NewbieBetta
Sep 9 2005, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(PCcrazy @ Sep 8 2005, 12:58 AM)
It is normal for prescott to run that hot, but you have to be aware of thermal throttling as well. There will be no gain from overclocking provided the processor is throttling down due to excessive heat. Attached is a monitoring software commonly used to observe throttling activity.
what do this throttle thing do?i havent heard of it b4,mind explain a little more detail
Hell Fire
Sep 9 2005, 07:24 AM
Can i know wat software i nid to use for overclocking my processor?
rzonealley
Sep 9 2005, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(Hell Fire @ Sep 9 2005, 07:24 AM)
Can i know wat software i nid to use for overclocking my processor?
here u go i feed u.
http://www.cpuid.org/clockgen.phpuse it if ur mobo in the list.
Hell Fire
Sep 9 2005, 08:25 AM
Omg, something happened, after i overclock my cpu, all my sounds gone....wat happen?
EDIT: Problem solved after restarting.
xplora
Sep 9 2005, 09:12 AM
hello,
i am using P4 3.00 ghz , 2gb ram, d915gav intel
socket 775
any ideas of upgrading it? and what is the recommended speed that i should use? 3.1ghz ? i am using bundled intel fan.
thanks.
yuckfou
Sep 10 2005, 01:29 AM
nv OC b4 changing to a better thermal solution.
change ur intel fan to wit a better heatsink+fan.
wat rams r u using?
intel mobos usually got no options for OCing.
xplora
Sep 10 2005, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(yuckfou @ Sep 10 2005, 01:29 AM)
nv OC b4 changing to a better thermal solution.
change ur intel fan to wit a better heatsink+fan.
wat rams r u using?
intel mobos usually got no options for OCing.
kingston ddr version 1
any recommended fan?
Thank you
sibuk
Sep 10 2005, 11:30 AM
suddenly i have an idea. i saw someone selling the mod kit modify the original stock hsf, to allow put on the 80mm fan above the heatsink., so if i add in the tornado fan, is it better than cooler master jet7..or other brand? Don't compare to the high range one lar, just compare to the mid range one.
antonio
Sep 10 2005, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Sep 9 2005, 01:21 AM)
what do this throttle thing do?i havent heard of it b4,mind explain a little more detail
it backs out..while lowering the voltage/speed of ur proc...making sure ur proc stays in good health...
kev_neville
Sep 10 2005, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(sibuk @ Sep 10 2005, 11:30 AM)
suddenly i have an idea. i saw someone selling the mod kit modify the original stock hsf, to allow put on the 80mm fan above the heatsink., so if i add in the tornado fan, is it better than cooler master jet7..or other brand? Don't compare to the high range one lar, just compare to the mid range one.

If u really put tornado fan maybe the performance will be better a bit.. but make sure u can stand the tornado fan noise...
Or buy a fan controller t control it...
jasonlim
Sep 10 2005, 02:08 PM
i m not sure whether i shud ask this question here..anyway,here is the question

nw i wanna use a P4 2.4ghz on a mobo which oni support max 2.4ghz..so,can i OC more than 2.4ghz since my mobo cant support higher clock speed anymore?
allenultra
Sep 10 2005, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(jasonlim @ Sep 10 2005, 02:08 PM)
i m not sure whether i shud ask this question here..anyway,here is the question

nw i wanna use a P4 2.4ghz on a mobo which oni support max 2.4ghz..so,can i OC more than 2.4ghz since my mobo cant support higher clock speed anymore?
its hard to say. depend on the model u having.
let say, those Asus p4p800 which support 400/533/800fsb, can reach 1200fsb after OC.
jasonlim
Sep 10 2005, 02:32 PM
mine is asus p4s333vm..veli old mobo

if not mistaken oni support till 400fsb..
ReeNz
Sep 12 2005, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(hotwebs @ Sep 8 2005, 11:56 PM)
Anyone suggest a good cpu cooler for my P4 2.8E?
budget less than RM100

less than rm100 lorr? could say almost impossible..maybe u can buy ur fren's one or hav more budget around rm200 maybe..get a good hsf and use AS5..juz my 2.5 cent
yuckfou
Sep 12 2005, 12:18 PM
less than 100 u wont feel major temp diff.
just get AS5 for rm25 la.
at least 2-3 deg.
NewbieBetta
Sep 12 2005, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(kev_neville @ Sep 10 2005, 12:07 PM)
If u really put tornado fan maybe the performance will be better a bit.. but make sure u can stand the tornado fan noise...
Or buy a fan controller t control it...

