Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
smokey
how come i cant find any memory timing in the board...
jz can find "option 1" and "option 2" only for the timing settings...
kucingfight
QUOTE(smokey @ Aug 3 2007, 10:55 AM)
how come i cant find any memory timing in the board...
jz can find "option 1" and "option 2" only for the timing settings...

in the main bios page, press CTRL+F1 , it's a hidden option by giga..stopid move from them mad.gif
ataris
guys, i use e2160. just bought actually. does it have a high potential to overclock ?
kmarc
QUOTE(gsan @ Aug 3 2007, 10:21 AM)
my friend is getting his C2D 6550 + Gigabyte P35 today... hehe

Why not a E6750? Not much difference in price ma..... Pls give some feedback especially on the core temp....
kucingfight
QUOTE(ataris @ Aug 3 2007, 11:09 AM)
guys, i use e2160. just bought actually. does it have a high potential to overclock ?

yess very high,. we have a few here doing 3.6ghz..with good HSF tho
kmarc
QUOTE(ataris @ Aug 3 2007, 11:09 AM)

Suppose to. With good OC skills + good cooling, may even achieve 100% OC!!!
smokey
how come my gigabyte always need to boot 2 times after i overclock? now im using fsb 300mhz...

example: the first time i switch on, it will on for 3 second then off...after wait few seconds, only it will actually boot...

i scared like this will damage my hdd le...
rockmaniac85
there's unstability somewhere, either your cpu or ram..
kmarc
QUOTE(smokey @ Aug 3 2007, 12:06 PM)
how come my gigabyte always need to boot 2 times after i overclock? now im using fsb 300mhz...

example: the first time i switch on, it will on for 3 second then off...after wait few seconds, only it will actually boot...

Yup. That means your rig failed to boot on your OC settings. Normally, if you do set some OC settings, the mobo will power down, then restart again and everything would be fine. If it reboot twice, that means that the the OC failed, and the mobo reboots a 2nd time using stock settings....
kucingfight
QUOTE(smokey @ Aug 3 2007, 12:06 PM)

it's normal. It's called 'global resetting'. it's determining the suitable NB strap speed and ram timings.
NightRaven
and swtiching bioses if ur board has dual bios.

one thing i like here is alot of guys use value chips but clock them real high biggrin.gif good job fellas!
t3chn0m4nc3r
QUOTE(NightRaven @ Aug 3 2007, 03:04 PM)
and swtiching bioses if ur board has dual bios.

one thing i like here is alot of guys use value chips but clock them real high biggrin.gif good job fellas!

value chips got their bandwidth and latency limits... it may also bottle neck ur OC as the RAM bus is very very related to the proc FSB... sweat.gif i realized tat my RAM can't do more than 1200MHz stably... cry.gif
alanishev
Finally,i manage to oc up to 3 ghz after changing my gc..i run superpi 32m-pass..sp2004 for 5-6 hours-also pass..no more problem with the monitor..but i do have some other problem..my pc seems to be lembab when i play game..try at 2.6ghz, 2.4ghz and lower still the same..ram setting also..tried so many..still same..the problem is so clear when i run 3dmark..when i oc (even at 201X9), the mark decrease dramatically.normaly(not oc) i got about 10000 in 3dmark03 but when oc only 6000+- vmad.gif eist has been disable,c1e also disable..im not playing with the voltage though..techno hv said about vMCH..but i donno much bout it.
SlayerXT
Be patience bro, u need more time to learn bout oc n tweaking.
t3chn0m4nc3r
QUOTE(alanishev @ Aug 5 2007, 05:22 AM)
Finally,i manage to oc up to 3 ghz after changing my gc..i run superpi 32m-pass..sp2004 for 5-6 hours-also pass..no more problem with the monitor..but i do have some other problem..my pc seems to be lembab when i play game..try at 2.6ghz, 2.4ghz and lower still the same..ram setting also..tried so many..still same..the problem is so clear when i run 3dmark..when i oc (even at 201X9), the mark decrease dramatically.normaly(not oc) i got about 10000 in 3dmark03 but when oc only 6000+- vmad.gif eist has been disable,c1e also disable..im not playing with the voltage though..techno hv said about vMCH..but i donno much bout it.

same here but got better Super_PI results... unsure.gif

i gotta ask... between n680i mobo & P35... exclude SLi and Crossfire... which 1 is better...?

i gonna get GA-P35-DQ6 while my boss fren gonna get Abit Fire Dragon... the IN9 Max... icon_idea.gif
ben3003
currently overclocked my e6300 to 2.8ghz at 1.26v vcore, hit 52c when load. CAn i push it higher? I dont see any ram timing adjustment at my 965p-ds3 bios..
alanishev
yeah....mine got better super pi score too
smokey
hei...y my p35 ds3 mobo got no sound at the front audio panel...
i know i shud not ask this at OC thread...
Dovienya
QUOTE(smokey @ Aug 7 2007, 11:26 PM)
hei...y my p35 ds3 mobo got no sound at the front audio panel...
i know i shud not ask this at OC thread...

