Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
xixo_12
how bout temP?
kucingfight
Ya it's a sin not to overclock it laugh.gif

Btw if your running on stock speed, try reducing the voltage to the minimal, jus sufficient enof for it to pass all those stress tests
DaRkSyThE
how come we have a new thread for this? biggrin.gif
PootieTang_85
the temp is around 40C...
likito
QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Oct 31 2007, 03:24 PM)

bro , increase abit vcore , should be get better result , but make sure u have good HSF
bryanyeo87
QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Oct 31 2007, 03:24 PM)

that is idle temps with EIST and c1E right? becareful, u may nuke ur processor.

The temp to measure is the load temp

Whats ur HSF at the moment?
SlayerXT
QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Oct 31 2007, 01:12 PM)
how come we have a new thread for this? biggrin.gif

Some refreshment is a nice idea. I would like to see one. icon_rolleyes.gif Penryn is just around the corner. flex.gif
geez3r
hi. im using e6750 oc to 2.8ghz so far at fsb 350mhz, but how to set ram for optiimum performance. cant be 700mhz rite? or change the divider issit. tq
SlayerXT
QUOTE(geez3r @ Oct 31 2007, 10:30 PM)
hi. im using e6750 oc to 2.8ghz so far at fsb 350mhz, but how to set ram for optiimum performance. cant be 700mhz rite? or change the divider issit. tq

The frequency nothing wrong here. Just tighten the timing.
IcEMoCHa
Too bad my 975XBX2 cannot change multiplier... What motherboards can change multiplier?
coolgrrl
QUOTE(geez3r @ Oct 31 2007, 10:30 PM)

what ram r u using??
my e6750 can go easily to 3.4Ghz just with KVR
v1rtual
QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 3 2007, 11:00 AM)
Too bad my 975XBX2 cannot change multiplier... What motherboards can change multiplier?

most of the mobo can, just intel mobo doest allow much with OC biggrin.gif
u shouldnt have bought intel if u want OC blush.gif
AceCombat
BadAxe2 is highly overclockable mobo even it has maximum of 1.6vcore option only,it has almost no vdrop.

but funny wor,last tiem i used BadAxe2 can change multipluier from 6x to 30x wor, (with extreme processor)

u guys can confirm with irenic,shawty and darksythe,but i confirm last time mine one can change with extreme processor.
IcEMoCHa
Eh?... Can change meh? i thought it depends on the mobo to set the multiplier? or is it the processor? Im using E6600 and i cant change the multiplier at bios...

Added on November 3, 2007, 11:22 pmI found out about it already it seems extreme processor only can... That sux.. cry.gif must get extreme liao.. haha

For Core 2 Extreme owners you can adjust the Processor Multiplier Override from 6x to a max of 20x. For Core 2 Duo owners, you cannot adjust your multiplier to anything other than 6x or the default your CPU uses.
AceCombat
bro,is from 6x to 31x,but depend what mobo,i got one mobo last tiem ,forgot which model liao,can go to 60x,but off course wont boot la.
IcEMoCHa
1 question why i disable speedstep still the multiplier can drop to 6?
wodenus
QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 3 2007, 11:37 PM)

It's either the C1E or the TM2, can't remember whch one drops the multiplier.
v1rtual
QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 3 2007, 11:37 PM)

u have to disable both C1E and speedstep
IcEMoCHa
How to disable C1E?... I want to lower the multiplier can ah?... But i cant override it in the BIOS...
AceCombat
ur mobo cant lower multiplier with normal edition of processor.
IcEMoCHa
Argh that sux.. Multiplier is important for ram overclocking.. Now i can only run 800mhz ram at 3.6ghz.. At 9x multiplier.. For 1:1..
wodenus
QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 4 2007, 09:01 AM)
ur mobo cant lower multiplier with normal edition of processor.

Actually you can... but you don't have much of a choice... there are two multipliers on this E2140 6x and 8x. With the right board you can choose either one smile.gif
geez3r
QUOTE(coolgrrl @ Nov 3 2007, 11:31 AM)
what ram r u using??
my e6750 can go easily to 3.4Ghz just with KVR

crucial ballistix pc6400 2gb.. how to run 1:1? im not going moe than 3ghz coz it gets too hot. my ambient quite hi at 28-30c & temp at 100% load almost 63-65c.. using ac freezer 7 pro. so far only 2.8ghz at fsb350 for daily usage.
v1rtual
QUOTE(geez3r @ Nov 4 2007, 10:31 PM)
crucial ballistix pc6400 2gb.. how to run 1:1? im not going moe than 3ghz coz it gets too hot. my ambient quite hi at 28-30c & temp at 100% load almost 63-65c.. using ac freezer 7 pro. so far only 2.8ghz at fsb350 for daily usage.

my E6750 @ 3.5Ghz full load temp is around 45-50c using gigabyte pro smile.gif
jackanory
QUOTE(v1rtual @ Nov 6 2007, 01:03 AM)
my E6750 @ 3.5Ghz full load temp is around 45-50c using gigabyte pro  smile.gif

wuts ur ambient temps?
shah333
- d e l e t e d -
eternity86
Ola...

i'm using the specs as stated below and i'm new to intel c2d, previously i was using amd x2..
The thing is i'm not familiar with the way it overclocks..
When i alter the cpu frequency it will also increase my fsb? So do i need to be concerned about the fsb amount too?

