Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: INTEL OVERCLOCKING THREAD
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Overclockers United
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78
nelza_ax

micd to share ur screenie ? notworthy.gif
isildur88
can i OC my pentium3 processor? i have a p3 600mhz... Processor Temperature 40°C... mainboard temp at 35°C... cpu core at 1.71 V...
bobtiang
hi guys, please help to take a look at this?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=7916019
raymond5105
QUOTE(bobtiang @ Jul 26 2006, 03:46 PM)
hi all gurus...
hope to get some advice. thanks in advance.

here's some info of my P4 captured with CPU-Z, anything I can tweak to serve me better? smile.gif

CPU
[attachmentid=123215]

Mobo
[attachmentid=123216]

RAM
[attachmentid=123217]

SPD
[attachmentid=123218]

I think the RAM speed is a bit low.. isn't? please advice.

Yours is using INtel 865PERL mobo which doesb't have the o/c functions there.Regarding your RAM,since your processor is 2.4A which is not HT support + running in 533 FSB(quad-pump),so your RAM is resulting running in 166Mhz.

QUOTE(milky @ Jul 27 2006, 04:41 PM)
guys by looking @ my spec do u think can OC ?
default is 3.0ghz...

Your spec can o/c since using other type of mobo,not intel one.
bobtiang
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jul 29 2006, 07:11 PM)
Yours is using INtel 865PERL mobo which doesb't have the o/c functions there.Regarding your RAM,since your processor is 2.4A which is not HT support + running in 533 FSB(quad-pump),so your RAM is resulting running in 166Mhz.

i know intel mobo cant really unlock the multiplier.
so, should i inscreast the RAM speed to 266 or something?

jasonlim
QUOTE(bobtiang @ Jul 26 2006, 03:46 PM)
hi all gurus...
hope to get some advice. thanks in advance.

here's some info of my P4 captured with CPU-Z, anything I can tweak to serve me better? smile.gif

Mobo
[attachmentid=123216]

I think the RAM speed is a bit low.. isn't? please advice.

too bad..ur mobo is intel..else ur 2.4A shud be a veli OC-able

QUOTE(milky @ Jul 27 2006, 04:41 PM)
guys by looking @ my spec do u think can OC ?
default is 3.0ghz...

wow!!u using the same mobo as me thumbup.gif

QUOTE(milky @ Jul 29 2006, 09:42 AM)
can i use the easy tune to bump it up?

better bump it in bios..
kucalana
@milky
u can use easy tune if u not familiar with ur bios.anyway it safer than use bios
but u get small oc result n stability.
tomsdc
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Jul 29 2006, 01:09 PM)

micd to share ur screenie ?  notworthy.gif

I'm newbie,how to show the best picture? shakehead.gif
Devilc0de
QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jul 22 2006, 04:06 AM)
Perhaps can see it under Prime95 and see the temp. rolleyes.gif

testing my PD 805 oc to 3.65ghz yesterday.. pass 1 hours stress test on 2X sp2004.
idle temp 40c , load 54c on stock HSF wink.gif

startrail
My old intel m/b can be overclock or not?
D845WN
still support SD rams ...
nelza_ax
QUOTE(startrail @ Aug 12 2006, 08:07 PM)
My old intel m/b can be overclock or not?
D845WN
still support SD rams ...

try to find the menu in ur bios blush.gif
RokXIII
guys, can help somthg in this?

i jus wan to kno, can i oc my ram?
the divider is 4:5 (actually i'm not understand what does it mean...)

now i dunno my ram is 2.5-3-3-8 or 2.5-4-4-8. rclxub.gif i got 3 sticks of ram, 256+512+256, all are corsair.

since the FSB is 167, the divider is 4:5, then 167*(4/5)=133.6, 133.6*2(since it is DDR), equals to 267.2, is that mean i gona change my DRAM frequency to DDR266?

correct me if i'm wrong!(i know i must be wrong)...
raymond5105
QUOTE(RokXIII @ Aug 22 2006, 04:49 AM)
guys, can help somthg in this?

i jus wan to kno, can i oc my ram?
the divider is 4:5 (actually i'm not understand what does it mean...)

now i dunno my ram is 2.5-3-3-8 or 2.5-4-4-8. rclxub.gif  i got 3 sticks of ram, 256+512+256, all are corsair.
since the FSB is 167, the divider is 4:5, then 167*(4/5)=133.6,  133.6*2(since it is DDR), equals to 267.2, is that mean i gona change my DRAM frequency to DDR266?

correct me if i'm wrong!(i know i must be wrong)...

