SEP910
Feb 24 2007, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(BlackThyra87 @ Feb 23 2007, 05:30 PM)
i have problem with stability.
i OC'd to 2.8 (400x7).
ran 32m Pi - PASSED.
orthos 2 hours passed@2.8 (58c load)
but when i play games like dota for less than 30 minutes, it hang then windows got restarted. ]
what's goin on here? i believe it's ram problem, not the processor
ram +0.4v
MCH & FSB = +0.2
VCore = 1.35v
Try this,
ram +0.2v
MCH & FSB = +0.1
VCore = 1.4v
Ram timing 5-5-5-15 or 5-5-5-12
Monitor temp and run orthos,
keep posting the result ok
gengstapo
Feb 24 2007, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(BlackThyra87 @ Feb 23 2007, 05:30 PM)
i have problem with stability.
i OC'd to 2.8 (400x7).
ran 32m Pi - PASSED.
orthos 2 hours passed@2.8 (58c load)
but when i play games like dota for less than 30 minutes, it hang then windows got restarted. ]
what's goin on here? i believe it's ram problem, not the processor
ram +0.4v
MCH & FSB = +0.2
VCore = 1.35v
how bout urs GFX, did u overclock em too?
if YES, try run at stock setting
fo33il
Feb 26 2007, 12:55 PM
i wan to ask...most of the u using the p965 rite....but,how about the p945 s3?...is it hard to oc'ing?coz i got one p945 and sent it for rma...thinking to use it with my c2d..or maybe i just buying other mobo?
ghost321
Feb 28 2007, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Feb 23 2007, 11:27 AM)
but the problem is we don't get to choose right?
i ordered and have to accept what the shop gave me... only after that i realize mine is rev 1.0
same story here.
http://www.vr-zone.com/index.php?i=4507quote from page 1 of that URL above.
To maintain the lead, what are the upcoming models we can expect from Gigabyte?We are introducing all-solid cap design down to 945 platforms and we are releasing a new series of P965 rev 3.3 boards with native FSB 1333 support.
So all the P965 boards will have revision 3.3 and will be called for eg. GA-965P-DS3 rev 3.3? or they will be called with another abbreviation or name?GA-965P-DS3 rev 3.3. Other models include : GA-965P-DS4 rev 3.3 GA-965P-S3 rev 3.3 GA-965P-DQ6 rev 3.3
What's the price between between the revision 3.3 and the older revisions?No price differences
What will happen to older models when rev 3.3 comes out?Gigabyte revision 3.3 boards will be out end of this month. For the older models, we will have to depend on our customers' inventory. However, since we had been planning the transition months ago. The inventory level of our customers are pretty low, and it's the right time to phase in new models to market.

my foot lah! I didn't know there is such kinda of better revisions and after i placed my order after this was publish out. My mobo has arrived with the seller which is 965p-s1 rev1.0 and not rev.3.3 also not even rev2.0
For those who wants to order pls double check the revision.
why? check it out....
http://www.vr-zone.com/index.php?i=4507&s=2
fo33il
Mar 4 2007, 04:15 PM
but,i saw at lyp...there is gigabyte mobo rev 3.3,which is 965P-DS3P...is it the same with the one u all toking bout?
BlackThyra87
Mar 4 2007, 07:54 PM
comparing it physically, i only found 2x pci express slots on the rev3.3. and why the hell there is no dual +12v power slots?
mfcm
Mar 4 2007, 11:17 PM
soory guy..wanna ask abit..i prime my rig e6600 to 3.6ghz at 1.46v...both using sp2004 and orthos..noth result 8hours pass..but when i wanna use another application suddenly its restart

