or extreme?

Just came back from KL. I set mine to extreme..... smile.gif
clawhammer
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Dec 2 2007, 08:09 PM)
So which one the most accurate in your opinion? hmm.gif

It's so hard to tell sad.gif I'm really unsure but I believe Intel TAT should be more accurate since it's Intel's own CPU?

Added on December 2, 2007, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 2 2007, 08:18 PM)
which proc you using now?

Value for money - E2140 biggrin.gif
wodenus
QUOTE(kmarc @ Dec 2 2007, 11:16 PM)
Just came back from KL. I set mine to extreme.....  smile.gif

Does that really work ? smile.gif
raining again
hey guys , i need a little help here.

here's my rig,
C2D e6300 1.86@2.66Ghz running with stock fan @ (CPU temp:45c , CPU core1/2 temp 60c)
gigabyte P65 P-S3
1gb corsair ddr2 667mhz value ram

i've just change the fsb and multiplier to 380 x7=2.66
before that i push it to 2.66 and run the prime test and seems abit weird so i
ran orthos for more than 4 hours and without restarting or anything.
but than. i cant go beyond 2.66
i'm not sure if i'm using the outdated bios version v4 .. how can i check it?
i din't touch anything like the voltage, vdimm and anything else . or should i ?

thanx in advance biggrin.gif
wodenus
Time to get Micron's

Yea ! anyway I'd rather have 4-4-4-12 ! smile.gif

Oh yea what are you using for those ? smile.gif I can go up to 413 but there's always a heat issue.
gsan
QUOTE(raining again @ Dec 3 2007, 06:10 AM)
hey guys , i need a little help here.

here's my rig,
C2D e6300 1.86@2.66Ghz running with stock fan @ (CPU temp:45c , CPU core1/2 temp 60c)
gigabyte P65 P-S3
1gb corsair ddr2 667mhz value ram
i've just change the fsb and multiplier to 380 x7=2.66
before that i push it to 2.66 and run the prime test and seems abit weird so i
ran orthos for more than 4 hours and without restarting or anything.
but than. i cant go beyond 2.66
i'm not sure if i'm using the outdated bios version v4 .. how can i check it?
i din't touch anything like the voltage, vdimm and anything else . or should i ?

thanx in advance  biggrin.gif

P65 P-S3, what mobo is it? never heard before laugh.gif

you cant go beyond 2.66 mean you cant boot up the pc or cant prime stable? hmm.gif

btw, here is my new oc result, vcore 1.375v in bios & 2.1vdimm in bios.

[attachmentid=353135]
clawhammer
QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 3 2007, 09:58 AM)
Yea ! anyway I'd rather have 4-4-4-12 ! smile.gif
Oh yea what are you using for those ? smile.gif  I can go up to 413 but there's always a heat issue.

In fact I've tried messing up with the timings and in real life, can't feel much of a difference since it's calculated by nano-seconds I guess. I'm currently doing 401FSB at 5:6 with 14-5-5-5

For the 3.4Ghz oc, I had Vdimm +0.5 and MCH +0.3
The chip can still go further but the RAM doesn't permit a lot more room for this biggrin.gif
wodenus
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 3 2007, 10:54 AM)
In fact I've tried messing up with the timings and in real life, can't feel much of a difference since it's calculated by nano-seconds I guess. I'm currently doing 401FSB at 5:6 with 14-5-5-5

The chip can still go further but the RAM doesn't permit a lot more room for this biggrin.gif

You're not running on 3.4 GHz any more ?
clawhammer
QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 3 2007, 11:13 AM)
You're not running on 3.4 GHz any more ?

Too much of Vcore needed and heat produced biggrin.gif
3.2Ghz needs 1.38125V and 3.4Ghz needs 1.5125 (huge difference for that 200Mhz more)
I'd do more burn-ins and see whether it'll work at a slight lower voltage to run at that speed.
kucingfight
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 3 2007, 10:54 AM)

wow u need that much Vmch? i tot probably +0.1v would be sufficient
clawhammer
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 3 2007, 12:16 PM)
wow u need that much Vmch? i tot probably +0.1v would be sufficient

I thought so too but I did not up the FSB volt, only MCH.

If I'm running at 5:6 ratio (like what I'm doing now), I only need to +0.1V for MCH and it works fine even at DDR 960. However if I'm running 1:1, I need to get it +0.3V for 426FSB.

What's the highest 1:1 you reached before and what's the MCH voltage? Perhaps I'm doing it wrongly or I have a dud board? laugh.gif
wodenus
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 3 2007, 12:09 PM)
Too much of Vcore needed and heat produced biggrin.gif
3.2Ghz needs 1.38125V and 3.4Ghz needs 1.5125 (huge difference for that 200Mhz more)
I'd do more burn-ins and see whether it'll work at a slight lower voltage to run at that speed.

that's really cool lol smile.gif
clawhammer
QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 3 2007, 01:48 PM)
So your 401 is at 1.30v now ? smile.gif

401FSB 14-4-4-4 (2.40 @ 5:6), Vdimm +0.4, MCH +0.1
That's about it smile.gif
Izwan898
I'm also thinking to raise the voltage but afraid of temp problems since I'm using stock HSF...huhuhu sweat.gif
clawhammer
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Dec 3 2007, 02:06 PM)
I'm also thinking to raise the voltage but afraid of temp problems since I'm using stock HSF...huhuhu sweat.gif

You won't kill it if you raise by a tiny bit. Plus, I was on a stock cooler before changing to GeminII
kmarc
QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 3 2007, 02:37 AM)
Does that really work ? smile.gif

Dunno. Lazy to benchmark the difference. I don't think it is really noticeable in real-world applications.....

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 3 2007, 09:58 AM)
P65 P-S3, what mobo is it? never heard before  laugh.gif

you cant go beyond 2.66 mean you cant boot up the pc or cant prime stable?  hmm.gif

btw, here is my new oc result, vcore 1.375v in bios & 2.1vdimm in bios.

Push it higher! smile.gif
gsan
QUOTE(kmarc @ Dec 3 2007, 04:25 PM)
Push it higher!  smile.gif

Just now tried oc to 3.3GHz but the ram 475 @ 4-4-4 holding me back no matter what vdimm I set, it is so hot even when I set to 2.1vdimm. Btw, bro kmarc, you put the ram on yellow or red slot? My D9GMH is not as good as yours. sad.gif
kucingfight
QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 3 2007, 04:48 PM)
Just now tried oc to 3.3GHz but the ram 475 @ 4-4-4 holding me back no matter what vdimm I set, it is so hot even when I set to 2.1vdimm. Btw, bro kmarc, you put the ram on yellow or red slot? My D9GMH is not as good as yours.  sad.gif

Try this, lower ur ram timings to a more relaxed one..test how far ur cpu will go..then only main the timings n dividers
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.