raymond5105
Jan 30 2007, 08:08 PM
Load temperature 75 degree celcius,that's preety high.Better look for a better heatsink.Running in long term will shorten the processor's life span.
kennyncl
Jan 30 2007, 09:37 PM
U can try use Zalman CNPS9500-LED. i currently using it with my 3.4G northwood proc and mantain temperature at 55C at full load
jetkiat
Feb 1 2007, 04:55 PM
noob ques...
how to update the bios without floppy ah....?
RokXIII
Feb 1 2007, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(jetkiat @ Feb 1 2007, 04:55 PM)
noob ques...

I use the Gigabyte @bios software to flash it... Floppy is needless.
yehlai
Feb 1 2007, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(jetkiat @ Feb 1 2007, 04:55 PM)
noob ques...

If u are not using Gigabyte mobo then can use Winflash. Just google it.
gengstapo
Feb 1 2007, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 1 2007, 08:25 PM)
If u are not using Gigabyte mobo then can use Winflash. Just google it.
hehee.. else, juz use the bundle utility come with ur mobo, the
@BIOS
ps: fLash ur BIOS at ur own risk
yehlai
Feb 1 2007, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Feb 1 2007, 08:28 PM)
hehee.. else, juz use the bundle utility come with ur mobo, the
@BIOS
ps: fLash ur BIOS at ur own risk 
Post new o'c result share with us bro, u got new premium type mobo.
gengstapo
Feb 1 2007, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 1 2007, 08:38 PM)
Post new o'c result share with us bro, u got new premium type mobo.

not much special, currently on this settin'
jetkiat
Feb 1 2007, 10:24 PM
yehhh
thanks brothers...
success update using Gigabyte @bios

Added on February 1, 2007, 10:44 pmwalao yeh..
just now use easy tune, oc untill 3Gz and cant connect to LAN port..
heheh
deric88
Feb 1 2007, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(jetkiat @ Feb 1 2007, 10:24 PM)
yehhh
thanks brothers...
success update using Gigabyte @bios

Added on February 1, 2007, 10:44 pmwalao yeh..
just now use easy tune, oc untill 3Gz and cant connect to LAN port..
heheh
what does connecting to lan port has to do with oc to 3ghz?
you using what mobo and processor?
gengstapo
Feb 1 2007, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 1 2007, 11:07 PM)
what does connecting to lan port has to do with oc to 3ghz?
you using what mobo and processor?
that showing ur system unstable
ive been in this situation before

ps: its really not advised to oc ur system via windows, if u know what u doing than its ok
vassalle
Feb 1 2007, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Feb 1 2007, 09:28 PM)
Processor 85c????
deric88
Feb 1 2007, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(vassalle @ Feb 1 2007, 11:38 PM)
Processor 85c????

what's the average temperature a processor should 100%load on? 60-70C?
gengstapo
Feb 2 2007, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 1 2007, 11:56 PM)
should be below than 60c la better
the cooler the better
mfcm
Feb 2 2007, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Feb 2 2007, 08:32 AM)
should be below than 60c la better
the cooler the better

huhu mine oredi 88c

so better wait for hsf since its hot wit the stock cooler
yehlai
Feb 2 2007, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Feb 1 2007, 09:28 PM)
Beautiful

3.33GHz 1.400v only.
Looks very stable. But how come vCore setting so low the temp can be so high one ?
vassalle
Feb 2 2007, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 1 2007, 11:56 PM)
QUOTE(mfcm @ Feb 2 2007, 02:39 PM)
huhu mine oredi 88c

Read this post from some wise dude.
Safe Operating Temp + Monitoring SoftwareLower is better offcourse. If you must, try not to exceed 70c.
gengstapo
Feb 2 2007, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(vassalle @ Feb 1 2007, 11:38 PM)
Processor 85c????

dont belive arr?