And on another thing, normally is 7x multiplier but when i load my cpus using orthos.. The frequency will increase to 700+ and the multiplier will drop to 3.5, is it normal?

If this is the wrong place to post, so sorry..
eternity86
-deleted-

Problem solved.
uzairi
QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Oct 10 2007, 05:53 PM)
update bios ler.. F4 long time redi.. i think im using F11..

value ram ddr2 667 ah? then so hard for you la if wanna oc.. but if you really want to try higher oso, then you need to really loosen up the timing, i.e. 6-6-6-18 or some sort..
if still can't work, then try increasing your vdimm

but vdimm so high, u can damage your ram.. so jaga2 larr

im at 450fsb, using vcore 1.225 only, try setting vcore on that or probably 1.2V, then check it out..

also, try using better cooler, 60degC is quite hot...

You are using P965, he's using P35. Latest bios for P35 is F6 for now. smile.gif
kmarc
QUOTE(eternity86 @ Nov 9 2007, 12:54 AM)
Ola...

i'm using the specs as stated below and i'm new to intel c2d, previously i was using amd x2..
The thing is i'm not familiar with the way it overclocks..
When i alter the cpu frequency it will also increase my fsb? So do i need to be concerned about the fsb amount too?

And on another thing, normally is 7x multiplier but when i load my cpus using orthos.. The frequency will increase to 700+ and the multiplier will drop to 3.5, is it normal?

If this is the wrong place to post, so sorry..

Yeah, you need to look at the ram speed too, as they will increase together with the bus speed. However, you can set a lower ram ratio..... Not a problem for your rams to go higher though.... smile.gif

You mean bus speed 700mhz??? hmm.gif
plankton
anyone tried out the f6 bios for ds3l?

also been getting the cold boot issue.. oc passes orthos 8 hrs, when cold boot, restarts 3 times, n bios is reset to non-oc settings.. still trying to troubleshoot.. any suggestions?
v1rtual
QUOTE(jackanory @ Nov 6 2007, 11:22 AM)
wuts ur ambient temps?

what do u mean by ambient temps?? blush.gif
idle is 27-30c
gsan
sorry for out of topic,

how do identify the proc is based G0 stepping from the code on the box sticker?
gengstapo
QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 12 2007, 11:38 AM)
sorry for out of topic,

how do identify the proc is based G0 stepping from the code on the box sticker?

shall all batch now are G0
only few lastime batch were B3 smile.gif

migrate ka?
gsan
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Nov 12 2007, 11:40 AM)
shall all batch now are G0
only few lastime batch were B3 smile.gif

migrate ka?

thinking so, might going for E6550 G0 + Gigibyte P35-DS3 + 2GB 677 D9GMH brows.gif
gengstapo
QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 12 2007, 12:01 PM)
thinking so, might going for E6550 G0 + Gigibyte P35-DS3 + 2GB 677 D9GMH  brows.gif

nice man.. looking toward for u in C2D/Q overclock tread smile.gif
plankton
any suggestions on dealing with the cold boot issue?
right now still testing.. turned off all the eist and the other one, parallel, serial port etc2..
ram at auto - becomes 5-6-6-16 @ 706mhz
voltages in bios:
cpu - 1.375 (1.296 in cpuz)
ram +2
mch+1
fsb+1

tested ram timings set to 5 5 5 15 in bios, but got the cold boot reset on some occasions.. so trying to see if the ram is causing it.

what else should i test?

cpu = e2140 353x8 @ 2.82Ghz
added 2inch can blowing onto chipset.
mobo = p35 ds3l

how i tested : shut down pc, turn off psu switch, turn off ac switch, wait, turn on ac + psu switch, wait, turn on pc.
ah_khoo
QUOTE(plankton @ Nov 12 2007, 12:21 PM)
right now still testing.. turned off all the eist and the other one, parallel, serial port etc2..
voltages in bios:
ram +2
mch+1
fsb+1

tested ram timings set to 5 5 5 15 in bios, but got the cold boot reset on some occasions.. so trying to see if the ram is causing it.

what else should i test?

mobo = p35 ds3l

how i tested : shut down pc, turn off psu switch, turn off ac switch, wait, turn on ac + psu switch, wait, turn on pc.

try not to tighten up d timin 1st if u are to find out d max speed of ya chip. try one at a moment will make ya life easier... smile.gif

it could be d ram or d chip limitation. ram test with memtest (leave it to auto for max stability), while d limitation of chip can be found usin prime ot orthos.