The 4:5 means for 166FSB you set on the setting,quad 166 will the 668FSB on the CPU-Z. Where your memory you will get 208MHz from this equation (166*5/4).Get what i mean?
jasonlim
QUOTE(Devilc0de @ Aug 10 2006, 03:30 PM)
testing my PD 805 oc to 3.65ghz yesterday.. pass 1 hours stress test on 2X sp2004.
idle temp 40c , load 54c  on stock HSF wink.gif

wah!!ur temp on stock on HSF also so nice..impressive!!

mine on TT BT @ 3.4ghz also 36C nia lowest sweat.gif
RokXIII
Still the RAM QUestion here...
Please c here

1)From the pic above, my RAM frequency 208.8, times 2 is 417 which is closer to 400 coz my RAM is DDR400. So can it be say i OC on a correct way for my RAM?

2)If i keep on OC my proc and make the fsb to 200, then the RAM frequency ll becom 250, times 2 ll becom 500. Since my RAM just DDR400, so if I make to 500, my mobo can support it? Performences ll better or weaker?

3)Can I change the divider 4:5 to other?

Thanks!
raymond5105
QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 6 2006, 01:16 AM)
Still the RAM QUestion here...
Please c here

1)From the pic above, my RAM frequency 208.8, times 2 is 417 which is closer to 400 coz my RAM is DDR400. So can it be say i OC on a correct way for my RAM?

2)If i keep on OC my proc and make the fsb to 200, then the RAM frequency ll becom 250, times 2 ll becom 500. Since my RAM just DDR400, so if I make to 500, my mobo can support it? Performences ll better or weaker?

3)Can I change the divider 4:5 to other?

Thanks!

Once you o/c even 1FSB,then is consider doing o/c already on cpu + RAM.If you wish to increase your FSB to 200 then you should try to o/c it to 200FSB then only know whether your system can support or not.No one can tell you the exact anwer here.This depends much on your system setup + hardware used.
RokXIII
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Sep 6 2006, 05:27 PM)
Once you o/c even 1FSB,then is consider doing o/c already on cpu + RAM.If you wish to increase your FSB to 200 then you should try to o/c it to 200FSB then only know whether your system can support or not.No one can tell you the exact anwer here.This depends much on your system setup + hardware used.

I understand this 1.
But still on the question, can i change the divider? wink.gif
raymond5105
QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 6 2006, 10:06 PM)
I understand this 1.
But still on the question, can i change the divider? wink.gif

Yes you can change the divider as provided from your mobo's bios.
kasperskyz
my cpu is p4 2.67ghz....how much ghz is the best did i need to oc?
raymond5105
QUOTE(kasperskyz @ Sep 7 2006, 12:54 PM)
my cpu is p4 2.67ghz....how much ghz is the best did i need to oc?

P4 2.67GHz is 533 FSB quad pump.O/cing wise is dependent on your hardware.Maybe you can share out your spec here.We can help you...
kasperskyz
p4 2.67
1gb ddr2 ram
intel d945plrn mobo
ati x300 256mb
80gb pata hdd
dvd combo
raymond5105
QUOTE(kasperskyz @ Sep 7 2006, 01:41 PM)
p4 2.67
1gb ddr2 ram
intel d945plrn mobo
ati x300 256mb
80gb pata hdd
dvd combo

Intel 945 mobo, i not sure whether it can be overclock or not.Do you see and options to change the FSB in bios mode?If yes then you may overclock.
kabukiawie
But normaly intel board doesn't provide oc settings in the BIOS. If really cannot oc in bios, try clockgen....hehe just my 2 cents

@RokXIII
refer to your mobo menual, the setting for devider should be available. If you able to set it to 1:1, your proc can perform better than mine. C0 steping i think same as mine. hehe. i check tonight blush.gif
RokXIII
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 7 2006, 05:05 PM)
But normaly intel board doesn't provide oc settings in the BIOS. If really cannot oc in bios, try clockgen....hehe just my 2 cents

@RokXIII
refer to your mobo menual, the setting for devider should be available. If you able to set it to 1:1, your proc can perform better than mine. C0 steping i think same as mine. hehe. i check tonight blush.gif

Thank ur info bro, i gona check it out later, wish it reli can change divider as i jus find inside the bios, nothing can do with the divider, or mayb i dont kno which 1 is use to change it.
raymond5105
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 7 2006, 05:05 PM)

@RokXIII

Normally hte Intel doesn't support o/c but the new type mobo like the 975X does support o/cing. cool.gif
kabukiawie
Which is it better?