QUOTE(mfcm @ Feb 2 2007, 02:39 PM)
huhu mine oredi 88c

.. need to wait ur tuniq
maybe can lower lil' bit of ur current temp
QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 2 2007, 04:37 PM)
Beautiful

3.33GHz 1.400v only.
Looks very stable. But how come vCore setting so low the temp can be so high one ?
its not in aircond, just using ceiling fan

already try in aircond, full load 70c-73c
maybe time to get new HSf
basSist
Feb 5 2007, 03:51 PM
got serious problem with my ds3
kind enuf to drop by the thread about my problem in technical support and give some opinions thanks
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/405789
kaiser_falco
Feb 6 2007, 08:59 PM
hey get back my ds3 board n just now sold asus p5b...kindda miss it edi..now a gigabyte fan again...
AceCombat
Feb 9 2007, 09:28 PM

i share my job with u ppl too....currently wanna sell this mobo and upgrading to Commando or N680i chipset mobo....

my rig idle @3.4GHz with 40c,load is around 54c,mostly lower,i mean,the highest i reach in orthos only 54c....
radiancephil
Feb 11 2007, 05:43 PM
*noob alert*
Anyone here oc-ing with E4300??? Cause I am planning to get a e4300 + ds3 + ddr2 800 and try oc-ing with it because I like the prospect of running at 1:1 ratio.... Anyone care to share their 2 cents???
vassalle
Feb 11 2007, 11:00 PM
if anything, unless your planning to overclock your processor to 3.6ghz or more (which will require a really good cooling system), you might be able to save some money and go for ddr 667 rams instead.
gOJDO
Feb 12 2007, 01:50 AM
HI all,
I have:
DS3 Rev. C2
E6400 B2 6
2x512MB DDR2-800 Nanya CL5 5-5-12
Asus Silent SQUARE CPU cooler
ATX Delux 388A 420W
My stable OC:
A) CPU: 3GHz(8x375), RAM: 937MHz CL5 5-5-12, FSB 1500MHz, vCore 1.41v, vFSB +0.2v, vDIMM +0.2v
B) CPU: 3.2GHz (8x400), RAM: 800MHz CL5 -5-5-12, FSB 1600MHz, vCore 1.47v, vFSB +0.3v, vMCH +0.1v
In BIOS are disabled: C1E, EIST, TM2, Virtualization, NX bit, anything else I don't need
My questions are:
1. Do you think that with better PSU I'll be able to reduce vCore, but system to remain stable?
2. Do you have any idea why I need so high vCore for 3.2GHz? (I allredy tried with higer vMCH and vDIMM, but didn't helped)
Thank you
mfcm
Feb 12 2007, 02:57 AM
i dun think when u get better psu u will reduce ur vcore..perhaps im rite

..since if thinkin better psu will reduce vcore then can take 1kW psu will reduce vcore so can push higher but seem other user of btter psu face same like 1.6v to push 4.00ghz..due to ur vcore mite high myb u need to tweak more ur setting or mite be u got not too great stepping proc for oc
castano
Feb 13 2007, 05:48 PM
edit: nvm..
AceCombat
Feb 13 2007, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(castano @ Feb 13 2007, 05:48 PM)
well,i think u can find a very useful and guide that all about overclock,it's not safe if u dont know how to overclock correctly,pls look all the info that u need in lyn.
t3chn0m4nc3r
Feb 15 2007, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(mfcm @ Feb 12 2007, 03:57 AM)
i dun think when u get better psu u will reduce ur vcore..perhaps im rite

..since if thinkin better psu will reduce vcore then can take 1kW psu will reduce vcore so can push higher but seem other user of btter psu face same like 1.6v to push 4.00ghz..due to ur vcore mite high myb u need to tweak more ur setting or mite be u got not too great stepping proc for oc

it also depend on luck... i heard b4 if ur PSU not stable ur vCore will be lesser than u set... so having a more stable PSU(not more power) allow better stability for undervoltage...

Added on February 15, 2007, 12:03 pmQUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jan 23 2007, 06:47 PM)
refurbished? you mean 2nd hand?
refurbish is not 2nd hand... it's brand new but recycle... like those OEM Dell monitors... the outside write Dell but use catalyst see is Compaq pulak...