1. Wrong place to post.... already know why post? tongue.gif
2. Have u check the cabling between your MOBO and your front audio panel?
SlayerXT
Already undervolt and that is still hot, where did u read the temp reading?
t3chn0m4nc3r
any1 here exp power leakage wif GA-P35-DQ6...? it's giving my casing some "shocking" feel... but if use my old GA-965P-DS4 no problem... hmm.gif
ben3003
read from TAT one.. CAn reach 56c when the weather is hot.
Proclaimer
I wanna as something... Planning 2 buy e2140..
Question is can i use e2140 with crucial ballistix tracer ddr2 1066mhz...?
Coz the e2140 fsb is only 800 mhz..
Getting with GA-P35-DS3 also..
gengstapo
^sure can, no pr0blemo boss
Proclaimer
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 12 2007, 06:09 PM)
^sure can, no pr0blemo boss

So meaning can use ram that have more mhz than proc fsb?
Izzit as effective..?
Sry for the noob question... Long time no update with com stuff.. hehe blush.gif
gengstapo
QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 12 2007, 06:28 PM)
So meaning can use ram that have more mhz than proc fsb?
Izzit as effective..?
Sry for the noob question... Long time no update with com stuff.. hehe  blush.gif

yeah, no prob but kinda "rugi" coz u not optimizing its(the RAM) performance rclxms.gif
Proclaimer
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 12 2007, 06:36 PM)
yeah, no prob but kinda "rugi" coz u not optimizing its(the RAM) performance  rclxms.gif

Oh okie.. Thanks of the reply..
gengstapo
QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 12 2007, 06:43 PM)
Oh okie.. Thanks of the reply..

unless u overclock it later.. haha flex.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 12 2007, 06:47 PM)
unless u overclock it later.. haha  flex.gif

haha sifoo laugh.gif laugh.gif
yeah u buy better ram lor..now ddr2 price damn cheap..who know later u mite change to quad brows.gif
rockmaniac85
damn cheap meh? price increased already lor..
mfcm
QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Aug 12 2007, 08:15 PM)
damn cheap meh? price increased already lor..

yeah for me its damn cheap..dunno if others think its still higher..coz last time i bought my tracer pc2 8000 almost cost 1k for 2gb kit..now tracer pc2 8500 u can get around 6++ icon_rolleyes.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
facing new problem now... i can't see my RAM's details in CPU-Z... blink.gif seems tat the entire metal part of my casing including the heatsinks are all shocking... test wif test pen got nothing but touch wif finger will get small shock... i think it's a problem of grounding... i can confirm it's not external wiring cuz other device are not like tat... i wonder where is the place to ground cable in those PSU pins... maybe dislocated or something like tat... any1 know where...?
kmarc
Need some input from overclocking experts. Anybody knows what would be considered as safe vcore to run 24/7 for the E6x50 series?

My E6750 has a stock vcore of 1.35v. Would you say 1.45v with good air cooling? hmm.gif
rockmaniac85
QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 13 2007, 12:50 PM)
Need some input from overclocking experts. Anybody knows what would be considered as safe vcore to run 24/7 for the E6x50 series?

My E6750 has a stock vcore of 1.35v. Would you say 1.45v with good air cooling?  hmm.gif

IINM, all c2d got stock Vcore of 1.35V, but actually it requires even less Voltage..

for example, my c2d oso stock voltage 1.35V, but then i downvoltage it to 1.18V only..

1.45V is still in the safe area, i heard somewhere that it's best if you stay within 110% of the stock vcore. 1.35V-1.48V is still safe..
kmarc
QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Aug 13 2007, 04:02 PM)
IINM, all c2d got stock Vcore of 1.35V, but actually it requires even less Voltage..

for example, my c2d oso stock voltage 1.35V, but then i downvoltage it to 1.18V only..

1.45V is still in the safe area, i heard somewhere that it's best if you stay within 110% of the stock vcore. 1.35V-1.48V is still safe..

Yeah, that's what I wanted to know. Of course there is no such thing as a safe vcore but what I wanted to know was a "SAFER" vcore for the C2D E6x50 series.....

From what people seems to be suggesting, a +0.1 volt is safe enough and can go up to +0.15 if you have good air cooling.... hmm.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 13 2007, 05:43 PM)
Yeah, that's what I wanted to know. Of course there is no such thing as a safe vcore but what I wanted to know was a "SAFER" vcore for the C2D E6x50 series.....

