Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: ACER Mobile Computing CLUB
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Mobile Computing
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42
kawasaki_kips
Hi, I'm currently using Acer TravelMate 4052NLCi... I find this notebook is very good in its performance and design wise, not too bad either. thumbup.gif

What do you guys think about others Acer Product? Let share your experience with your ACER HERE smile.gif

Non Acer user are also WELCOME to give their comment biggrin.gif
ACER= A Circular Electric Redundacy? tongue.gif
BuFung
8431.. thanks for correcting me in the other forum again..
Kawasaki.. I use 4001LCi... overall.. not happy with the screen...
but sad to say.. been stolen..
gnome
Well not really Travelmate user since im using the Ferrari series tongue.gif, still Acer right? laugh.gif . Im pretty much happy with it and hopefully can get the new Ferrari 4000 sweat.gif
bufung: no sweat! tongue.gif

OT: since this is a travelmate thread laugh.gif
hmm wonder when Ferrari 4000 will make it's appearance in Malaysia?
gnome
I wonder that too. Its too cool to resist laugh.gif tongue.gif
BuFung
8431... willing to share.. smile.gif

about my 4001LCi... battery life good.. hmm... screen viewing angle suck big one.. panel seem cannot display 32bit colour depth..
The CD-RW very slow compare to my desktop one..
other are fine...
notyboysn
kawasaki_kips:

does yours comes with the 128mb graphic card? or the built in intel?

anyone has 8104? would like you hear your comment...
DV8tor
i have a entry level travelmate 2303NLCi (celeron M, wifi enabled)

quite ok... for the work i need to perform
lokgotz
i use the travelmate 800......the 1st centrino notebook from acer....and it was top of the line......hehe........

i am satisfied with its performance.....no complaints......still using it too......hehe
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jul 1 2005, 08:09 PM)
Kawasaki.. I use 4001LCi...  overall.. not happy with the screen...

I'm so sorry to hear that my friend cry.gif Be extra careful next time dude...

QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 1 2005, 08:11 PM)
Well not really Travelmate user since im using the Ferrari series tongue.gif, still Acer right? laugh.gif . Im pretty much happy with it and hopefully can get the new Ferrari 4000 sweat.gif

Ferrari 4000 drool.gif drool.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
user posted imageuser posted image

QUOTE(notyboysn @ Jul 1 2005, 08:44 PM)
kawasaki_kips:

does yours comes with the 128mb graphic card? or the built in intel?

anyone has 8104? would like you hear your comment...

I'm having IntelŪ Extreme Graphic 2 on my notebook wink.gif

QUOTE(darkjedi @ Jul 1 2005, 11:53 PM)
4151LMI user is here smile.gif back from RMA

How is your's performance, overall satisfied? smile.gif

*merged post by keropok
darkjedi
4151LMI user is here smile.gif back from RMA
bph14
no one using 8104? siao la that laptop...8k plus plus i think
but should be a very good desktop replacement with relatively small size..
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(bph14 @ Jul 2 2005, 01:52 AM)
no one using 8104? siao la that laptop...8k plus plus i think
but should be a very good desktop replacement with relatively small size..

Izzit this one? user posted image
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
earl-ku
QUOTE(8431 @ Jul 1 2005, 07:56 PM)
ACER= A Circular Electric Redundacy? tongue.gif

Funny meh?

I am using an Acer too, the oldest power series ... haha

Acer Aspire 2001WLMi
Centrino 1.4
512RAM, 40GB HDD
Radeon 9200 64MB

**Merged Post by keropok
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 2 2005, 03:05 AM)
I am using an Acer too, the oldest power series ... haha

Acer Aspire 2001WLMi
Centrino 1.4
512RAM, 40GB HDD
Radeon 9200 64MB

Hey laugh.gif This model too bad either, at least you are Acer family member brows.gif
Shinigami
QUOTE(kawasaki_kips @ Jul 1 2005, 11:51 PM)
Ferrari 4000  drool.gif  drool.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
user posted imageuser posted image

WOWOWWW... THIS IS NICE!!! CLASSY...
kawasaki_kips
I'm waiting for this unit to arrived in Malaysia... drool.gif For sure I'll order a unit for myself biggrin.gif
Shinigami
The cover is made from carbon fiber, which is stronger and lighter than aluminum. (Acer uses it only in its Ferrari line.) The interior of the Ferrari 4000 has a rubberized coating, perhaps emulating the look of Formula One tires. The keyboard has an ergonomic smile contour to it, which is okay for typing but takes a few minutes to get used to...