why ek..izzit coz not stable?but its oredi prime blend for orthos and cpu prime b4 dat using sp2004..got any idea?thx
anggajaya
Mar 5 2007, 02:42 AM
yeah, It also happened to my system, I successfully primed my 6300 For more than 8 hours at 2.7 at default v core, And suddenly When I wanted to open up other applications, The Pc amazingly restarted by itself...he2uhe2ue, But I raised a bit the vcore, and So far I had been priming it for almost 13 hours, and When i kept it idle for a while then I opened other applications which I did the same thing, It seems Ok so far though..... dunno what the problem is...oh yah, I also changed The timing for the ram setting....
basSist
Mar 8 2007, 10:59 AM
i got problem with my rma-ed ds3. back with f9. prime no problem for 9 hours with:
400x8 at 1.375v @ 62c
During night time i shut down my pc. and wake up in the morning turn on pc.. only boot up on 2nd try and change back to default setting (only the "Host Clock" turn to "disable", others like ram timing and advanced bios setting still remain the same setting as previous).
Anyone know what's wrong?
vassalle
Mar 8 2007, 11:38 AM
I think its called the cold boot problem. Its quite a common problem for the DS3. From this thread
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...109719&page=149 , the best bios should be the F7 or F8i. Some say that the problems are totally gone with the F10. Im currently using the F10 and never had any cold boot problems. I've been getting a couple of them in previous bios, especially the F9. YMMV.
basSist
Mar 8 2007, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(vassalle @ Mar 8 2007, 11:38 AM)
I think its called the cold boot problem. Its quite a common problem for the DS3. From this thread
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...109719&page=149 , the best bios should be the F7 or F8i. Some say that the problems are totally gone with the F10. Im currently using the F10 and never had any cold boot problems. I've been getting a couple of them in previous bios, especially the F9. YMMV.
ic. guess i wil be going to f10 if the problem occurs again. thanks for ur help
mjoe
Mar 8 2007, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(vassalle @ Mar 8 2007, 11:38 AM)
yea i also experienced this problem some time b4, what root cause of this problem? hardware or BIOS firmware...?
vassalle
Mar 8 2007, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(mjoe @ Mar 8 2007, 02:34 PM)
yea i also experienced this problem some time b4, what root cause of this problem? hardware or BIOS firmware...?
Not too sure to be honest. From what I understand, it has something to do with Bios. But my technical knowledge is not good at all.. I might be wrong. If you read through the thread, im sure you'll fine the answer to that question.
kyosukeX
Mar 10 2007, 11:10 PM
original clock speed 233mhz...
accidentally overclocked
when i was checking BIOS n found out that can change CPU speed
den i blur blur d change to highest speed n change to highest multiplier...
din even know wad is overclocking at that time...
fortunately.. CPU still running stably for 8 years..
jus wanna ask wad highest speed can a p2, 233ghz overclock
kyoriam
Mar 15 2007, 05:31 AM
My Pc
:------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cpu- Original CPU/Socket : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40 GHz
- Package : Socket 775 LGA
- Chipset : 945
- FSB : 200.9*12.0
- Clock Speed : 2410.5 Mhz
- Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : 1.1v
- core : 2
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Memory Corsair- Type : DDR2
- Channel : Dual
- Size : 512 x 2
- Frequency : 334.8 Mhz
- FSB DRam : 6.10
Mainboard- Brand : Gigabyte Technology Co Ltd
- Model : C19-MCP04
- Chipset : nFORCE4 SLI Intel Edition
- AGP/PCIE : PCIE
- Bios Version : F4
PS:Plz give Comment
patricktoh
Mar 22 2007, 04:45 PM
Just got myself DS3 rev 3.3 RM480 at Sri Comp. due to my 4 months old 945S2 is dead.
Hehe.. now is the time for me to venture into o'clock thingy.
BlackThyra87
Mar 22 2007, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(patricktoh @ Mar 22 2007, 04:45 PM)
Just got myself DS3 rev 3.3 RM480 at Sri Comp. due to my 4 months old 945S2 is dead.
nice. let it go 500 fsb if u can!
cant do it with my rev1.1 board
yehlai
Mar 22 2007, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(patricktoh @ Mar 22 2007, 04:45 PM)
Why dont send for RMA? i RMA my S3 b4.. can get back a new one.
Calcool77
Mar 22 2007, 07:27 PM
Hi to all out there...may be i shud ask this question on hardware Q&A,but i think most of the pro are here,wanna ask why the ratio of my E6300 keep changging on my S3 ver3.3,with f8 bios,wut shud i disable on my bios there??not dare to try again cos my previous mobo had sent for rma d,so would like to ask for precious advice b4 i try anything again,thx in advance!!!
yehlai
Mar 22 2007, 07:33 PM
Disable 'EIST' at BIOS. Play with BIOS wont dmg ur mobo.. but remember to set default b4 u flash BIOS to avoid bad things happen. Last time my S3 dead becoz of this, few other DS3 user also burn their mobo becoz not set default.
basSist
Mar 22 2007, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Mar 22 2007, 07:33 PM)
Disable 'EIST' at BIOS. Play with BIOS wont dmg ur mobo.. but remember to set default b4 u flash BIOS to avoid bad things happen. Last time my S3 dead becoz of this, few other DS3 user also burn their mobo becoz not set default.
haha ya i was one of the victims. disable functions in bios wont damage ur mobo wan
Calcool77
Mar 22 2007, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(basSist @ Mar 22 2007, 07:49 PM)
haha ya i was one of the victims. disable functions in bios wont damage ur mobo wan

