nick_drake
Jun 9 2005, 10:53 AM
Here we all know, our instruments are expensive. Me being a student. It's worse.
But, we also do know, that 'cheap' guitars, can surprisingly sound and feel good...and can put up a decent fight against their more expensive counterparts.
These guitars, well to me...are gems in the rough. Maybe we could all share ideas about cheap guitars that are well above decent...if possible...very good.
Might try and keep the price range under 800. ( ok ok..i want a cheap 300 dollar guitar that plays like 3000...

)
chapree
Jun 9 2005, 10:59 AM
lol...
You can't go wrong with SX guitars. Cheap stuff with good tones. Sounded better than most of the Squiers and some said it beat some of the lower line Fender too.
300 bux for 3.0k sounding guitar...hahahah...ok, once in a while, there would be some idiot in this world would sell an awesome top of the line guitar for like couple of hundreads. My guitarist got his RG which should cost 2.1k for like RM 400 and this one old legendary story where some fella sell his Fender American Strat (in good condition mind u) for RM 600. Why laa thiss pple...
Geminist
Jun 9 2005, 11:04 AM
oh... me no guitar expert.. but got my taiwan made guitar for roughly RM130.... Sounded not bad... perfect for noob like me.. but pity the guitar now lying at home.. cuz no way to bring it here..haih....
ahsia80
Jun 9 2005, 11:07 AM
i got Yamaha...one costs RM400 while the other (electro-acoustic) costs Rm450 2nd hand....both still oklah except for the latter one..the first string sounds 'bleh'..changed the string lotsa time liao...still the same..'bleh'..
MoNnY
Jun 9 2005, 11:18 AM
sx...
definately won't go wrong
best thing is, u can still hot rod it and it will sound even better...
but u may wanna get a person that knows his stuff in wohfatt...
just in case....
nick_drake
Jun 9 2005, 11:49 AM
^ SX eh? yeah man..heard damn lot abt them... how much their price range? woh fatt only eh...yeah i tried one there...
hello there,
i want to buy an acostic guitar. budget rm400+ to rm600+. I wonder if you all can help me by suggesting some nice, good for value models.
i hv seen the following :
1) yamaha f310, around rm400+, indo made
2) garrison, china made, good review fr thestar.com.my .. but alas .. rm850
3) santa cruz, china made, cheap ... but no impresssion
from the above three, i wud probably log in that yamaha f310, but my impression, yamaha makes pretty decent entry level classical guitars eg c70 or c80 but entry level acoustic guitars are not their forte. for a similar budget, i somehow think that there are better models out there, maybe a canadian or states made guitar round rm500+ to rm600+???
Appreciate your help and suggestions please.
Thank you.
eye
eye, you're a joke
QUOTE(Pix @ Jun 9 2005, 12:32 PM)
eye, you're a joke

hahahah pix,
no .. really, i am not trying to intrude other people's thread. just that birds of the same feather flocks together ,,, these threads are started by those who have the experience n knowledge in guitars ,,, just trying my luck to see if the 'sifus' are willing to help out a newbie maaaa
tks.
nick_drake
Jun 9 2005, 12:48 PM
^sry dude...acoustic not my thing.

maybe others here can help...
faidz85
Jun 9 2005, 12:51 PM
im using SX electric guitar...kinda good...just chg to a better cable and it plays fine...i bought the whole set..i forgot but im sure its under 600...
nick_drake
Jun 9 2005, 01:02 PM
^ic ic...wht izzit? a strat copy?or tele copy? i m interested in a tele copy with humbuckers.
eye, i understand you.. it's just that it IS a musician forum, so all the birds are flocking around there already

and you can even look in the previous threads to gather some information:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=161700
evo.com
Jun 9 2005, 01:08 PM
samick
/thread
QUOTE(Pix @ Jun 9 2005, 01:04 PM)
eye, i understand you.. it's just that it IS a musician forum, so all the birds are flocking around there already