4:5 with 168fsb:208ram loose timing (i doubt my ram can run at this speed)
1:1 with 168fsb:168ram tight timing (currently running)

i will try play around tonight. smile.gif

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Sep 8 2006, 06:54 AM)
Normally hte Intel doesn't support o/c but the new type mobo like the 975X does support o/cing. cool.gif

is it? blush.gif i didn't know that. I just know all type of mobo from Intel are not support oc. tongue.gif

@RokXIII
mine stepping same as yours, my max oc is up to 3.2+GHz but not stable. doh.gif
raymond5105
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 8 2006, 09:52 AM)
Which is it better?

4:5 with 168fsb:208ram loose timing (i doubt my ram can run at this speed)
1:1 with 168fsb:168ram tight timing (currently running)

i will try play around tonight. smile.gif
is it?  blush.gif i didn't know that. I just know all type of mobo from Intel are not support oc. tongue.gif
@RokXIII
mine stepping same as yours, my max oc is up to 3.2+GHz but not stable. doh.gif

If you go to check the core 2 duo then you can see ppl using Intel 975X mobo to o/c. Well if can run on 1:1 at loose timing.Since Intel platform prefer loose timing than tight timing.
kabukiawie
you mean loose timing perform better for Intel? like 2.5-x-x-x?

raymond5105
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 8 2006, 12:00 PM)
you mean loose timing perform better for Intel? like 2.5-x-x-x?

Yes,like the timing of 2.5-4-4-8 or 3.0-4-4-8, The high performance RAM can do at 2-x-x-x
kabukiawie
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Sep 8 2006, 02:29 PM)
Yes,like the timing of 2.5-4-4-8 or 3.0-4-4-8, The high performance RAM can do at 2-x-x-x

i try and see the different. Thanks for the info. notworthy.gif
raymond5105
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 8 2006, 03:57 PM)
i try and see the different. Thanks for the info.  notworthy.gif

Looser timing can go for higher FSB on the mobo also.Try then out!
kabukiawie
now mine max only till 168 fsb 1:1, i tried not prime stable even i loose the timing to 2.5-4-4-8 =_=", i tried to play with 4:5 divider tonight and see the performance.
raymond5105
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 8 2006, 04:54 PM)
now mine max only till 168 fsb 1:1, i tried not prime stable even i loose the timing to 2.5-4-4-8 =_=", i tried to play with 4:5 divider tonight and see the performance.

You try on 3-4-4-8 and see.Use the loose timing....
Amedion
My MSI mobo is locked... I oc proc then ram also oc edi.. Now my 2.8E can hit 2.98 only becoz limited by the ram i think.. shud i get high performance ram or add more ram?
RokXIII
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 8 2006, 04:54 PM)

kabukiawie, may i kno the vcore for ur proc? Mine 1 is 1.40v at 3.0GHz, but somtime it will drop till 1.359 in cpu-z, seems like not very stable... sweat.gif
nelza_ax
QUOTE(Amedion @ Sep 8 2006, 08:50 PM)
My MSI mobo is locked... I oc proc then ram also oc edi.. Now my 2.8E can hit  2.98 only becoz limited by the ram i think.. shud i get high performance ram or add more ram?

try to use the divider thumbup.gif
RokXIII
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Sep 9 2006, 05:01 PM)
try to use the divider  thumbup.gif

but how? set it in the bios? I'm not able to do so as my mobo dun support this function.
Izit got the 3rd party software to set the divider?
nelza_ax
QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 9 2006, 05:10 PM)
but how? set it in the bios? I'm not able to do so as my mobo dun support this function.
Izit got the 3rd party software to set the divider?

erk..dun hav those function meh? using latest bios edi?
RokXIII
got 1 function like this:

DRAM Frequency (Mhz)
Use this field to configure the clock frequency of the installed DRAM. Settings are:
PSB 400: 266, Auto, 333, 400, 433, 466, 500.
PSB 533: 266, 333, Auto, 400, 433, 450, 466, 500, 354 (3:4).
PSB 800: 266, 333, 400, Auto, 433, 450, 466, 500, 532, 501 (4:5),
533 (3:4).