Hehe...thx to all pro out there...afraid to try anything b4 i get confirmation from u all...haha..cos it trouble me a lot last time when my mobo died
yehlai
Mar 22 2007, 08:06 PM
Can try o'c t a bit

since u have nice CPU and NB cooling hehe..
S3 o'c result not much diff with DS3 i think. See how much u can clock it using default vCore.
Ash
Mar 22 2007, 08:43 PM
sorry wanna ask a newbie question here. has anyone here tried setting up raid on a DQ6? I'm kinda new to RAID and i heard you actually need to install the raid drivers using the floopy disk when you install windows right? i don't have floopy disk drive for my rig so is there any way else i can setup a RAID 0 for it?
patricktoh
Mar 23 2007, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Mar 22 2007, 06:46 PM)
Why dont send for RMA? i RMA my S3 b4.. can get back a new one.
Already contacted the shop. Will send in for RMA. Later the RMA unit can serve as spares or amybe upgrade my 2nd PC.
Added on March 23, 2007, 2:22 amHi DS3 sifu,
Do I need to disable USB 2.0 Controller in bios? WinXp advised me to swtich to any available USB 2.0 port after I plugged in a Media card reader (Hi-Speed). I have tried all the USB ports and non of them classified as Hi-Speed
Thanks in advance
horphi
Mar 23 2007, 08:19 AM
QUOTE(Ash @ Mar 22 2007, 08:43 PM)
sorry wanna ask a newbie question here. has anyone here tried setting up raid on a DQ6? I'm kinda new to RAID and i heard you actually need to install the raid drivers using the floopy disk when you install windows right? i don't have floopy disk drive for my rig so is there any way else i can setup a RAID 0 for it?
no u MUST have the floppy drive, no other way.
Ash
Mar 23 2007, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(horphi @ Mar 23 2007, 08:19 AM)
no u MUST have the floppy drive, no other way.
oh thanks thought it was something like advanced mobo doesnt need floopy because mobo nowadays dont need sata driver floopy like the old days ^^
horphi
Mar 23 2007, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(Ash @ Mar 23 2007, 08:24 AM)
oh thanks thought it was something like advanced mobo doesnt need floopy because mobo nowadays dont need sata driver floopy like the old days ^^
ya lor. y cant they enchance it to able read the drive from USB ....
i got 4 pcs and sharing 1 floppy drive lolz