Alamak... tak tahan la... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
notyboysn
QUOTE(kawasaki_kips @ Jul 2 2005, 02:11 AM)
Izzit this one? user posted image
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

i think so... almost all new acer looks the same... if that has a mobility x700.. that its the one...

i want one la... the only difference with ferarri 4000 and 8104 is ferrai uses amd and 8104 uses pentium M,

but ferrari 4000 drool.gif is just very very beautiful.... drool.gif i also cannot tahan d
amenlo9
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jul 1 2005, 08:09 PM)
Kawasaki.. I use 4001LCi...  overall.. not happy with the screen...

so sorry to hear that......no wonder u want to buy another new 1..........

QUOTE(kawasaki_kips @ Jul 2 2005, 06:30 AM)
I'm waiting for this unit to arrived in Malaysia...  drool.gif  For sure I'll order a unit for myself  biggrin.gif

the new acer ferrari will be using AMD turion64 thumbup.gif

**Merged Post by keropok
Omage007
Old notebook can post ar??? rolleyes.gif

I am using a Acer Travel Mate TM210T for around 3 years already, here is the specification : Celeron 700Mhz, upgarde from 64Mb to 128Mb, 10Gb HDD, 24X CDROM, 56K modem, 12.1" screen, FDD, WinMe as O/S!!

So far the notebook is working fine, just the battery cannot be fully charge anymore, after charge cannot last for 10 minutes usage also, so need to use AC to run all the time!!

tsg
not using acer directly..nut been buying 2-3 units for frenz....nearly buying 1691 WML but no stock tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

* gnome..envy with his ferrari...ferrari 4000 was gulp drool.gif tongue.gif
hasratusaha
I'm using 1692WLMi, happy 2 join d club. B4 this using Travelmate 420c
QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 2 2005, 03:04 AM)
Funny meh?

no it's not funny
juz frustated over Acer laptops wif dead mobo over few months of usage for programming, DOA bundled mini-PCI wireless card, LCD kong sweat.gif

no i'm not BIAS towards any brand biggrin.gif
Jason
Ferrari 4000 is sexy. thats ONE Acer i would consider.
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(Omage007 @ Jul 2 2005, 03:42 PM)
Old notebook can post ar???  rolleyes.gif

I am using a Acer Travel Mate TM210T for around 3 years already, here is the specification : Celeron 700Mhz, upgarde from 64Mb to 128Mb, 10Gb HDD, 24X CDROM, 56K modem, 12.1" screen, FDD, WinMe as O/S!!

So far the notebook is working fine, just the battery cannot be fully charge anymore, after charge cannot last for 10 minutes usage also, so need to use AC to run all the time!!

You and everyone are welcome, no matter new or old... Is our Acer Family smile.gif . Have you try to check out a Acer Centre or Acer website, is your battery have for sale... smile.gif

QUOTE(tsg @ Jul 2 2005, 03:49 PM)
not using acer directly..nut been buying 2-3 units for frenz....nearly buying 1691 WML but no stock tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

* gnome..envy with his ferrari...ferrari 4000 was gulp drool.gif  tongue.gif

Get a unit for yourself, you won't regret buying ACER Notebook lust.gif

QUOTE(hasratusaha @ Jul 2 2005, 04:28 PM)
I'm using 1692WLMi, happy 2 join d club. B4 this using Travelmate 420c

You are welcome buddy biggrin.gif . How's your notebook, tell us more thumbup.gif

QUOTE(8431 @ Jul 2 2005, 10:03 PM)
no it's not funny
juz frustated over Acer laptops wif dead mobo over few months of usage for programming, DOA bundled mini-PCI wireless card, LCD kong sweat.gif

no i'm not BIAS towards any brand biggrin.gif

What model is that? You didn't send back for warranty? What actuall happened, don't mind to share more with us? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 2 2005, 10:10 PM)
Ferrari 4000 is sexy. thats ONE Acer i would consider.

Not only sexy. Look at the material they are using drool.gif

**Merged Post by keropok
countdown
Using Aspire 1403LC.

Using desktop CPU.....sad.gif.

Till now no problem found...but the TFT LCD not really that good.
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(countdown @ Jul 2 2005, 10:23 PM)
Using Aspire 1403LC.