in general,

find max fsb:

lower cpu multi (avoid cpu hit d wall)
lower ram multi (avoid ram hit d wall)
loosen ram timin (avoid ram hit d wall)

find max cpu:

max cpu multi
max fsb
lower ram multi (avoid ram hit d wall)

find max ram MHz:

lower cpu multi (avoid cpu hit d wall)
lower fsb & use ram multi > 1:1 (to avoid fsb limitation)

correct me if i'm wrong, still new to intel... tongue.gif
plankton
thnx for the info smile.gif

Im currently stable at 2.8 and would like to stay at that speed. ram and cpu tested using orthos for 10 hours with ram@706, 5 5 5 15 and cpu at 353x8

just facing a problem with the random bios reset/cold boot. not sure what is causing it yet..
geez3r
i heard 1:1 ratio is d best.. but if its not possible what ram:fsb ratio is d nxt best one? err i think ambient temp is ur room temp/temp surrounding chassis..
v1rtual
QUOTE(geez3r @ Nov 12 2007, 10:40 PM)
i heard 1:1 ratio is d best.. but if its not possible what ram:fsb ratio is d nxt best one? err i think ambient temp is ur room temp/temp surrounding chassis..

alrite, if ambient is room temp then im not sure
but when aircond is ON then idle is below 30c for sure smile.gif
PeowYong
is 965p-ds4 temp not accurate?
temp 1 is always 40+°c all the time,
side panel on and off also same temp...
it couldnt be that high rite?
how reliable is the temp stated with its sensor?

spec as in sig...

oc-ed to 3.0 now (7x428)
stock vcore, vdimm (+0.05v)

ah_khoo
QUOTE(PeowYong @ Nov 13 2007, 01:07 AM)
is 965p-ds4 temp not accurate?
temp 1 is always 40+°c all the time,
side panel on and off also same temp...
it couldnt be that high rite?
how reliable is the temp stated with its sensor?

spec as in sig...

oc-ed to 3.0 now (7x428)
stock vcore, vdimm (+0.05v)

i trust coretemp more than speedfan or other softwares. it could be that high due to improper contact of die & d ihs. mine on stock voltage idle bout 30'C, on load d temp is about 50+'C. smile.gif
extremeocer
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 13 2007, 08:49 AM)
i trust coretemp more than speedfan or other softwares. it could be that high due to improper contact of die & d ihs. mine on stock voltage idle bout 30'C, on load d temp is about 50+'C.  smile.gif

For me coretemp is definitely out coz it shows 1C at both cores. Whereas speedfan shows around -65C which is almost the same as my digital thermometer. Perhaps Coretemp isn't made for subzero temps.
clawhammer
I just happen to grab an E2140, Gigabyte P35-S3L with KVR Hynix chips @ 8 x 390 with memory divider set to "2.00".

What do you guys normally set the memory divider to? Always 1:1 or higher?
HiT-AbLe
Instead of Gigabyte, why nobody mention about the Abit P35-E board? What so good about P35-S3L compare with P35-E?
ah_khoo
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Nov 14 2007, 11:30 AM)
I just happen to grab an E2140, Gigabyte P35-S3L with KVR Hynix chips @ 8 x 390 with memory divider set to "2.00".

What do you guys normally set the memory divider to? Always 1:1 or higher?

8*390 is quite impressive bro, hw much voltage needed for d mentioned speed? smile.gif

mem divider depend on how gud ya ram is, i put mine @ 2.5, runnin my 2140 @ 2.8 ~ 2.9GHz. d thing i notice is that some divider like 2.66 or 3.33 are not favored by d board (or chip or ram). sweat.gif
kucingfight
QUOTE(plankton @ Nov 12 2007, 12:21 PM)
voltages in bios:
ram +2
mch+1
fsb+1

what else should i test?

mobo = p35 ds3l

reduced all your voltages to default. U only have to play with CPU vcore and Ram voltage. the rest default will do as it will do around 450fsb. which hsf are u on?
clawhammer
ah_khoo, I can't remember but I'll check again tonight. I only manage to play with it for 2-3 hours yesterday.

What's 2.5? Is it 3:2 or 5:4? Which one is faster - 2.00 or 2.5?

The numbers are indeed confusing. Anyone knows how to decrypt and map it to standard memory divider numbers? sad.gif

ah_khoo
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Nov 14 2007, 02:06 PM)
ah_khoo, I can't remember but I'll check again tonight. I only manage to play with it for 2-3 hours yesterday.

What's 2.5? Is it 3:2 or 5:4? Which one is faster - 2.00 or 2.5?

The numbers are indeed confusing. Anyone knows how to decrypt and map it to standard memory divider numbers? sad.gif

bro, for gigabyte board, it's more like a mem multiplier than mem divider (for ya case). 2.00 is equal to 1:1, since ddr is twice d speed of ya fsb. d higher d meme multiplier is, d higher d frequency of ram. say ya fsb is 300, if u put mem multi @ 2.00, ur actually runnin it @ 600MHz, if 2.50 multi is used, ya ram will run @ 750MHz. smile.gif

for gigabyte 965p ds3 board, the lowest multi is 2.00, followed by 2.5, 2.66, 3, 3.33, and 4. biggrin.gif

3:2 is referrin to 2.5 i supposed... sweat.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.