so lame.
Seng007
Mar 23 2007, 06:07 PM
I am helping my friend to ask the question, he is using 965P-DS3, how does he set Ram timing? Such as to 5-5-5-15?
basSist
Mar 23 2007, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(Seng007 @ Mar 23 2007, 06:07 PM)
I am helping my friend to ask the question, he is using 965P-DS3, how does he set Ram timing? Such as to 5-5-5-15?
enter bios menu, press Ctrl+F1 then go into the cpu ratio clock speed setting.
BurgerRI
Mar 23 2007, 11:23 PM
are the present gigabyte mobo's supporting the 1333mhz fsb yet?
yehlai
Mar 24 2007, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Mar 23 2007, 11:23 PM)
are the present gigabyte mobo's supporting the 1333mhz fsb yet?
965Chipset all support 1333FSB. U just need to o'c it.
gengstapo
Mar 24 2007, 02:44 AM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Mar 24 2007, 12:44 AM)
965Chipset all support 1333FSB. U just need to o'c it.
no need OC larr, just upgrade to latest BIOS where its already support 1333FSB
Ash
Mar 24 2007, 07:11 AM
can anyone tell me whats the differences between DQ6 rev 1 , 2 and 3.3? and also how do i know which rev my mobo belongs to ? oh yea please teach me which driver shall i download to setup my raid when i install windows thanks
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherb...ame=GA-965P-DQ6
kevyeoh
Mar 25 2007, 02:59 PM
i tried setting up raid... but somehow got problem with it...
now i revert back to normal single drive liao...

i'm using DS3
previously i combine two 160GB HDD for RAID 0... but i do partition 160GB first and the balance capacity as next drive...
well... problem starts when i tried to format my 'second' partition hard drive... windows got corrupted after that...
then...from there onwards...i tried to setup my RAID again..but at windows, i cannot format the raid hdd anymore...
good luck!
QUOTE(Ash @ Mar 22 2007, 08:43 PM)
Added on March 25, 2007, 3:00 pmtry getting RAID 363 controller...
QUOTE(Ash @ Mar 24 2007, 07:11 AM)
can anyone tell me whats the differences between DQ6 rev 1 , 2 and 3.3? and also how do i know which rev my mobo belongs to ? oh yea please teach me which driver shall i download to setup my raid when i install windows thanks
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherb...ame=GA-965P-DQ6
Added on March 27, 2007, 7:58 amalso, anyone here using rev3.3 board for DS3 and able to overclock beyond 400Mhz FSB?
radiancephil
Mar 27 2007, 09:28 PM
Anyone know whats the optimal setting for Gigabyte 965P-DS3 mobo??? What should I enable and what should I disable???
kevyeoh
Mar 28 2007, 08:20 AM
beats me bro...i don't know the optimum setting also...
i can't even hit 400FSB mark right now.... did i miss out anything?
i did increase 0.1V for my FSB alraedy..
not sure if my system not stable due to proc or FSB... how to verify?
BlackThyra87
Mar 28 2007, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(radiancephil @ Mar 27 2007, 09:28 PM)
Anyone know whats the optimal setting for Gigabyte 965P-DS3 mobo??? What should I enable and what should I disable???
depends on ur target/maximum fsb. i'd say if u wanna past 420fsb mark, u can at least add +0.2 on the vFSB and +0.3v for over 450. u can keep at +0.2v on the vMCH.
make sure to disable unnecessary bios features:
1. Disable 'AI Tuning' for ASUS, 'C.I.A.2' for Gigabyte
2. Set PCI Express (PCIe) frequency @100Mhz
3. Set PCI frequency @33Mhz
4. Disable Hyperpath 3 (for P5W DH only)
5. Disable any 'spread spectrum'
6. Disable Q-Fan (for ASUS only)
7. Disable 'Limit CPUID Max to 3'
8. Disable any overvoltage protection
9. Disable 'C1E'
10. Disable 'EIST'
11. Disable Virtualization Technology
12. Disable No-Execute Memory Protect
13. Disable any other thing you don't use
14. Do not enable any speed enhancements you see
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Mar 28 2007, 08:20 AM)
beats me bro...i don't know the optimum setting also...
i can't even hit 400FSB mark right now.... did i miss out anything?
i did increase 0.1V for my FSB alraedy..
not sure if my system not stable due to proc or FSB... how to verify?
+0.1v for 400fsb is sufficient already. maybe it's ur memory configuration. determine the best stable setting by playing the ram timing/clocks. Also, Try to add +0.1v on the MCH. Test them at least 2 hours with Orthos.
if ur using DDR800 memory, should not be a prob hitting 400fsb if u put the memory multiplier to 2.0 (1:1).
hyyam85
Mar 28 2007, 03:33 PM
i read from somewhere that DS3's chipset runs burning hot even with stock settings. is tat true? if tat is true, any advice to overcome it?
syapl
Mar 28 2007, 04:45 PM
increase the vmch is increase the voltage of the 965p chipset,but if increase the vfsb is for which chipset?
kevyeoh
Mar 28 2007, 08:37 PM
blackthyra,
thanks for the input bro...it's working now and i'm doing prime... i up my vmch and vfsb to +0.2 both and now i can hit 440Mhz...
doing prime now...
so now it's either choosing high CPU multiplier and get low ram speed...
or lower CPU multiplier and increasing FSB + memory speed...
any inputs?
syapl
Mar 28 2007, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Mar 28 2007, 08:37 PM)
blackthyra,
thanks for the input bro...it's working now and i'm doing prime... i up my vmch and vfsb to +0.2 both and now i can hit 440Mhz...
doing prime now...
any inputs?
care about your p965 chipset temperature,better put a fan on it
kevyeoh
Mar 28 2007, 09:05 PM
ok... prime is not stable...hehe... i'll slowly try now... starting from 400Mhz FSB..
BlackThyra87
Mar 28 2007, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(syapl @ Mar 28 2007, 04:45 PM)
increase the vmch is increase the voltage of the 965p chipset,but if increase the vfsb is for which chipset?
vMCH is the southbridge and vFSB is the Northbridge.
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Mar 28 2007, 08:37 PM)
blackthyra,
doing prime now...
any inputs?
yes. if u want to test MAX FSB, lower ur cpu multiplier. keep memory multi at 1:1 too unless u are testing max ram mhz on the ram.
what cpu model and ram chipset r u using now?
syapl
Mar 28 2007, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(BlackThyra87 @ Mar 28 2007, 10:33 PM)
vMCH is the southbridge and vFSB is the Northbridge.
oic,thanks