But HDD is slightly diff case la...
ben3003
Feb 15 2007, 11:49 PM
my pc dunno y after i changed it to another casing, now i cant achieve 400mhz oleidi... when i oc, the window wont start and show wat system file missing.. can anyone identify wat is the problem with my pc? Thanks!
jetkiat
Feb 17 2007, 03:37 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 15 2007, 11:49 PM)
my pc dunno y after i changed it to another casing, now i cant achieve 400mhz oleidi... when i oc, the window wont start and show wat system file missing.. can anyone identify wat is the problem with my pc? Thanks!
U MEAN JUST CASING..???
PSU..???
if everything same than swap back to old casing n c loHHHH
ben3003
Feb 18 2007, 06:53 PM
cant change back la... lolz.. i thing something wrong with my ram..ds3 got 2 color of slots rite? B4 i put red one then now got prob i change to yellow then lower oc it pc can run, now running at 2.4ghz but orthos gave me this:
Type: Blend - stress CPU and RAM Min: 8 Max: 4096 InPlace: No Mem: 767 Time: 15
CPU: 2450MHz FSB: 350MHz [350MHz x 7.0 est.]
Using existing MBM info
2/18/2007 6:40 PM
Launching 2 threads...
Using CPU #0
Beginning a continuous self-test to check your computer.
Press Stop to end this test.
Test 1, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024K FFT length.
Test 2, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922943 using 1024K FFT length.
Test 3, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19374367 using 1024K FFT length.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
Torture Test ran 8 minutes 47 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.
Execution halted.
How... dunno wat causing the prob le.. i very scare la...
anggajaya
Feb 19 2007, 01:05 AM
I guess This Is out of topic already, but I need To ask U guys urgently.... I ve got a processor from my friend Which he asked me to bild Up a new system for him..... On the Top Of the processor says like this :intel celeron d 331 sl8h7 china 2.66ghz, what I wanna ask here Is what socket exactly this is....
is it 775 socket?? ur helps are really needed and appreciated as well....thanks in advance....
gengstapo
Feb 19 2007, 07:47 AM
QUOTE(anggajaya @ Feb 19 2007, 01:05 AM)
I guess This Is out of topic already, but I need To ask U guys urgently.... I ve got a processor from my friend Which he asked me to bild Up a new system for him..... On the Top Of the processor says like this :intel celeron d 331 sl8h7 china 2.66ghz, what I wanna ask here Is what socket exactly this is....
is it 775 socket?? ur helps are really needed and appreciated as well....thanks in advance....
google is ur best fRiend
by searching with the
SL8H7, u can get the full infor about it
SEP910
Feb 19 2007, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(gOJDO @ Feb 12 2007, 01:50 AM)
HI all,
I have:
DS3 Rev. C2
E6400 B2 6
2x512MB DDR2-800 Nanya CL5 5-5-12
Asus Silent SQUARE CPU cooler
ATX Delux 388A 420W
My stable OC:
A) CPU: 3GHz(8x375), RAM: 937MHz CL5 5-5-12, FSB 1500MHz, vCore 1.41v, vFSB +0.2v, vDIMM +0.2v
B) CPU: 3.2GHz (8x400), RAM: 800MHz CL5 -5-5-12, FSB 1600MHz, vCore 1.47v, vFSB +0.3v, vMCH +0.1v
In BIOS are disabled: C1E, EIST, TM2, Virtualization, NX bit, anything else I don't need
My questions are:
1. Do you think that with better PSU I'll be able to reduce vCore, but system to remain stable?
2. Do you have any idea why I need so high vCore for 3.2GHz? (I allredy tried with higer vMCH and vDIMM, but didn't helped)
Thank you
Hi, 3.2ghz I think no need so high vcore(1.47v),
for vcore 1.47v, you can get 3.5Ghz,
try to increase FSB to 438.
IMHO,
ben3003
Feb 20 2007, 11:11 AM
cant change back la... lolz.. i thing something wrong with my ram..ds3 got 2 color of slots rite? B4 i put red one then now got prob i change to yellow then lower oc it pc can run, now running at 2.4ghz but orthos gave me this:
Type: Blend - stress CPU and RAM Min: 8 Max: 4096 InPlace: No Mem: 767 Time: 15
Using existing MBM info
2/18/2007 6:40 PM
Launching 2 threads...
Using CPU #0
Beginning a continuous self-test to check your computer.
Press Stop to end this test.
Test 1, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024K FFT length.
Test 2, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922943 using 1024K FFT length.
Test 3, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19374367 using 1024K FFT length.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
Torture Test ran 8 minutes 47 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.
Execution halted.
gengstapo
Feb 20 2007, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 20 2007, 11:11 AM)
w0ot?! no need worry la, its very common
this is due the vcore/ vdimm setting lower. u need to raise accordingly so it can support the overclocked system
what ur current vcore & vdimm?
ben3003
Feb 20 2007, 11:54 PM
sorry i noobie so i dunno where to see vdimm... probably is default, and vcore is 1.264v. Now still stock speed la.. dun dare oc later keep on BSOD one...
gengstapo
Feb 21 2007, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 20 2007, 11:54 PM)
sorry i noobie so i dunno where to see vdimm... probably is default, and vcore is 1.264v. Now still stock speed la.. dun dare oc later keep on BSOD one...
u have to unhide the advance OC option in DS3 mobo
in BIOS menus screenie, just press Ctrl + F1..
sHawTY
Feb 21 2007, 01:03 AM
Does anyone here have an idea why i can't adjust ram timing on my DQ6?
gengstapo
Feb 21 2007, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 21 2007, 01:03 AM)
Does anyone here have an idea why i can't adjust ram timing on my DQ6?