yeah,the tornado fan are very noisy...my casing are install with 5x 80mm delta fan(0.41A)

its like a jet engine,I do regret bought 5 of this delta fan
ReeNz
Sep 13 2005, 02:42 AM
get nidec fans one instead of deltas..much silent..
sup3rfly
Sep 13 2005, 10:53 AM
My 1st experience of o/cing

Original CPU/Socket : P4 2.4c Northwood
-Stepping : 9, Revision : D1
FSB: 250
Clock Speed: 250*0.12 = 3ghz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): CPU: Stock/RAM: 2.75/ AGP 1.6
Chipset: i865PE
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: Kingston Value Ram/DDR320/2.5-3-4-5
i ran Prime95 for 2 hrs+ and the highest temp is 48 degree is that normal???
F33L3Lik3Hom3
Sep 13 2005, 11:44 AM
Just want to ask,
Anyone here has achieved max Oc 4 Ghz using a P4 2.4 C ? I need some advice from you.
Pls advice
Cyclone87
Sep 14 2005, 06:16 PM
Got 1 question here. How high can a 1.7ghz S478 willy can go? I was thinking to build a 2nd hand P4 rig to do 24/7 BT and also it my 1st intel rig. I being change >10 rig, but none is intel.
yuckfou
Sep 15 2005, 02:12 AM
QUOTE(ReeNz @ Sep 13 2005, 02:42 AM)
get nidec fans one instead of deltas..much silent..
or can try papst or panaflo.
using 3 tonados,trust me, u need a fan controller!
splinter
Sep 16 2005, 11:51 AM
Guys please help me newbie. Thanks
227x15=3.4 (2.5-3-2-7)2.7V
3Dmark03 -- ok
Aquamark -- ok
3Dmark01 -- ok
Super pi -- ok
sisoft -- ok
But when trying 230x15 cannot lioa. An error on 03 (stuck at orc)and 01. Others dint try.
Icute450W,P4 3.0C, MSI 875PNeo, Corsair CMX512x1 Pro
When try 234x15 in windows lauching 3D03 system proof error shutdown.
allenultra
Sep 16 2005, 12:39 PM
splinter, try raise 0.25vcore and try again.
b4 that, dump the icute PSU for a better one
splinter
Sep 16 2005, 12:42 PM
0.25Vcore. IC, but i think i try it on new PSU. +0.25 = dangerous or still safe to play with? SOrry dunno much about OC. Normally its hard to OC higher with the stock Vcore right?
allenultra
Sep 16 2005, 12:44 PM
not really.
it depend on your CPU.
eg. some 2.4c can oc to 3.3ghz easily with default vcore
some 2.8c can do 3.8ghz easily with default vcore
heard 3.0c isn't that really a good overclocking chip...
gengstapo
Sep 16 2005, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 16 2005, 12:44 PM)
heard 3.0c isn't that really a good overclocking chip...
yeahh. mine dead less than 2minute after hitting the 250FSB barrier
last time using MSi Neo2-V i865PE. all setting for both cpu & RAm r default wan
1st its fail to boot & hang at start-up screen, after clearing the BIOS, both mobo & cpu damage edi
splinter
Sep 16 2005, 12:55 PM
Stock Vcore bios = 1.525 and Corecenter show 1.55
OIC, then i better stick with 3.4 better. since it pass all test. Not prime yet. Maybe wait i get a new PSU 1st and more ram 1st. No point, last time when bought it dunno... or else i also go for 2.8C since its cheaper and good OC. Hai~~~
Max temp 53C ok? reading by corecenter.Speedfan is 52-51. And also about PCI/AGP lock. when increasing FSB, it automatically increase too till 77+ then i manually set to 67.01/33.50. Is it ok for current Ati9600pro and future upgrade (6800 or wadever)?