it jus change the frequency but not the divider, i wish i can change it to 1:1。。。。

on the pic above, which 1 should I use?
radmaszeal
voltmodding LGA 775 cpus. not sure if old or new.....

http://vr-zone.com/index.php?i=3931
raymond5105
QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 9 2006, 07:19 PM)
got 1 function like this:

DRAM Frequency (Mhz)
Use this field to configure the clock frequency of the installed DRAM. Settings are:
PSB 400: 266, Auto, 333, 400, 433, 466, 500.
PSB 533: 266, 333, Auto, 400, 433, 450, 466, 500, 354 (3:4).
PSB 800: 266, 333, 400, Auto, 433, 450, 466, 500, 532, 501 (4:5),
533 (3:4).

it jus change the frequency but not the divider, i wish i can change it to 1:1。。。。

on the pic above, which 1 should I use?

You can try on the PSB 533 strap setting with 4:3 divider. If you wish to use 1:1 divider...then you have to test out your mobo and RAM's maximum speed can go.
kabukiawie
I try set to loose timing(3-4-4-8 sweat.gif loosest timing) and it run on 4:5, works fine but cant feel the different. sweat.gif
benchmark it is higher a bit. priming last night it seems no error after few hours. Will try to pump up clock speed to max, see how far it can go. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 9 2006, 02:36 PM)
kabukiawie, may i kno the vcore for ur proc? Mine 1 is 1.40v at 3.0GHz, but somtime it will drop till 1.359 in cpu-z, seems like not very stable... sweat.gif

i set to default, the reading is higher than in bios. About 1.4v blink.gif
But when full load it drop to 1.3++v, like what you said, not stable. Mine i can be quite sure that is my PSU not enough juice sweat.gif
RokXIII
Finally, I able to change the divider to 1:1 and push to fsb 180 but seems like the Super PI become bit slower than using 4:5 at fsb 170. I think i should manage to push it more....

Going to change the PSU soon, then gona try how high my proc can go, but jus worry that my RAM not able to change it 3-3-3-8, maybe will bring limitation for me...
kabukiawie
QUOTE(RokXIII @ Sep 11 2006, 10:44 AM)
Finally, I able to change the divider to 1:1 and push to fsb 180 but seems like the Super PI become bit slower than using 4:5 at fsb 170. I think i should manage to push it more....

Going to change the PSU soon, then gona try how high my proc can go, but jus worry that my RAM not able to change it 3-3-3-8, maybe will bring limitation for me...

1:1 it should be ok for your proc & ram, unless you r using DDR333 ram. mine 1:1 can go till 180+ but not prime stable. sad.gif
raymond5105

The best is using the 1:1 divider since both proc and RAM will be having the same bandwidth for data transfer.But the RAM's timing though playing a very important role on performance. wink.gif
Freak`
some screen shot of cpu-z dude .. ur running 1:1 rite? use divider ..
nelza_ax

of coz lar..coz ur ram became slower than 4:5
fsb 180 = ram 180 using 1:1
fsb 170 = ram 212 using 4:5
RokXIII
QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Sep 12 2006, 01:55 AM)
of coz lar..coz ur ram became slower than 4:5
fsb 180 = ram 180 using 1:1
fsb 170 = ram 212 using 4:5

Sure it is.
But now I reach the top ald, cant go up anymore. Mayb is the RAM limited me.... blush.gif
kabukiawie

hows your Super PI 1M result? Mine only manage to get 44s sweat.gif

now you running at 180fsb@3240MHz, prime stable?? rolleyes.gif

my crappy 2.4A limits me at 168fsb, even at fsb it give me error after prime for 5 hours. mad.gif i think thats the best it can go sad.gif
RokXIII
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 12 2006, 01:58 PM)
hows your Super PI 1M result? Mine only manage to get 44s sweat.gif

now you running at 180fsb@3240MHz, prime stable??  rolleyes.gif

my crappy 2.4A limits me at 168fsb,  even at fsb it give me error after prime for 5 hours. mad.gif i think thats the best it can go sad.gif

not sure coz i jus prime around 6 hours only, will try to prime longer later.

But now got another problem, the voltage seems like not stable. The +12v jus around 11.75-11.95 only, never exceed than 12. I sense by using the MSI core center(a voltage n temp sensor s/w), it show me this result.

But when I c the voltage in bios, it is totally different(never less than 12v). Then, which 1 should I refer to? 11.75-11.95 volt will bring damage to my hardware?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.