same as above.. try 1st larr
zackskate666
Feb 21 2007, 12:45 PM
hi all..im a newbie in OC..right now im using a e6300 with a biostar tforce 965 mobo and dual channel 533 corsair value ram timing at 4-4-4-12..the highest i can achieved with my mobo juz 2.4ghz..can anyone help me??..im using intel hsf
jinaun
Feb 22 2007, 10:38 PM
gigabyte seems to release multiple version of the same board and its causing confusion, can anyone list of the difference between those board versions.. eg
0) DS3 1.0 |vs| DS3 2.0
1. no 12v input choke | have 12v input choke - better stability / tigher tolerence of 12V source
2. ............ | .............
n. ............ | .............
so it would be useful for people who getting those boards...
vailance
Feb 22 2007, 11:44 PM
just drop by here to ask, (default Vcore)E4300 from 1.8ghz@2.7Ghz (9*300) need a aftermarket cooler? stock fan enough?
sHawTY
Feb 22 2007, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(vailance @ Feb 22 2007, 11:44 PM)
just drop by here to ask, (default Vcore)E4300 from 1.8ghz@2.7Ghz (9*300) need a aftermarket cooler? stock fan enough?
If you love your processor, the answer will be:
Yes.
You need an aftermarket cooler.
You need to understand malaysian climate.
Malaysian climate is very hot.
Anyway, you've asked this question in the wrong place.
vailance
Feb 22 2007, 11:53 PM
lol.. sorry i tot intel proc all can ask here lol
sHawTY
Feb 23 2007, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(vailance @ Feb 22 2007, 11:53 PM)
lol.. sorry i tot intel proc all can ask here lol
Yes, you can ask anything about intel processors here.
But your previous question is about cooling the processor.
Not about overclocking your processor.
vailance
Feb 23 2007, 02:48 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 23 2007, 12:09 AM)
Yes, you can ask anything about intel processors here.
But your previous question is about cooling the processor.
Not about overclocking your processor.

cooling is a part of overclocking ma..u oc also need cooling lol.. watever..
btw the c2d 4300 running at 2.7ghz will giv a big boom in speed compare to E6600 default speed??
kevyeoh
Feb 23 2007, 11:27 AM
but the problem is we don't get to choose right?
i ordered and have to accept what the shop gave me... only after that i realize mine is rev 1.0
jinaun
Feb 23 2007, 11:36 AM
u can actually specify what version u want, most of the shop does this. if u did't specify, usually they will push out the old batch first
i always check first b4 ordering..
BlackThyra87
Feb 23 2007, 05:30 PM
i have problem with stability.
i OC'd to 2.8 (400x7).
ran 32m Pi - PASSED.
orthos 2 hours passed@2.8 (58c load)
but when i play games like dota for less than 30 minutes, it hang then windows got restarted. ]
what's goin on here? i believe it's ram problem, not the processor
ram +0.4v
MCH & FSB = +0.2
VCore = 1.35v
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.