sonic_darkknight
Sep 16 2005, 05:25 PM
hi to all sifus...need help on overclocking my system
1) p4 3.0GHz presscott:
i was able to o/c my cpu to 3.75GHz with fsb set at 250MHz. the question is how much is the Vcore threshold for this cpu? default should be 1.375v now o/v to 1.4125v is it still in the safe region?just dun want to burn my cpu....my current temp is around 53~55c max...is it fine?
2) Corsair pc3200 xms twinx ver1.2 (ch-5?)default timing is 2,3,3,6
my mobo is asus p4p800se, the max o/v i could do is just 2.85v and the result is 2,2,3,5@200Mhz but if o/c the fastest speed ascertain is 2.5,4,4,8@225Mhz, which one is better? also anyway i can go higher on the voltage for the vdimm? any alternative rather than using the ocz booster?
sup3rfly
Sep 16 2005, 06:18 PM
eh... i got a question.... when i run cpu-z, the voltage of my pc is not stable..i mean the value keep on changing... is that normal???
antonio
Sep 17 2005, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(sonic_darkknight @ Sep 16 2005, 05:25 PM)
hi to all sifus...need help on overclocking my system
1) p4 3.0GHz presscott:
i was able to o/c my cpu to 3.75GHz with fsb set at 250MHz. the question is how much is the Vcore threshold for this cpu? default should be 1.375v now o/v to 1.4125v is it still in the safe region?just dun want to burn my cpu....my current temp is around 53~55c max...is it fine?
2) Corsair pc3200 xms twinx ver1.2 (ch-5?)default timing is 2,3,3,6
my mobo is asus p4p800se, the max o/v i could do is just 2.85v and the result is 2,2,3,5@200Mhz but if o/c the fastest speed ascertain is 2.5,4,4,8@225Mhz, which one is better? also anyway i can go higher on the voltage for the vdimm? any alternative rather than using the ocz booster?
No sifu here, but trying to help...
1) besides ur overclocking results what interest me is the temp...53-55c max???if i were u i kick in more vcore coz ur presscot is consider a cool one...mine at the office running 67-75c stock vcore....
2) i havent heard any bioses that has the option but u can try to get booster and find out if u can pump in more juice...since it is safer that vmod...its better too...
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Sep 16 2005, 06:18 PM)
eh... i got a question.... when i run cpu-z, the voltage of my pc is not stable..i mean the value keep on changing... is that normal???
flunctuations is normal.... -+0.03 but if the flunctuations is more than -+ 0.05/6 thats abnormal....PSU problem is most common,...dirty current should also be the problem...
sup3rfly
Sep 17 2005, 01:18 PM
ic.... is vcore affecting the flunctuations
allenultra
Sep 17 2005, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Sep 17 2005, 01:18 PM)
ic.... is vcore affecting the flunctuations
it is the motherboard itself.
as long as the flunctuations keep at a very small range, it should be safe.
splinter
Sep 17 2005, 10:41 PM
Cant get 3.0C ->3.4. At 3.4 everything is ok,3Dmark01,03,Aquamark,sisoft,super pi.The only that cant pass is Prime95 1 errors.