and you can even look in the previous threads to gather some information:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=161700thanks pix. and thank you for that thread lead ..
akakakakakaka .. newbie to forum too maa .. using dial up at home ... no streamyx in my area ... connection dang slow .... timed out very often ... most of the times, i have to load a couple of times inorder to read and post ..
kimi
Jun 9 2005, 02:54 PM
how about gettin a used good guitar
Between these three guitars which one would u pick and why
2nd hand MIM fender strat, with duncan bridge pu, no bag? RM1350
2nd hand MIJ fender strat (the lowest end jap strat ST-43), with bag? RM1450
2nd hand Highway 1 US fender strat with bag? RM1750?
also are these prices reasonable for 2nd hand fender guitars?
nick_drake
Jun 9 2005, 02:56 PM
^whoa. i wldnt knw much. but i wld go for the mij strat.
dont really fancy strats...need a humbucker...unless its a fat.
Geminist
Jun 9 2005, 06:42 PM
Samick produces guitar???
Hevrn
Jun 9 2005, 06:47 PM
got a ibanez grx70 at home...quite a good electric guitar to me...comfy when solo...i couple it with ds-1 pedal to make the distortion sound better...bought it below 700 i think...quite long liao
bujanglapok
Jun 9 2005, 06:49 PM
how much for a SX LP copy ar?
sean392
Jun 9 2005, 08:46 PM
well.... i saw a Wave LP copy.... its kinda heavy
n its got zebra humbuckers.... the build is great IMO
n the neck is yummilicious
retails for rm999