Using desktop CPU.....sad.gif.

Till now no problem found...but the TFT LCD not really that good.

What makes you don't happy with your TFT LCD Monitors??? sad.gif
mustang
I'm currently using Travelmate and i upgraded the RAM and the hd capacity. Overall i'm satisfied with the performance. No prob wif me and the notebook, going along well. Around 1 year and 4 months d. So far so good
kawasaki_kips
Which model you are using Bro???
countdown
QUOTE(kawasaki_kips @ Jul 2 2005, 10:41 PM)
What makes you don't happy with your TFT LCD Monitors???  sad.gif

The quality is a bit blurish if compared to CRT Monitor and Sony LCD monitor.
d(@@)b
I haf the 4002WLCi Tmate.

At first i was attracted by the specs....
1.6 Ghz Pentium Centrino
15.4 WXGA TFT LCD
Radeon 9700 (64mb)
512 mb ddr
wireless conectivity

I think this can works fine wig games, and the screen is big enuff....

To my horror, the mobo 'kong' after only 2 mths.... I didn do anything wrong cept for installing limewire, spysweeper, cwshredder, ad aware se personal, some games and oso some desktop customization.

Furious, i get it to repair at the service centre. Repair takes 3 freaking mths (this was acceptable cos they need specific mobo for casing), but after 3 mths, i called em bout my laptop status.. Everytime, they will say
"sry sir, i call later ya sir?"... But at the end, wait until got spider web oso din call. What again? I keep callin lar, wasting phone credits only....

I also handed it wif the ac adaptor.... I think they had misplaced it and then they gave me a Pentium 4 adaptor which use more power. I scared my laptop can burn and kong again, so i asked em why gimme diff. adaptor one? They say sry and will call me back (kononnya). Then i feel unsatisfied and lodged a complain to the customer service. oh, rupa-rupanya they really misplaced my adaptor... Ok nvm, i tell em pls gimme bak a new adaptor fast fast....

To my horror, the adaptor only reach me after 5 days....

U can see, the service is very "good"
Laptop parts is very "stable" (sigh)

Apart from that, its performance is a so so, screen is blurry, whoever wanna buy a laptop i advice a bright screen viewing, keyboard needs time to adapt, for my laptop when i remove the batery its structure can become unstable.....

Lesson: Buy laptop from a better company which offer good service and parts although it will cost more..... Cos satisfied guarenteed
E.g. Toshiba, Apple (i heard got free upgrade although u kong ur HD)
prasys
Yeah..Toshiba support is superb and so does apple....I am not saying they are prefect...From those days , acer laptops got problems with the LCD ,etc..don't get carried away with the specs

acer laptops are nice , i would just format windows , install GNU/Linux , mod everything and tell them that , hey this thing roask..and i tell them not to isntall windows..see what they do..i like to make use of the warranty
mustang
I'm using Travelmate 250. 1 drawback about it, is lack of centino technology. About 4k i bought it last time. Now for this amount u can get Centrino tech d, specs will be better, haih..... biggrin.gif
gnome
QUOTE(tsg @ Jul 2 2005, 03:49 PM)
not using acer directly..nut been buying 2-3 units for frenz....nearly buying 1691 WML but no stock tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

* gnome..envy with his ferrari...ferrari 4000 was gulp drool.gif  tongue.gif

Haha, here's the old pic again laugh.gif

Really drooling over the Ferrari 4k now sweat.gif
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Jul 3 2005, 12:24 PM)
I haf the 4002WLCi Tmate.

At first i was attracted by the specs....
1.6 Ghz Pentium Centrino
15.4 WXGA TFT LCD
Radeon 9700 (64mb)
512 mb ddr
wireless conectivity

I think this can works fine wig games, and the screen is big enuff....

To my horror, the mobo 'kong' after only 2 mths.... I didn do anything wrong cept for installing limewire, spysweeper, cwshredder, ad aware se personal, some games and oso some desktop customization.

Furious, i get it to repair at the service centre. Repair takes 3 freaking mths (this was acceptable cos they need specific mobo for casing), but after 3 mths, i called em bout my laptop status.. Everytime, they will say
"sry sir, i call later ya sir?"... But at the end, wait until got spider web oso din call. What again? I keep callin lar, wasting phone credits only....