Really bad.
Guys google around found that if stuck certain stage, can try playing divider. How to play on my spec?
sonic_darkknight
Sep 17 2005, 11:00 PM
1) besides ur overclocking results what interest me is the temp...53-55c max???if i were u i kick in more vcore coz ur presscot is consider a cool one...mine at the office running 67-75c stock vcore....
[/quote]so what is the max voltage this cpu can take?
2) i havent heard any bioses that has the option but u can try to get booster and find out if u can pump in more juice...since it is safer that vmod...its better too...
[/quote]any info how to use this booster? thanks so much for the helps....
NeophyteHeaven
Sep 17 2005, 11:32 PM
-Original CPU/Socket : IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 630 3.0GHz L2:2048 KB
-Stepping/ Core: Prescott
-Date : -
-FSB : 200
-Clock Speed : 3000Mhz
-Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP) : 1.3v
-Ram Type/Speed/Timings : Geil DDR2 PC4300 512x2 = 4-4-4-12
-----------------------------
Motherboard
- Brand : Abit
- Model : AL8-v
- Chipset : 945P
- AGP/PCIE : PCI-e
- Bios Version : 6.00PG
-------------------------------
Results.(Min. 3 Filled)
-Highest FSB : 240 * 15
-Highest RAM : (240) 1:1
-Highest Clock Speed : 3600 MHz
-Highest Vcore : 1.42v
-Highest VDIMM : 1.85v
----------------------------
Benchmarks/Stability Testing/ Proof Of Testing. (Min 3 types of testing)
-CPU-Z Validation :
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=38675-Prime95 / PrimeTest : -
-Super PI/ Super PI MOD : -
-Memtest : -
-Sandra Memory Bandwidth : -
-3DMarks 2005 :
3896-3DMarks 2003 :
9405-3DMarks 2001 :
nizamextreme
Sep 19 2005, 01:28 AM
Original CPU/Socket: Pentium 4 2.8 Prescott(ES) LGA775
FSB: 200mhz
Clock Speed: 3.4 ghz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): Stock
Chipset: D915GAV on Intel Desktop Board
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: Kingston 512 ddr333 Hynix BT-J/DDR 400/2.5|3|3|6
this is the highers clock possible on my intel destop board D915GAV....i think i need buy another board tu overclock my pentium(ES)..huhuhu
here also i attach my cpu-z info...take a look.
fendii
Sep 19 2005, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(nizamextreme @ Sep 19 2005, 01:28 AM)
Original CPU/Socket: Pentium 4 2.8 Prescott(ES) LGA775
FSB: 200mhz
Clock Speed: 3.4 ghz
Voltage (CPU/RAM/Chipset/AGP): Stock
Chipset: D915GAV on Intel Desktop Board
Ram Type/Speed/Timings: Kingston 512 ddr333 Hynix BT-J/DDR 400/2.5|3|3|6
this is the highers clock possible on my intel destop board D915GAV....i think i need buy another board tu overclock my pentium(ES)..huhuhu
here also i attach my cpu-z info...take a look.
i915 chipset = locks upto 10% of the standard FSB, after that it wont boot.. ada safety mechanism..
if you still wanna playaround with your current mobo, you can try adjusting its chipset voltage (if you have that option la.. will increase 10 - 15 MHz jer, but better than nothing) ..
btw, where did you get your ES from? and how much?
nizamextreme
Sep 19 2005, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(fendii @ Sep 19 2005, 09:42 PM)
i915 chipset = locks upto 10% of the standard FSB, after that it wont boot.. ada safety mechanism..
if you still wanna playaround with your current mobo, you can try adjusting its chipset voltage (if you have that option la.. will increase 10 - 15 MHz jer, but better than nothing) ..
btw, where did you get your ES from? and how much?
hmm....actually i get it from my brother...he work as intel engineer at intel penang...ES very rare right?...that's why i use dekstop board D915GAV...the standart intel mobo..he gave all that to me as my birthday present...i'm still newbies in overclocking....so i keep on discover it.
allenultra
Sep 19 2005, 11:44 PM
nizamextreme, if u want to oc more.
sell the board and get a nice i865pe or i875 board.
almostthere
Sep 20 2005, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 19 2005, 11:44 PM)

Hehehehe...actually we're planning on getting the Lanprty UT 915 T2 as he's quite gatal about the Winbond OC thingy edi and he still wants to play with DDR's. And the BIOS is quite funny. No voltage adjustments. Just timings and a fixed set of FSB's from 333/400/533/600 which I presume are more to dividers. And since it's an ES, can play with multi's too
nizamextreme
Sep 20 2005, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 19 2005, 11:44 PM)