copy oso so expensive but got discount la the fella say ><
nick_drake
Jun 9 2005, 11:31 PM
wave? nvr heard of it before.
where did u see it?
chapree
Jun 9 2005, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(kimi @ Jun 9 2005, 02:54 PM)
how about gettin a used good guitar
Between these three guitars which one would u pick and why
2nd hand MIM fender strat, with duncan bridge pu, no bag? RM1350
2nd hand MIJ fender strat (the lowest end jap strat ST-43), with bag? RM1450
2nd hand Highway 1 US fender strat with bag? RM1750?
also are these prices reasonable for 2nd hand fender guitars?
Hmm...i would choose MIM...since it got Duncan pu there, kinda cheap for 1.3k. For me the Highway 1 is a bit expansive...better just collect till u can get a new one.
QUOTE(Geminist @ Jun 9 2005, 06:42 PM)
Samick produces guitar???
Yah...lots of them and many are cheap.
QUOTE(thesexpistols @ Jun 9 2005, 06:49 PM)
how much for a SX LP copy ar?
Hmm...should be below RM 900. I almost bought one for RM750...
plankton
Jun 13 2005, 02:12 AM
bought my GAX70 at rm600 at bentley last year or so.. should be much cheaper by now.. looks great to me.. the sustain is quite long and looks good among other cheap guitars.. in other words.. i chose it over the squiers mainly bcause of the looks cos i didnt know that much about guitars back then.. hehe
xXSgtXr3DXx
Jun 14 2005, 07:19 PM
noob here...
is ibanez electric guitars good 4 starters??
and how much will it cost one??? as in the whole set....
TheWhacker
Jun 14 2005, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(MoNnY @ Jun 9 2005, 11:18 AM)
sx...
definately won't go wrong
best thing is, u can still hot rod it and it will sound even better...
but u may wanna get a person that knows his stuff in wohfatt...
just in case....
SX guitars have improve ALOT ever since. MY church bought one SX accoutic guitar and it's sounds good. It has really good attack , very light , comes with Fishman premap and EQ , and best of all ... the workmanship ... wah, can stand up with any Rm5K guitars .... and the best part of all ... it only cost Rm900 + gig bag.
chapree
Jun 14 2005, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(xXSgtXr3DXx @ Jun 14 2005, 07:19 PM)
noob here...
is ibanez electric guitars good 4 starters??
and how much will it cost one??? as in the whole set....
Ibanez is ok...depends on which model, it's usually under 1k with gig big and some spare money to buy a small practice amp.
But before u get an Ibanez or Squier, take some time and test out SX guitars...it might worth the extra effort. Follow your ear and heart
sean392
Jun 14 2005, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(nick_drake @ Jun 9 2005, 11:31 PM)
wave? nvr heard of it before.
where did u see it?
pyramid ><||
chapree
Jun 15 2005, 12:41 AM
wave? i saw some at rhapsody mid valley...they have a cheap acoustic bass...
plankton
Jun 15 2005, 02:47 PM
the music shop in Kinta City , ipoh has loads of Waves's.. the shapes are copies.. donno bout the sound
xXSgtXr3DXx
Jun 15 2005, 08:53 PM
wow under 1k...
aiyo.. i onli student le....
wat bout sx??? the price
sean392
Jun 15 2005, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(plankton @ Jun 15 2005, 02:47 PM)
the music shop in Kinta City , ipoh has loads of Waves's.. the shapes are copies.. donno bout the sound
next time u there can u try it???
im kinda interested in the wave LP.... cuz got no cash to get the epiphone LP ><
haha i cant wait for SPM to be over !!
chapree
Jun 16 2005, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(xXSgtXr3DXx @ Jun 15 2005, 08:53 PM)
wow under 1k...
aiyo.. i onli student le....
wat bout sx??? the price
all under 1k, but SX u can get...from 500 - 900...depends either bass or guitar and which design (strat/LP/tele). SX LP copy is around 800.
sean392
Jun 16 2005, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(chapree @ Jun 16 2005, 05:19 PM)
all under 1k, but SX u can get...from 500 - 900...depends either bass or guitar and which design (strat/LP/tele). SX LP copy is around 800.
SX LP copy is not exactly the same design rite??
or izzit a perfect clone?
xXSgtXr3DXx
Jun 16 2005, 07:51 PM
wat does this (strat/LP/tele) means???
sorry ah....
i really dunno about electric guitars...
the onli guitar i have is a kapok guitar...hehe
sean392
Jun 16 2005, 08:44 PM
anyone noes where to find craftsman products?
Pix
Jun 17 2005, 09:34 AM
i pin this topic, because it may offer a quick help to other guitarists as well
chapree
Jun 17 2005, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jun 16 2005, 05:26 PM)
SX LP copy is not exactly the same design rite??
or izzit a perfect clone?
I will not say it's perfect (u can't really get a perfect clone) but it's a good clone. Same design except no Gibson at the headstock hahahaah~
QUOTE(xXSgtXr3DXx @ Jun 16 2005, 07:51 PM)
wat does this (strat/LP/tele) means???
sorry ah....
i really dunno about electric guitars...
the onli guitar i have is a kapok guitar...hehe
Strat = Fender Stratocaster
LP = Gibson Les Paul
Tele = Fender Telecaster
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jun 16 2005, 08:44 PM)
anyone noes where to find craftsman products?
CK Music in Jln. Imbi got their stuff.
xXSgtXr3DXx
Jun 17 2005, 06:59 PM
okay...
but i really cant decide wat to get....
so wat would you suggest...
i like playing punk rock... rock...
can you guys tell me wat guitar...amp...pedals to get... all under 1 k if possible...hehe
thanks in advance
sean392
Jun 17 2005, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(chapree @ Jun 17 2005, 11:52 AM)
I will not say it's perfect (u can't really get a perfect clone) but it's a good clone. Same design except no Gibson at the headstock hahahaah~
really?!?!??!
http://www.sxguitar.com/gg_series.htmif the design is liddat then i dun realy like it ><;;
thx for da info....
im kinda interested in a craftsman LP copy
davidletterboyz
Jun 18 2005, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jun 17 2005, 10:59 PM)
really?!?!??!
http://www.sxguitar.com/gg_series.htmif the design is liddat then i dun realy like it ><;;
thx for da info....
im kinda interested in a craftsman LP copy
Why? I thought those look cool! Ehh, any idea how much does SX SEG1 series cost? They look like Ibanez RG series!!
sean392
Jun 18 2005, 08:39 AM
the cut near the p'up switch i dun lyk ><;;
very picky huh ?
nick_drake
Jun 18 2005, 09:30 AM
eh how come this is pinned?
sean392
Jun 18 2005, 09:41 AM
we all like cheap stuff dats y
ruffstuff
Jun 18 2005, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(plankton @ Jun 15 2005, 02:47 PM)
got Skyhawk and wave LP copy also. Never had a chance to try those.. But im more interested getting those Squier Tele. All Skyhawk, Wave are below RM600. And the Tele is RM590 if im not mistaken. Dunno which country made that Squier. And of course the lovely Epi LP Custom for RM1.9K
sean392
Jun 18 2005, 04:19 PM
is skyhawk available in selangor ???
around KL n PJ is acceptable ><;; as i cant drive yet ><;;
sean392
Jun 18 2005, 10:20 PM
http://www.citymusic.com.sg/craftsman.htmah.... this lespaul copy i like

is maple a good type of wood??
compared to rosewood n mahogany ><
justintga
Jun 18 2005, 11:39 PM
where to get sx guitars???
nick_drake
Jun 19 2005, 10:48 AM
woh fatt dude...
xXSgtXr3DXx
Jun 19 2005, 04:08 PM
yo sifus..
how much is GRG270J jumpstart guitar?? anyone noe??
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.