From what people seems to be suggesting, a +0.1 volt is safe enough and can go up to +0.15 if you have good air cooling....  hmm.gif

nah... +0.5 should do a decent job... cuz we can undervolt our procs is the trend these days...
kmarc
QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Aug 14 2007, 01:10 AM)
nah... +0.5 should do a decent job... cuz we can undervolt our procs is the trend these days...

blink.gif shocking.gif 1.35v + 0.5v = 1.85v....... sweat.gif sweat.gif rclxub.gif shakehead.gif
rockmaniac85
1.85V will make the proc oc'able to like 5GHz, try it kmarc.. tongue.gif

probably what he meant is +0.05V, jus a small typo..
t3chn0m4nc3r
QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 14 2007, 07:52 AM)
blink.gif  shocking.gif 1.35v + 0.5v = 1.85v.......  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif  shakehead.gif

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Aug 14 2007, 01:28 PM)
1.85V will make the proc oc'able to like 5GHz, try it kmarc.. tongue.gif

probably what he meant is +0.05V, jus a small typo..

hehe... oops... my bad... doh.gif but i don think 1.85V is enough to get 5GHz stable using air cooling... unsure.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Aug 15 2007, 12:39 AM)
hehe... oops... my bad... doh.gif  but i don think 1.85V is enough to get 5GHz stable using air cooling... unsure.gif

haha i not jus enough..but will spoil ur proc if using air cooling rclxub.gif sweat.gif
SlayerXT
Even using WC 1.85 vcore is kinda... sweat.gif
NightRaven
haha er ya not a good idea at all.
rockmaniac85
Hopefully u have unlimited stock of dry ice larr kmarc tongue.gif
ariesto
Hi all, I have a question here really need your pros answers.

I would like to know how inaccurate is CPU-Z or maybe some other reason that cause my below issue.

My BIOS setting was, core speed 2128MHz; x8mutiplier; bus speed 266MHz, other setting in BIOS were all auto.

But the CPU-z was showing core speed 1600MHz; x6multiplier; bus speed 266MHz.

My rig for your info,
Processor : E6420
Mobo : GA-P35-DS3R rev2
Memory : 2GB Mushkin Value Ram
GPU : Winfast 8600GT
PSU : Enermax FMA2 535W

Your helpful answer will be highly appreciated, TY.
likito
hey guy , i want to ask gigabyte p965-ds3 v3 mobo .
1.what is the FSB wall , can hit 400 ?
2.can flash bios to support 1333 ?
BlackThyra87
QUOTE(likito @ Aug 16 2007, 03:48 PM)
hey guy , i want to ask gigabyte p965-ds3 v3 mobo .
1.what is the FSB wall , can hit 400 ?
2.can flash bios to support 1333 ?

1. it will go WELL beyond 450MHz no problem. smile.gif. In fact, my v1.0 DS3 can do 490MHz with no problem, and of course with proper cooling on the chipsets. biggrin.gif

2. v3 is 1333MHz FSB certified. so there will be no problem sticking 1333Mhz CPU into it.
hiphop
i am new in Gigabyte board, is P35C-DS3R a stable board? i will using it to go 3.6G for my E6600, anyone here using this board, appreciate feedback notworthy.gif
likito
QUOTE(BlackThyra87 @ Aug 16 2007, 03:58 PM)
1. it will go WELL beyond 450MHz no problem. smile.gif. In fact, my v1.0 DS3 can do 490MHz with no problem, and of course with proper cooling on the chipsets. biggrin.gif

2. v3 is 1333MHz FSB certified. so there will be no problem sticking 1333Mhz CPU into it.

wah! thanks for the info . thermalright chipset cooler good or not ?
t3chn0m4nc3r
QUOTE(ariesto @ Aug 16 2007, 12:37 PM)
Hi all, I have a question here really need your pros answers.

I would like to know how inaccurate is CPU-Z or maybe some other reason that cause my below issue.

My BIOS setting was, core speed 2128MHz; x8mutiplier; bus speed 266MHz, other setting in BIOS were all auto.

But the CPU-z was showing core speed 1600MHz; x6multiplier; bus speed 266MHz.

My rig for your info,
Processor : E6420
Mobo : GA-P35-DS3R rev2
Memory : 2GB Mushkin Value Ram
GPU : Winfast 8600GT
PSU : Enermax FMA2 535W

Your helpful answer will be highly appreciated, TY.

it's been answered a hell lotz of times dude... it's the Intel EIST crap... sweat.gif
mfcm
QUOTE(likito @ Aug 16 2007, 06:44 PM)
wah! thanks for the info . thermalright chipset cooler good or not ?

u can try check in cooling section..theres reviews made for it thumbup.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.