I also handed it wif the ac adaptor.... I think they had misplaced it and then they gave me a Pentium 4 adaptor which use more power. I scared my laptop can burn and kong again, so i asked em why gimme diff. adaptor one? They say sry and will call me back (kononnya). Then i feel unsatisfied and lodged a complain to the customer service. oh, rupa-rupanya they really misplaced my adaptor...  Ok nvm, i tell em pls gimme bak a new adaptor fast fast....

To my horror, the adaptor only reach me after 5 days....

U can see, the service is very "good"
Laptop parts is very "stable"  (sigh)

Apart from that, its performance is a so so, screen is blurry, whoever wanna buy a laptop i advice a bright screen viewing, keyboard needs time to adapt, for my laptop when i remove the batery its structure can become unstable.....

Lesson: Buy laptop from a better company which offer good service and parts although it will cost more..... Cos satisfied guarenteed
E.g. Toshiba, Apple (i heard got free upgrade although u kong ur HD)

You really had a bad experience with Acer sad.gif You were so unluck to get such laptop... Sorry to hear you story... Hope you find a better one for yourself smile.gif
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 3 2005, 05:51 PM)
Haha, here's the old pic again laugh.gif

Really drooling over the Ferrari 4k now sweat.gif

Cool FERRARI user here drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
d3vils
I just bought 1692WLMi

Specs-
Centrino2 1.73GHz
ATi X700 128VRAM
512MB DDR2
DVD-Dual Writer
80GB HDD

been serving me great!!
played Battlefield 2 with great ease.. biggrin.gif

unfortunately, my unit got dead pixel on it after 4 days of purchasing..
lucky the reseller allowed me to change a new laptop w/o claming the warranty..
coz if i claim it might take more than 1 mth sad.gif

upgraded my warranty cover to 3 years coz of this incident.. cost me an extra RM498 cry.gif
kawasaki_kips

Nice spec... Lucky you managed to changed a unit without much questions... wink.gif

Eventhough you paid RM498... You are paying RM0.45 for per day warranty... Worth it, right smile.gif
d3vils
hmmm.. true true..
at least no expensive repair cost to bug me for 3 years tongue.gif

well.. gotta go now and kill "some enemy soldiers" cool.gif
overboard
Sorry to interupt in your thread~ sweat.gif

But I'm planning to buy Acer Aspire 5500 for university life.
It's a new model, I think.

user posted image user posted image

Anyone knows where to get this model & how much does it cost?
d3vils
current model for Aspire 5500 series is
Aspire 5502WXMi

Specs:
Centrino2 1.73GHz
XP Home Edition
512MB DDR2
80GB HDD
14.1 WXGA
ATI X700 64MB VRAM
DVD Double Layer Burner

Not bad.. specs abit similiar like my 1692WLMi albeit abit cheaper..

Current retail price = RM4,988

good luck thumbup.gif
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(overboard @ Jul 4 2005, 01:37 AM)
Sorry to interupt in your thread~ sweat.gif

But I'm planning to buy Acer Aspire 5500 for university life.
It's a new model, I think.

Anyone knows where to get this model & how much does it cost?

Welcome to our Acer Club biggrin.gif

Good choice go for it... Value for money wink.gif
Omage007
QUOTE(kawasaki_kips @ Jul 2 2005, 10:14 PM)
You and everyone are welcome, no matter new or old... Is our Acer Family  smile.gif . Have you try to check out a Acer Centre or Acer website, is your battery have for sale...  smile.gif

Yup, I got ask before about the battery, it will cost me around RM300, so I just forgot about it coz don't want to waste (don't worth it also) such money on such an antique notebook leh!!

Anyway, I didn't use the notebook much also, just maybe 1 or 2 days every week, mostly I will use my desktop!!
kawasaki_kips
Well that is the standard price for battery, let me check out at Low Yat & see I can gat a cheaper battery for you. Don't worry dude although it is antique but it is precious wink.gif
Mikha

Acer Ferrari 4000 looks profesional..stylo! thumbup.gif
kawasaki_kips
QUOTE(Mikha @ Jul 4 2005, 06:11 AM)

Acer Ferrari 4000 looks profesional..stylo!    thumbup.gif

My next notebook cool.gif
Mikha
Kawasaki_Kips..Nice Avatar & Sig mate!.. thumbup.gif
mockv1per
i own an acer mini optical mouse now tongue.gif
soon, acer 1692WLMI. got it for RM4940.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.