Added on March 29, 2007, 7:24 pmanybody know what software can see the real vcore?i set my vcore 1.325 in bios,but these 2 software shown 1.26 @@
kaiser_falco
Mar 29 2007, 07:49 PM
hmmm i was wondering,before i am using a ds3 with f10 bios pair with 7600gs,i could overclock to 3.75ghz stable,then yesterday my card 7950gx2 return from rma then decided to test it out,i plug in the card and boot up the pc,it reset my oc setting to default..and when i try to oc back,i cant??!!why what happening?
it always return back to it standard setting,anyone have any clue??before the card sent to rma i was using a f7 bios and can overclock it easily...
BlackThyra87
Mar 29 2007, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(syapl @ Mar 28 2007, 10:48 PM)
oic,thanks

Added on March 29, 2007, 7:24 pmanybody know what software can see the real vcore?i set my vcore 1.325 in bios,but these 2 software shown 1.26 @@
i dont know why is it in ur case but for me, CPU-Z shown me the correct voltage at the processor.. same goes to everest 3.8 Ultimate...
kaiser_falco
Mar 29 2007, 08:08 PM
oh yea by the way ds3 user plz tell me which bios you guys use?
BlackThyra87
Mar 29 2007, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(kaiser_falco @ Mar 29 2007, 08:08 PM)
oh yea by the way ds3 user plz tell me which bios you guys use?
using F10. no problems so far. OC also great on this bios.
kaiser_falco
Mar 29 2007, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(BlackThyra87 @ Mar 29 2007, 08:14 PM)
using F10. no problems so far. OC also great on this bios.

yeah im using 7600gs before no problem but as soon as i put in my 7950gx2 all reverted to non oc setting that is default..
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.