hmm?? i think those chipset for socket 478 right?...my processor is LGA 775...thats why i use i915 for 775...if u see my cpu-z info..it said i use mpga 478...my cpu-z reading for the socket is invalid..i'll show u my processor and mobo
barclaycard07
Sep 20 2005, 02:33 AM
Hello there. I'm just a newbie in overclocking. can anybody help me with oc?
Original Socket = Intel Pentium 4 2.8Ghz C
Stepping = Northwood
FSB = 200
Clock Speed = 2800Mhz
Voltage = 1.6v
RAM type/timing = GSkill 512x2 Samsung TCCD/2.5-3-3-7
Motherboard
Brand = AsusTek Tech
Model = P4P800 Deluxe
Chipset = 865PE
AGP/PCI-E = AGP
Result
Highest FSB = 250.0*14
Highest RAM = 250.0 (1:1)
Highest Clock Speed = 3500Mhz
Highest vcore = 1.65v
Highest vdimm = 2.85v
Benchmark/Stability
CPU-Z validation =
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=39057Super Pi = 1M calculate : 40s
Sandra = 5262MB/s
3DMARK05 = 2178,
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=12340183DMARK03 = 4643,
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=42678033DMARK01se = 14872,
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8724769So, is there any way i can do to increase my oc? when i try to increase the FSB to 260, my pc will hang up and need to restart. All sifus here maybe can help me.
xcrue
Sep 22 2005, 02:27 AM
any1 tried overclock with p4 630 3.0 2mb with asus mobo??
phunkydude
Sep 22 2005, 02:31 AM
nizamextreme !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wat fan lai de?
led fan got 92mm de meh???
where u buy it????
i want led fan for my hyper48 too..
kucingfight
Sep 22 2005, 02:47 AM
barclaycard07 , What's ur CPU batch?how many caps does it have, u can check by turning the cpu over facing the pins and count the number of capacitors there. Generally, a 30caps will give u good overclocks.
Bump the AGP voltage to 1.8v (max). This will increase the NB voltage. Set ur Vdimm to 2.75v
nizamextreme
Sep 22 2005, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(phunkydude @ Sep 22 2005, 02:31 AM)
nizamextreme !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wat fan lai de?
led fan got 92mm de meh???
where u buy it????
i want led fan for my hyper48 too..
what fan?? thermaltake blue led...got it from low yat la dei..
allenultra
Sep 22 2005, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(nizamextreme @ Sep 20 2005, 12:38 AM)
hmm?? i think those chipset for socket 478 right?...my processor is LGA 775...thats why i use i915 for 775...if u see my cpu-z info..it said i use mpga 478...my cpu-z reading for the socket is invalid..i'll show u my processor and mobo

sorry. my mistake but still...
sell the Intel board and get something from Asus/Abit.
You should be able to squeeze the every potential of the CPU
nizamextreme
Sep 22 2005, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 22 2005, 03:03 PM)
sorry. my mistake but still...
sell the Intel board and get something from Asus/Abit.
You should be able to squeeze the every potential of the CPU
yeah...i'm looking forward to buy new mobo..maybe dfi..i read the review about this board...quite impressive for overclocking prescott...dfi lanparty ut 915 t-12..any suggestion?
williamlee_1985
Sep 28 2005, 03:09 PM
Hey brothers, I want to overclock my p4 2.4, but I don't know what is the limit. Can anyone tell me how to determine the limit? Should I overclock until 3.0?
almostthere
Sep 28 2005, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ Sep 28 2005, 03:09 PM)
Hey brothers, I want to overclock my p4 2.4, but I don't know what is the limit. Can anyone tell me how to determine the limit? Should I overclock until 3.0?
First state your processor. Isit a 2.4A or 2.4C? And also the associated hardware. If C which I presume is a Northwood, on air I can say that 3.2 is possible and prime stable. Even if one plays only with dividers. Best is you start off with dividers of say 4:5 if that option is available. Up slowly the FSB and test it with Prime@SP2004 (USing Small FFT in place test) which is good enough for a general stabillity test until you've hit the limit whereby there will be Prime errors after 5 minutes. Then test somemore by undergoing stress testing the last stable speed for at least 3-4 hours IMHO and if it's stable, you've got your limit. Intel processors generally don't require bumping up of VCore FYI
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.